Tuley's Thoroughbred Takes

Dave Tuley  
VSiN.com senior reporter

March 8, 2018 10:12 PM

tuley_long_shotsAfter my last two horse racing pieces here at VSiN resulted in two $30 winners and several exactas in the Breeders' Cup and the winner/extra/trifecta in last Saturday's Fountain of Youth, Ron Flatter asked if I would contribute weekly picks on the ponies.

Now, I don't win like this all the time (especially not with my penchant for longshots as the chalk does win sometimes), but I agreed with the understanding that I wouldn't post every week and only when I truly feel I have an overlay to share.

We have three Derby prep races Saturday, plus the Big Cap at Santa Anita. I'm just going to list the horses I like here with the types of bets I'm looking to play; for more on the reasoning behind the horses I like, you'll have to listen to Ron Flatter's Podcast (though you can fast-forward to my second segment).

Tampa Bay Derby

Tampa Race #6, estimated post time: 5:20 p.m. ET/2:20 p.m. PT

Value win bet: The horse I give the best chance to win is #9 Untamed Domain, but 6-1 is too short for me (if I was a fisherman, these are the ones I'd throw back), though it might be OK for you. I'll only bet him to win if he drifts up to 10-1. Actually, the only win bet I'll probably make is on #1 Arazi Like Move as a flier at 50-1.

Exotic box (exactas, trifectas, supers, as well as possible vertical wagers): 1-2-5-9, that's three closers I like with favored Flameaway.

San Felipe Stakes

Santa Anita Race #6, estimated post time: 5:30 pm. ET/2:30 p.m. PT

Value win bet: #2 Lombo at 8-1

Exotic box: Probably passing here as it looks pretty chalky with Bolt d'Oro and McKinzie unless Lombo steals it.

Gotham Stakes

Aqueduct Race #10, estimated post time: 5:42 p.m. ET/2:42 p.m. PT

Value win bet: #7 Old Time Revival to wire the field at 15-1; could also bet #3 Beautiful Shot to win but only if drifts up to 10-1.

Exotic box: 3-5-7, not going too crazy with this race either.

Santa Anita Handicap

Santa Anita Race #10, estimated post time: 7:30 p.m. ET/4:30 p.m. PT

Value win bet: None

Exotic box: 5-6-7-8 (very chalky and I doubt I'll even play it; only listing it because Ron Flatter and I discussed this on the podcast; if this was the featured race on a different weekend, I would have passed).

Follow Dave at @Viewfromvegas. Shirt available at vsin.com/store.

back to news

Get the FREE VSiN Newsletter

Key line movements -- and what they should mean to you -- delivered to your inbox every morning.

20190729-Display__assets-Generic_football_300x250_(2)

VSiN promo codes

Manscaped: Go to Manscaped.com and get 20% off with the code VSIN.

KeepsGo to keeps.com/vsin for your free doctor consultation and get your first month of hair treatments for free.

EightSleepFor $150 off, go to eightsleep.com/VSIN.

VooDoo Cream: Use the code "Pauly" to get a special discount for VSiN fans.

Kenny White's College Football Power Ratings: Get $5 off with discount code vsin20off.

PropSwap_Logo_002_FullColor

Online Sports Betting Marketplace

Featured Tickets for Sale on PropSwap.com

1) Joe Burrow to Win Heisman Trophy - Sale Price: $4,500, Collect: $22,800, Odds: 4.07/1

2) Houston Astros to Win World Series - Sale Price: $500, Collect: $1,375, Odds: +175

3) Lamar Jackson to Win NFL MVP - Sale Price: $264, Collect: $2,613, Odds: 8.90/1

Go to PropSwap.com/VSiN or call
1-844-PROPSWAP

All tickets are open to Bidding. Prices & availability are subject to change.