Value down the board in golf event

December 7, 2021 08:13 PM
Official events on the PGA Tour have concluded, but one final unofficial event remains with the QBE Shootout, which most fans remember as the Shark Shootout from the 1990s and 2000s. Twelve teams of two will compete in a format that involves a scramble, alternate shot and four-ball. Here are the teams and odds:
Sam Burns and Billy Horschel: 4-1
Jason Kokrak and Kevin Na: 11-2
Harris English and Matt Kuchar: 13-2
Max Homa and Kevin Kisner: 15-2
Jason Day and Marc Leishman: 8-1
Corey Conners and Graeme McDowell: 11-1
Ian Poulter and Charles Howell III: 12-1
Will Zalatoris and Sean O'Hair: 12-1
Matt Jones and Ryan Palmer: 12-1
Brian Harman and Hudson Swafford: 14-1
K.H. Lee and Brandt Snedeker: 20-1
Lexi Thompson and Bubba Watson: 40-1
College rivals Harris English (Georgia) and Matt Kuchar (Georgia Tech) have played together in this event six times and won it in 2013, 2016 and 2020. Favorites Sam Burns and Billy Horschel are one of many first-time teams, though Horschel has played the event eight times. Jason Kokrak and Kevin Na have both been runners-up in this event, including Na last year with Sean O'Hair. O’Hair, a two-time winner at the QBE, will be paired with first-time participant Will Zalatoris. Kevin Kisner will be playing his fourth QBE with first-timer Max Homa. Jason Day won this event in 2014 (with Cameron Tringale) and will team up with fellow Australian Marc Leishman, who won the Zurich Classic earlier this year with Cameron Smith.
Graeme McDowell has finished second three times with three different partners (2010, Darren Clarke; 2017, Shane Lowry; 2018, Emiliano Grillo) and will hope that the fourth time’s a charm with Corey Conners. Charles Howell III is a late replacement for Lee Westwood and will team with Ian Poulter, who won this in 2010 with Dustin Johnson. Brian Harman is another former winner (2018 with Patton Kizzire), and he will team with Hudson Swafford. Ryan Palmer was scheduled to partner with Harold Varner III, whom he finished third with in 2019, but Varner withdrew late and Matt Jones will take his place.
Brandt Snedeker, who won here with Jason Dufner in 2015, will team up with first-time participant K.H. Lee. LPGA star Lexi Thompson, who has played this event four times and finished last twice, will pair with Bubba Watson, who has six appearances but has never finished better than fifth.
The QBE Shootout began in 1989 at the Sherwood Country Club and is traditionally hosted by Greg Norman. After a one-year sojourn to Doral in 2000, the shootout has been played every year on the Norman-designed Tiburon Golf Club in Naples, Fla. The shootout’s unique format is as follows:
Round 1: Scramble. Both players tee off, select best shot, then both play a shot from there; process repeats until hole is complete.
Round 2: Modified alternate shot. Both players tee off, select best shot, then alternate shots thereafter.
Round 3: Four-ball. Both players play their own ball and the best score is counted on each hole.
The Gold Course at Tiburon Golf Club is a par-72 measuring 7,382 yards. Designed by Greg Norman, the Gold Course has hosted the LPGA Tour Championship since 2013. Winners of the QBE will each receive $447,500 of a $3.6 million prize pool.
2020: Harris English/Matt Kuchar (-37/179)
2019: Rory Sabbatini/Kevin Tway (-31/185)
2018: Patton Kizzire/Brian Harman (-30/186)
2017: Sean O’Hair/Steve Stricker (-26/190)
2016: Harris English/Matt Kuchar (-28/188)
2015: Jason Dufner/Brandt Snedeker (-30/186)
2014: Jason Day/Cameron Tringale (-32/184)
2013: Harris English/Matt Kuchar (-34/182)
2012: Sean O’Hair/Kenny Perry (-31/185)
2011: Keegan Bradley/Brendan Steele (-32/184)
2010: Dustin Johnson/Ian Poulter (-32/184)
Corey Conners and Graeme McDowell: 11-1
Conners and McDowell have never teamed together at the QBE, but this could be a solid partnership. McDowell, who has finished second three times here, brings a solid short game and putts well on Bermuda greens. Conners, not exactly known for great putting, is one of the best from tee to green.
Will Zalatoris and Sean O'Hair: 12-1
O'Hair has won this event twice in a whopping 10 appearances. Neither he nor Zalatoris is a great putter, but O'Hair's experience should be beneficial on the greens and Zalatoris is a top-notch ball striker. Although this is an unofficial event, Zalatoris surely will be motivated to get his first trophy on the PGA Tour.
back to news

Live On Air

Streaming Now: A Numbers Game

play Watch Live radio Listen Live


Betting Splits: Percentage of handle & tickets from DraftKings for every game on the board, updated every 10 minutes. GO HERE.


Jason Weingarten: Pittsburgh Pirates OVER 67.5 Regular Season Wins. View more picks.


The Greg Peterson Experience: Do not overreact or underreact to 1 or 2 days of MLB results. It is a 162-game regular season. View more tips.