Live On Air

Streaming Now: VSiN Overnight

play Watch Live radio Listen Live

Tuley's Thoroughbred Takes for races on Saturday, Jan. 2

By Dave Tuley  (VSiN.com senior reporter) 

January 2, 2021 11:31 AM
tuley_long_shots

Happy New Year! And, Happy Birthday to all racehorses as they all celebrated their universal “birthday” of Jan. 1, especially the 3-year-olds that are now eligible for the Kentucky Derby (which will hopefully be run on the First Saturday in May this year!).

 

Our crew continues to look for value at the tracks running from coast to coast. On Saturday, Duane Colucci has a play at Aqueduct, Ed Sehon and I have two plays apiece at Gulfstream, plus Colucci and Sehon both look at the Late Pick 4 at Gulfstream.

 

Good luck today (and every day!).

 

SATURDAY

 

Gulfstream Race No. 4 (1:35 p.m. ET/10:35 a.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #6 It’s a Gamble (4-1 morning line). “The Dania Beach, a $75,000 stakes for 3-year-olds at a mile on the turf, kicks off the 2021 handicapping season from our anti-COVID-19 shelter in North Carolina. Accomplished NY/NJ-based trainer Kelly Breen ships improving colt south after winning effort in turf sprint at Big A, where he earned an above-par 74 Beyer Speed Figure. Hall of Fame rider Johnny Velazquez climbs aboard. Wager: Win and box with 1,2,7.”

 

Gulfstream Race No. 6 (2:40 p.m. ET/11:40 a.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #5 Rijeka (12-1 morning line). “Ultra-consistent 5-year-old gelding well-prepared for maximum effort in starter allowance 1.5-mile marathon over the firm turf course for up-and-coming south Florida conditioner Saffie Joseph Jr. Deep closer, with Jose Ortiz aboard, looks live at generous price. Wager: Win & Place.”

 

Gulfstream Races Nos. 8-11 (3:42 p.m. ET/12:42 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes the following $0.50 Pick 4 (cost $90)

Race 8: 3,5,6,9,12

Race 9: 3,6,7,8

Race 10: 5,7,10

Race 11: 4,6,12

 

Duane Colucci likes the following $0.50 Pick 4 (cost $60)

Race 8: 2,5,6,8,12

Race 9: 3,4,6,7

Race 10: 5,7,10

Race 11: 6,12

 

Aqueduct Race No. 8 (3:50 p.m. ET/12:50 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes #2 Drafted (8-1 morning line) in the $100,000 Gravesend Stakes. “This gelding returns after a wide trip in the Fall Highweight. Second off a long layoff, he is bred to handle a wet track and should supply a nice closing kick in this compact field. Dylan Davis won the Jerome yesterday and looks to grab another stakes win to start 2021. Bet 2 to Win and key 2 over 1 & 5 in exactas and trifectas and reverse.”

 

Gulfstream Race No. 9 (4:13 p.m. ET/1:13 p.m. PT)

Dave Tuley likes #9 Sweet Pearl (12-1 morning line) in the $75,000 Ginger Brew Stakes. “This 3-year-old filly breaks from the outside post but should be able to get a stalking trip under jockey Corey Lanerie and be in position to run down the pacesetters at a nice price. Wager: Win & Place.”

 

Gulfstream Race No. 10 (4:45 p.m. ET/1:45 p.m. PT)

Dave Tuley likes #9 Papetu (20-1 morning line) in the $100,000 Mucho Macho Man. “Papetu hasn’t fired in his last two races, but he could be the speed of the speed and steal this with the drop in class. Wager: Win & Place.”

 

 

 

 

 

back to news

QuickPicks_300x250_080920_NFLkickoff

Headlines

View All

Google Play
App Store
Close