Tuley's Thoroughbred Takes for races on Saturday, Feb. 27

By Dave Tuley  (VSiN.com senior reporter) 

February 27, 2021 03:05 AM

(Note: plays added after Saturday’s early scratches.)

Team Tuley continues to look for value from coast to coast, though this Saturday most of our plays focus on the deep Fountain of Youth Day card at Gulfstream Park.

My friend, Ed Sehon, and myself have two picks apiece at Gulfstream, plus Sehon has a Pick 4 tickets on Races 7-10. In addition, John Lauro has three horses he loves in Races 12-14 while Duane Colucci shared his plays Saturday morning as he’s in agreement with one of Sehon’s plays and adds late Pick 4s at Gulfstream and Santa Anita.

Good luck today (and every day).

SATURDAY

Gulfstream Park Race No. 6 (1:53 p.m. ET/10:53 a.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #2 Annex (3-1 morning line) in the ungraded Palm Beach Stakes. “Trainer Bill Mott may have a budding superstar here. Son of Constitution easily won debut six weeks ago in an impressive 1:34 4/5 turf mile, earning a Beyer Speed Figure of 81. Another victory today might convince Mott to try Triple Crown-nominated colt on the dirt with an eye on Preakness Stakes in mid-May. Trainer’s go-to guy Junior Alvarado retains mount. Wager: Win.”

Duane Colucci also likes #2 Annex (3-1). “Mott and Alvarado have been very successful when teaming up and this should continue with this colt. At the current meet, Mott and Alvarado are hitting at 26% and a ripe $2.98 ROI. Also, this colt has steady works since that nice maiden win. Bet 2 to Win and key 2 over 3,5 & 8 in exactas and trifectas and reverse.”

Gulfstream Park Races Nos. 7-10 (2:23 p.m. ET/11:23 a.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes the following Pick 4 (cost $54)

Race 7: 2,5,6,7,9,11

Race 8: 5,6

Race 9: 1,4,5 (2 scratched)

Race 10: 2,4,8

Gulfstream Park Race No. 9 (3:27 p.m. ET/12:27 p.m. PT)

Dave Tuley likes #7 Wind of Change (20-1 morning line) in the Grade 2 Gulfstream Park Mile. “Wind of Change should be the speed of the speed in this race (he’s really a sprinter) and has a great chance to go wire-to-wire at a big price. Horses with early speed have won 42% of the mile dirt races at Gulfstream this meet. Wager: Win & Place.”

Gulfstream Park Races Nos. 11-14 (4:29 p.m. ET/1:29 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes the following Pick 4 (cost $54)

Race 11: 2,6,7

Race 12: 3,5,6

Race 13: 4,6,7,9

Race 14: 1,4,8

Gulfstream Park Race No. 11 (4:29 p.m. ET/1:29 p.m. PT)

Dave Tuley likes #8 Jakarta (15-1 morning line) in the Grade 3 Honey Fox Stakes. “We cashed with Jakarta at 11-1 last spring here at Gulfstream and she also had a nice second for us at Saratoga in August at 9-1 -- plus some losing tickets along the way. But we’re back on her in this mile turf test with speed jockey Kendrick Carmouche. Now, unlike the race above, there’s some closers that I fear, so I’ll wager on #8 Jakarta to Win & Place, plus use with 1,2,4 & 6 in exotics.”

Gulfstream Park Races No. 12-14 (5:04 p.m. ET/2:04 p.m. PT)

John Lauro likes #3 Vequist (7-5 morning line) in the Grade 2 Davona Dale Stakes (Race 12), #4 Tuned (6-1) in Grade 3 The Very One Stakes (Race 13) and #8 Greatest Honour (9-5) in Grade 2 Fountain of Youth Stakes (Race 14). “Vequist returns after winning BC Juvenile Fillies in an easy spot for return. Tuned drops into an easy spot and lays over field in class and speed figures. Greatest Honour gets speed to run down from Fire At Will. Strong Win bets on all three. Use a strong Pick 3 with 3,4 & 8.”

Gulfstream Park Race No. 14 (6:10 p.m. ET/3:10 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #4 Fire At Will (7-2 morning line) in the Grade 2 Fountain of Youth Stakes. “Grass specialist boasts a three-race winning streak, capped by Grade 1 Breeders’ Cup Juvenile Turf in November. Accomplished trainer Michael Maker has kept speedy colt sharp through a steady stream of solid works over GP dirt oval. Leading rider Kendrick Carmouche, who flies down from NY base to accept the mount, Will Fire promising 3-year-old right from the get-go. Wager: Win.”

Santa Anita Races Nos. 6-9 (6:20 p.m. ET/3:20 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes the following Pick 4 (cost $45)

Race 6: 5,6,8,9,10

Race 7: 6,9

Race 8: 2,3,5

Race 9: 2,3,5

 
 
back to news

FREE Email Sign-Up

Get the latest sports betting news & VSiN programming updates with this free daily email from VSiN, The Sports Betting Network.

Headlines

View All

custom-banner-3
VSiN Logo Plus

Free Trial

Make a risk-free bet on VSiN!

VSiN+ FREE TRIAL

  • Afternoon subscriber-only email with highlights and best bets from the day's programs
  • Point Spread Weekly, VSiN's digital magazine on sports betting
  • 24-7 Live video stream of VSiN programs plus replays
  • Any special sport-specified betting guides we do
  • All exclusive subscriber-only stories and data on VSiN.com
Sign Up Now
Google Play
App Store
Close