Tuley's Thoroughbred Takes for races on Saturday, Nov. 14

By Dave Tuley  (VSiN.com senior reporter) 

November 14, 2020 12:43 AM
tuley_long_shots

The Breeders’ Cup is behind us, but our crew continues to look for value at tracks from coast to coast.

 

Note: there were several early scratches on Saturday morning at Aqueduct and Churchill that affected our team’s plays that were posted overnight. Duane Colucci and Ed Sehon’s plays are reduced by the scratches, plus Colucci adds a later play at Del Mar. As of noon ET, my plays are Gulfstream Park West and Del Mar are still a go.

 

Good luck today (and every day!).

 

SATURDAY

Gulfstream Park West Race No. 6 (3:05 p.m. ET/12:05 p.m. PT)

Dave Tuley likes #5 Vinnie Van Go (12-1 morning line in the $60,000 Millions Sprint Preview “This 4-year-old gelding is taking a step up in class, but I think he can handle it and wire this field. He’s so talented that he’s been claimed out of four straight races. Bet Win & Place on 5.”

 

Aqueduct Race No. 9 (3:47 p.m. ET/12:47 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci liked #5 Hembree (6-1 morning line) in the $100,000 Artie Schiller Stakes, but he was SCRATCHED Saturday morning. “I’ll box my remaining two horses in exactas: 3 & 4.”

 

Ed Sehon liked a three-horse exacta box, but it was reduced to two after the scratch of Hembree. “Top trainer Chad Brown sends two out in this 1-mile turf test. Both are underachieving 4-year-old colts, #4 Delaware (9-2 morning line) and #9 Valid Point (6-1). Irad Ortiz Jr. rides the former, while younger brother Jose will be aboard the latter. Wager: Exacta box with 4 & 9.”

 

Churchill Downs Races Nos. 8-11 (4:36 p.m. ET/1:36 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes the following $0.50 Pick 4 (cost $24 after scratches)

Race 8: 2,4,5,10

Race 9: 2,4

Race 10: 3,4

Race 11: 9,11,12

 

Del Mar Race No. 7 (6:30 p.m. ET/3:30 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci liked #2 One Flew South (4-1 morning line) “Doug O’Neill is off to a fantastic start this fall meet. A sharp :47 3/5 work and Abel Cedillo, who is currently leading the rider standings, in the saddle should be the right recipe for victory. Bet Win and key 2 over 1,3 & 8 in exactas, trifectas and reverse.”

 

Del Mar Race No. 8 (7 p.m. ET/4 p.m. PT)

Dave Tuley likes #3 Canoodling (12-1 morning line) in the #100,000 Desi Arnaz Stakes. “I also like #8 Heels Up, but since that 2-year-old filly is trained by Bob Baffert, I’m skeptical we’ll see odds anywhere near the 8-1 morning line. Regardless, there’s plenty of early speed in this 6 1/2-furlong sprint to set it up for these two closers. We’ll bet Win & Place on 3 and try to turn an exacta into a trifecta with a $1 tri key on 3,8 w/ 3,8 w/ ALL ($12 if all eight start). In case we get split and run 1st and 3rd, let’s also go with a $1 tri key on 3,8 w/ ALL w/ 3,8 ($12 more).

 

back to news

QuickPicks_300x250_080920_NFLkickoff

Headlines

View All

Google Play
App Store
Close