Tuley's Thoroughbred Takes for races on Saturday, Feb. 6

By Dave Tuley  (VSiN.com senior reporter) 

February 6, 2021 02:22 AM

(Note: updated after Saturday’s early scratches, including picks added by Duane Colucci.)

Team Tuley continues to look for value from coast to coast. Granted, Sunday’s Super Bowl is the focus of this weekend, but we need something to keep our minds occupied on Saturday in addition to college and pro basketball (and hockey and golf and UFC, etc.). OK, so there’s a lot going on in the sports world, but always a place for some spot plays on Saturday’s horse racing cards.

Ed Sehon and I posted two plays apiece overnight (plus Sehon looks at an early Pick 4 at Gulfstream) while Duane Colucci added a spot play in the Withers Stakes at Aqueduct and a Late Pick 4 at Gulfstream after scratches.

Good luck today (and every day!).

SATURDAY

Gulfstream Park Races Nos. 2-5 (12:39 p.m. ET/9:39 a.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes the following $0.50 Pick 4 (cost $60)

Race 2: 1,3,5,6

Race 3: 1,2,3

Race 4: 1,2,4,6,11

Race 5: 1,2

Gulfstream Park Race No. 8 (3:41 p.m. ET/12:41 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #5 The Tabulator (7-2 morning line). “Six-year-old returns to the scene of his finest effort, a 6 1/2-length score last March which also earned him a career-best 100 Beyer Speed Rating. Following a competitive Midwest campaign, sharp trainer reunites speedy sprinter with journeyman pilot Victor Lebron. Entered for a $62,500 tag, he posted a four-furlong bullet work of :47 1/5. I’m counting on Tabulator to say ‘see you later’ as he romps home a winner. Wager: Win.”

Tampa Bay Downs Race No. 9 (4:02 p.m. ET/1:02 p.m. PT)

Dave Tuley likes #8 Be Sneaky (12-1 morning line) in the $150,000 Suncoast Stakes. “There’s some early speed in this 1-mile-and-40-yard route for 3-year-old fillies, but Be Sneaky should be the sneaky speed of the speed as she’s the only true sprinter, so I feel she can steal this. She certainly has the right to improve in his 3-year-old debut after a maiden win and a third in a minor stakes at Laurel. Trainer Arnold Delacour and jockey Hector Diaz Jr. are also 4-for-8 the past two months and Delacour is also 36% with first-time routers, so that’s another reason to like Be Sneaky on the stretch-out. Wager: Win & Place.”

Gulfstream Park Races Nos. 9-12 (4:12 p.m. ET/1:12 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes the following $0.50 Pick 4 (cost $60)

Race 9: 1,2,9,11,12

Race 10: 1,2,3,10

Race 11: 1,7,8

Race 12: 1,4

Aqueduct Race No. 8 (4:25 p.m. ET/1:25 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes #7 Donegal Bay (7-2 morning line) in the Grade 3 Withers Stakes. “This Todd Pletcher runner comes to town off a nice run at Gulfstream in a quick time, plus three nice workouts and Kendrick Carmouche in the saddle. Donegal Bay should be tough here. Pletcher and Carmouche are hitting at 48% at Aqueduct with a $2.88 ROI. Bet 7 to Win and key 7 over 3,5 & 9 in exactas and trifectas and reverse.”

Tampa Bay Downs Race No. 11 (5:02 p.m. ET/2:02 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #9 Candy Man Rocket (10-1 morning line) in the Grade 3 Sam F. Davis Stakes. “HOF trainer Bill Mott ships fast sprinter over from Gulfstream to see if he can stretch his speed around two turns after a 9 1/4-length maiden dash victory four weeks ago. Junior Alvarado also crosses Sunshine State to ride as sophomore takes first step on Run for the Roses. Wager: Win & box in exactas with 3,5 & 11.”

Santa Anita Race No. 7 (6:14 p.m. ET/3:14 p.m. PT)

Dave Tuley likes #4 Uncle Boogie (12-1 morning line) in the Grade 2 San Vicente Stakes. “Last week, you might recall I picked against a few horses that I had vested interest in Kentucky Derby futures, so I wasn’t too upset when I lost as Greatest Honour romped to a 5 3/4-length victory in the Grade 3 Holy Bull Stakes to stay on the Derby Trail. Well, we have a similar scenario this Saturday with Bob Baffert’s Concert Tour [125-1 to win Derby before his career debut], so I’ll be happy if he romps in the San Vicente, but just in case he gets caught up in a speed duel with the rest of the sprinters in this seven-furlong race, I’ll have some tickets on Uncle Boogie as he’s the only closer in the field that can take advantage of a suicidal pace. Wager: Win & Place.”

 

back to news

FREE Email Sign-Up

Get the latest sports betting news & VSiN programming updates with this free daily email from VSiN, The Sports Betting Network.

Headlines

View All

custom-banner-3
VSiN Logo Plus

Free Trial

Make a risk-free bet on VSiN!

VSiN+ FREE TRIAL

  • Afternoon subscriber-only email with highlights and best bets from the day's programs
  • Point Spread Weekly, VSiN's digital magazine on sports betting
  • 24-7 Live video stream of VSiN programs plus replays
  • Any special sport-specified betting guides we do
  • All exclusive subscriber-only stories and data on VSiN.com
Sign Up Now
Google Play
App Store
Close