Live On Air

Streaming Now: The Lookahead

play Watch Live radio Listen Live

Tuley's Thoroughbred Takes for races on Saturday, Jan. 30

By Dave Tuley  (VSiN.com senior reporter) 

January 30, 2021 03:59 AM

(Note: updated after Saturday’s early scratches, plus Duane Colucci added a pick at Santa Anita.)

Team Tuley continues to look for value from coast to coast and this Saturday most of the action is again at Gulfstream Park, highlighted by the Holy Bull Stakes for 3-year-old Kentucky Derby hopefuls.

My buddy, Duane Colucci, race & sports book manager at the Rampart (and you can also hear him on this week’s Ron Flatter Racing Pod), has picks in two stakes at Gulfstream as well as two separate Pick 4s that cover most of the early part of the card, while Ed Sehon tackled the Late Pick 5 while also having two spot plays (and links those with a Daily Double). I also give my “takes” in the last three stakes races at Gulfstream.

Saturday’s early scratches at Gulfstream only affected one of Colucci’s Pick 4s, reducing the price of the ticket. Colucci has also added a play at Santa Anita to the picks that were posted overnight.

Good luck today (and every day!).

SATURDAY

Gulfstream Races Nos. 2-5 (12:13 p.m. ET/9:13 a.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes the following $0.50 Pick 4 (cost $48)

Race 2: 3,4,8

Race 3: 1,3,6,8

Race 4: 6,7

Race 5: 2,4,5,7

Gulfstream Race No. 3 (12:41 p.m. ET/9:41 a.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #6 Dr. Duke (9-2 morning line). “After a pair of sharp Show finishes in dirt sprints, trainer Jena Antonucci moves promising maiden colt to the grass and cuts back to five furlongs. Son of Ghostzapper ($250,000 purchase) gets Lasix for second time while retaining the services of quick-breaking jockey Paco Lopez. Sizzling four-panel :47 work indicates the doctor has just the right prescription for a graduation day victory. Wager: Win. Bonus Bet: 6-7 Daily Double.”

Gulfstream Race No. 4 (1:10 p.m. ET/10:10 a.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #7 Kentucky Pharoah (5-2 morning line) in the Grade 3 Kitten’s Joy Stakes. “This sophomore son of Triple Crown winner American Pharoah, based on his two easy mile scores earlier in the meet, loves the Gulfstream turf. Pair of grass works point to three-peat for trainer-rider combo Jack Sisterson and Julian Leparoux. Look for colt to complete Daily Double. Wager: Win.”

Gulfstream Races Nos. 5-8 (1:40 p.m. ET/10:40 a.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes the following $0.50 Pick 4 (cost $72)

Race 5: 2,4,5,7

Race 6: 1,5,6

Race 7: 1,8,9,12 (10 scratched)

Race 8: 1,2,10

Gulfstream Race No. 6 (2:10 p.m. ET/11:10 a.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes #6 By George (2-1 morning line) in the Grade 3 Swale Stakes. “With the combination of Christophe Clement and Eclipse-winning jockey Irad Ortiz Jr., By George should improve off his monster maiden win at Aqueduct and beautiful workouts will get this one into the winner’s circle. Key 6 over 1,3 & 5 in exactas and trifectas.”

Gulfstream Races Nos. 8-12 (3:15 p.m. ET/12:15 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes the following $0.50 Pick 5 (cost $64)

Race 8: 3,7,9,10

Race 9: 6

Race 10: 2,4,5,6

Race 11: 6,7

Race 12: 3,4,5,9

Gulfstream Race No. 9 (3:46 p.m. ET/12:46 p.m. PT)

Dave Tuley likes #1 Wholebodemeister (10-1 morning line) in the Grade 3 Forward Gal Stakes. “There’s not a ton of early speed in this seven-furlong race, as most of these have preferred to run from just off the pace in their young careers. But I think this gal could be forwardly placed while breaking from the rail and possibly steal this wire to wire. Throw out her last race when she broke slowly, and she certainly fits here. Wager: Win & Place.”

Gulfstream Race No. 10 (4:18 p.m. ET/1:18 p.m. PT)

Dave Tuley likes #1 Queen of the Green (15-1 morning line) in the Grade 3 Sweetest Chant Stakes. “This mile turf event sets up more for a closer and Queen of the Green is the most consistent one in this field. I’m usually reluctant to bet maiden winners moving up into stakes company, but pace makes the race and at least we’re getting fair odds at anything in double digits. Wager: Win & Place.”

Gulfstream Race No. 11 (4:50 p.m. ET/1:50 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes #6 Prime Factor (3-1 morning line) in the Grade 3 Holy Bull Stakes. “I really like the way Prime Factor is coming into this race off a solid MSW race in which he was dominant. He also has four solid workouts since the race and Irad Ortiz Jr. in the saddle. Bet 6 to Win and key 6 over 7,8 & 9 in exactas and trifectas and reverse in this ultra-competitive Holy Bull.”

Dave Tuley likes several horses in the wide-open Holy Bull. Full disclosure: I have a vested interest in Kentucky Derby future-book wagers on #7 Greatest Honour (5-2) with my friend, John Lauro, and with another friend on #4 Amount. If one or both of them run well and continue on the Derby Trail, that would be great. However, in objectively handicapping this race without those tickets in mind, I land on #2 Willy Boi (10-1 morning line) and #3 Papetu (15-1 morning line) as possible upsetters on the front end. So, this is what I’m going to do: I’ll bet Win on whichever of those two long shots goes off at the higher price (possibly both if both at double-digit odds). Again, if they duel each other into the ground and fade while making way for Amount and Greatest Honour, I’ll be happy. But just in case I’m all over this race, I’ll box 2-3-4-7 in exactas and trifectas.

Santa Anita Race No. 7 (6:37 p.m. ET/3:37 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes #1 Medina Spirit (5-2 morning line) in the Grade 3 Robert B. Lewis Stakes. “Bob Baffert runner gave early Derby favorite Life Is Good a scare plugging away to get within a length of the upset in the Sham. Solid workouts and a duplicate effort in this race of his last will win here. Bet 1 to Win and key 1 over 2,4 & 8 in exactas and trifectas and reverse.”

 

back to news

FREE Email Sign-Up

Get the latest sports betting news & VSiN programming updates with this free daily email from VSiN, The Sports Betting Network.

Headlines

View All

custom-banner-3
VSiN Logo Plus

Free Trial

Make a risk-free bet on VSiN!

VSiN+ FREE TRIAL

  • Afternoon subscriber-only email with highlights and best bets from the day's programs
  • Point Spread Weekly, VSiN's digital magazine on sports betting
  • 24-7 Live video stream of VSiN programs plus replays
  • Any special sport-specified betting guides we do
  • All exclusive subscriber-only stories and data on VSiN.com
Sign Up Now
custom-banner-3
 

LISTEN LIVE!

It's totally free

(Learn more about the player)

OTHER WAYS TO LISTEN

  • On your phone
  • In your home
  • In your car
DETAILS
Google Play
App Store
Close