Tuley's Thoroughbred Takes for races on Saturday, May 8

By Dave Tuley  (VSiN.com senior reporter) 

May 8, 2021 07:51 AM

Team Tuley continues to look for value from coast to coast.

Last weekend, my buddy Ed Sehon got us off to a great start with Ed Sehon giving out a $1,193.05 Pick 4 on the Kentucky Oaks card, but our team blanked on the big Kentucky Derby Day card. It happens, though it’s obviously disappointing after all the buildup to horse racing’s biggest single day.

However, we brush ourselves off and bounce back this Saturday with our takes on the card at Belmont Park in New York and Santa Anita Park in California. Sehon has two spot plays and another Pick 4 at Belmont and I add two plays of my own, one at Belmont and one at Santa Anita. Duane Colucci, race & sports book manager at the Rampart, added a play at Belmont and Pick 4s at both Belmont and Santa Anita on Saturday morning after early scratches.

Good luck today (and every day!).

SATURDAY

Belmont Race No. 4 (2:31 p.m. ET/11:31 a.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #1 Stan the Man (4-1 morning line). “I’ve been waiting for this guy’s return from winter hiatus. The winner of more than $500,000, this tough 7-year-old pro knows how to fire off the bench -- and the addition of tactical rider Joel Rosario is icing on gelding’s cake. He looks to sit the perfect trip inside early speedsters in Grade 3 $150,000 Runhappy sprint. Stan’s my Man. Wager: Win & Place.”

Belmont Race No. 7 (4:06 p.m. ET/1:06 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #3 Victim of Love (4-1 morning line). “Well-traveled mare returns after 60 days away for East Coast conditioner Todd Beattie, who has kept her sharp through steady stream of morning works at Penn National. Aggressive return to NY circuit attracts riding services of Joel Rosario, who’s scoring at 24% clip. I guess I’m the victim because I love her chances to repeat win in Grade 3 $150,000 Vagrancy Handicap sprint. Wager: Win and box in exactas with 5&6.”

Dave Tuley likes #1 Piedi Bianchi (8-1 morning line). “In sprint races, most handicappers look at the speed horses, but these often set up for a closer. Piedi Bianchi is a versatile mare who can show speed, but her wins the past 16 months have all been from off the pace. Trainer Carlos Martin also places his horses well as he’s hitting 27% in graded stakes. Wager: Win & Place.”

Belmont Races Nos. 8-11 (4:38 p.m. ET/1:38 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes the following $0.50 Pick 4  (cost $72 after scratch)

Race 8: 5,7,8

Race 9: 1,2,3,4 (6 scratched)

Race 10: 1,3,7,8

Race 11: 1,2,9

Duane Colucci likes the following $0.50 Pick 4  (cost $72)

Race 8: 1,2,5,6,7,8

Race 9: 1,4

Race 10: 1,3,8

Race 11: 1,2,6,9

Belmont Race No. 10 (5:44 p.m. ET/2:44 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci #3 Ziyad (6-1 morning line) in the Grade 1 Man o’ War Stakes. “This Graham Motion gelding made a huge run in the Grade 3 Red Smith only to be overtaken late inside the last sixteenth. Steady workouts since and drops 6 pounds for this. Should have the lead late again in this race. Bet 3 to Win and key 3 over 1,5 & 8 in exactas, trifectas and reverse.”

Santa Anita Races Nos. 6-9 (6:47 p.m. ET/3:47 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes the following $0.50 Pick 4  (cost $60)

Race 6: 2,3,4,5,6

Race 7: 2,3,6,7

Race 8: 4,5,6

Race 9: 1,10

Santa Anita Race No. 7 (7:19 p.m. ET/4:19 p.m. PT)

Dave Tuley likes #5 Star of Africa (12-1 morning line) in the Grade 3 Santa Barbara Stakes. “In turf route races, handicappers usually look for closers, but I think this 4-year-old filly can steal this on the front end. She’s stepping up in class, but this level (Grade 3 races) are where we sometimes see these types of horses break through. She lost as a favorite in her last, but that’s why we’re getting such a generous price in addition to the step-up. Wager: Win & Place.”

 
 
back to news

FREE Email Sign-Up

Get the latest sports betting news & VSiN programming updates with this free daily email from VSiN, The Sports Betting Network.

Headlines

View All

custom-banner-3
VSiN Logo Plus

Free Trial

Make a risk-free bet on VSiN!

VSiN+ FREE TRIAL

  • Afternoon subscriber-only email with highlights and best bets from the day's programs
  • Point Spread Weekly, VSiN's digital magazine on sports betting
  • 24-7 Live video stream of VSiN programs plus replays
  • Any special sport-specified betting guides we do
  • All exclusive subscriber-only stories and data on VSiN.com
Sign Up Now
Google Play
App Store
Close