Tuley's Thoroughbred Takes for races on Saturday, July 17

By Dave Tuley  (VSiN.com senior reporter) 

July 17, 2021 04:29 AM

Our friend, Ed Sehon, has broken out on his own with “Mr. Ed’s Saratoga on (about) $100 a Day” feature at vsin.com/horses, but Team Tuley has more plays than ever this Saturday as we continue our promise to look for value at tracks from coast to coast.

This Saturday, we have plays from Monmouth in New Jersey, Saratoga in New York and Del Mar in California. Duane Colucci and I both have three spot plays apiece while Colucci also tackles the Late Pick 4 at each track. John Lauro also has a spot play at Saratoga while Sehon didn’t want to be left out and contributes two spot plays (one at Saratoga and one at Monmouth) plus the Late Pick 4 at Saratoga. For all of Sehon’s plays at Saratoga on Saturday, see his piece at https://www.vsin.com/mr-eds-saratoga-on-about-100-a-day-7-17/.

Enjoy a great day of racing on Saturday. I’ll only be updating this file if there are major changes after the early scratches at Saratoga or Monmouth.

Good luck today (and every day!).

SATURDAY

Saratoga Race No. 6 (3:55 p.m. ET/12:55 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #3 Rattle N Roll (7-2 morning line). “Veteran high-stakes trainer Kenny McPeak attracts skillful Javier Castellano to ride well-bred 2-year-old as he stretches sophomore out while switching from dirt to turf for second start. Closing trip in Churchill debut convinces me he’s ready to dance on weeds. Day’s Best Bet. Wager: Win.”

Monmouth Races Nos. 9-12 (4:05 p.m. ET/1:05 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes the following $0.50 Pick 4 (cost $60)

Race 9: 1,2,6,7,12

Race 10: 1,3,7,9

Race 11: 1,8,10

Race 12: 3,6

Monmouth Race No. 10 (4:38 p.m. ET/1:38 p.m. PT)

Dave Tuley likes #5 Bank Sting (10-1 morning line) in the Grade 3 Molly Pitcher. “The other so-called early speed horses in this 1 1/16 mile race aren’t really sprinters like this 4-year-old filly, so I think she could be the speed of the speed and steal this. She’s also won on muddy and sloppy courses if that’s what we get on Saturday. Wager: Win & Place.”

Saratoga Races Nos. 8-11 (5:03 p.m. ET/2:03 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes the following $.50 Pick 4 (cost $60)

Race 8: 1,5,7,10,12

Race 9: 1,2,7

Race 10: 5,6,7,8

Race 11: 7,8

Duane Colucci likes the following $0.50 Pick 4 (cost $60)

Race 8: 1,4,7,10,12

Race 9: 1,2,7,11

Race 10: 3,7,8

Race 11: 8,9

Monmouth Race No. 11 (5:12 p.m. ET/2:12 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes #10 Tribhuvan (3-1 morning line) in the Grade 1 United Nations Stakes. “This Chad Brown front-runner nearly stole the Grade 1 Manhattan in his last race at a nice price and also paid handsomely in the Fort Marcy. Jockey Flavien Prat will have to nurse his speed. Brown and Prat are hitting at 47% this year with a $3.41 ROI. Bet 10 to Win and key 10 over 1,3 & 6 in exactas, trifectas and reverse.”

Dave Tuley likes #2 Epic Bromance (20-1). “This is certainly a step up in class from this 5-year-old gelding’s last victory, but he was eased in his graded stakes debut in the Elkhorn at Keeneland after battling for the lead through the first half-mile. He should have a better chance to control his speed under jockey Jose Ferrer, who is hitting at 22% with early-speed types. We should get a price to justify taking that shot. Wager: Win & Place. Note: I’m also using in exotics with #1 Arklow (8-5 morning-line favorite) as I ended up making him the A.I. Pick of the Week at vsin.com/horses despite taking a flier on long-shot Epic Bromance.”

Monmouth Race No. 12 (5:47 p.m. ET/2:47 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #6 Midnight Bourbon (9-2 morning line) in the Grade 1 Haskell Stakes. “Tested colt is just my cup of tea, especially when it’s laced with Buffalo Trace. The more colt runs and develops, the better he’s going to be, according to top trainer Steve Asmusen. Getting his fourth different rider (Paco Lopez) in four races is no cause for concern as Paco knows Monmouth -- and Asmusen knows whose N.J.’s perennial leading pilot. Wager: Win.”

Saratoga Race No. 10 (6:16 p.m. ET/3:16 p.m. PT)

John Lauro likes #6 Summer Romance (4-1 morning line) in the Grade 1 Diana Stakes. “I love Summer Romance to rebound from her second-place finish in the Just A Game. Her barn reported that she had bounced out of the race in super condition. Strong Win bet.”

Duane Colucci likes #2 Pocket Square (8-1 morning line). “In her second try vs. Grade 1 company, this filly tries to keep Chad Brown’s Diana winning streak alive. Steady workouts and Johnny V takes over. She was the favorite vs. some of these in the Just A Game and should move forward. Bet 2 to Win and key 2 over 5,6 & 7 in exactas, trifectas and reverse.”

Del Mar Races Nos. 8-11 (8:32 p.m. ET/5:32 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes the following $0.50 Pick 4 (cost $60)

Race 8: 2,3,5,9,10

Race 9: 2,8,9

Race 10: 1,2,5

Race 11: 1,2,12

Del Mar Race No. 9 (9:02 p.m. ET/6:02 p.m. PT)

Dave Tuley likes #2 Sedamar (4-1 morning line) in the $80,000 Osunitas Stakes. “This ungraded stakes race should set up for a late-runner and there’s not a better closer in this race than Sedamar. Jockey Juan Hernandez should be content to sit in the back of the pack with this 5-year-old mare before making their move on the final turn and into the stretch when they should be going fastest of all. She’s dropping in class after chasing tougher competition and this could be the spot to return to the winner’s circle. Wager: Win.”

Del Mar Race No. 10 (9:31 p.m. ET/6:31 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes #2 Kiss Today Goodbye (8-1 morning line) in the Grade 2 San Diego Handicap. “This 4-year-old colt reunites with jockey Victor Espinoza, who rode him to victory here at Del Mar last year. Kiss Today Goodbye gets some class relief after runs against Maxfield and Knicks Go. He loves Del Mar and should be flying late! Trainer Kruljac has a $4.67 ROI in graded stakes, showing he knows how to place his horses. Bet 2 to Win and key 2 over 1,4 & 5 in exactas, trifectas and reverse.”

Note: also check out our A.I. Pick of the Week at vsin.com/horses as we’ve gone 8-for-17 since taking over the feature for a nice ROI of $2.38 for every $2 wagered to Win. There are also more plays from 1ST/BET handicappers on that page at vsin.com/horses.

 
back to news

FREE Email Sign-Up

Get the latest sports betting news & VSiN programming updates with this free daily email from VSiN, The Sports Betting Network.

Headlines

View All

custom-banner-3
VSiN Logo Plus

Free Trial

Make a risk-free bet on VSiN!

VSiN+ FREE TRIAL

  • Afternoon subscriber-only email with highlights and best bets from the day's programs
  • Point Spread Weekly, VSiN's digital magazine on sports betting
  • 24-7 Live video stream of VSiN programs plus replays
  • Any special sport-specified betting guides we do
  • All exclusive subscriber-only stories and data on VSiN.com
Sign Up Now
Google Play
App Store
Close