Live On Air

Streaming Now: VSiN Overnight

play Watch Live radio Listen Live

Tuley's Thoroughbred Takes for races on Saturday, Feb. 20

By Dave Tuley  (VSiN.com senior reporter) 

February 20, 2021 04:57 AM

(Note: this file updated after Saturday’s early scratches.)

Team Tuley continues to look for value from coast to coast, and this Saturday we also take it internationally.

John Lauro hopefully gets us off to a fast start with the Saudi Cup coming up at 12:40 p.m. ET/9:40 a.m. PT, and then Ed Sehon (who led the way for our team last week with a 9-2 winner, so also check another play of his in our A.I. Pick of the Week on vsin.com/horses) has two spot plays at Gulfstream plus the Late Pick 4 while I add a late pick at Gulfstream and then a play at Santa Anita. Duane Colucci added his picks on Saturday morning and agrees with my play at Santa Anita plus offers up Pick 4s at Aqueduct and Santa Anita. 

Check back in the noon ET/9 a.m. PT hour for any additional plays as well as changes after early scratches (note: we’ll also be updated Sehon’s Pick 4 as we’ll see if his also-eligible horse in Gulfstream’s 9th race scratches in).

SATURDAY

King Abdulaziz Racetrack Race No. 8 (12:40 p.m. ET/9:40 a.m. PT)

John Lauro likes an exacta in the $20 million Saudi Cup. “The race should be a cold exacta with #8 Knicks Go over #3 Charlatan.” [Tuley Noted: Knicks Go is the 5-2 second choice while Charlatan is the 7-5 morning-line favorite.]

Gulfstream Park Race No. 3 (1:08 p.m. ET/10:08 a.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #5 R Love On the Run (9-2 morning line). “Three consecutive quick works indicate homebred daughter of Uncaptured is rested and ready for her sophomore debut for up-and-coming conditioner Georgina Baxter, who is winning at a 24% clip at the meet. In her only previous effort last June, this gal spit the bit and finished third in a juvenile dirt sprint. She moves to the turf today and picks up the riding services of South Florida-based journeyman Edgard Zayas. Wager: Win & box in exactas with 1,3 & 6.”

Gulfstream Park Race No. 7 (3:10 p.m. ET/12:10 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #7 Richiesgotgame (4-1 morning line). “Grandson of Tapit appears set for major move forward after getting bumped before making up big chunk of ground vs. similar in his initial Sunshine State effort last month. This 3-year-old colt, who has captured three of his five lifetime starts while banking nearly $100,000, retains top jockey Irad Ortiz Jr. for trainer Larry Rivelli, who’s won 5 of 14 at meet. Wager: Win.”

Aqueduct Races Nos. 6-9 (3:50 p.m. ET/12:50 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes the following $.50 Pick 4 (cost $32)

Race 6: 1,2,3,5

Race 7: 7,8

Race 8: 1,2,7,8

Race 9: 5,6

Gulfstream Park Races Nos. 9-12 (4:12 p.m. ET/1:12 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes the following $.50 Pick 4 (cost $54)

Race 9: 6,9,11 (note: 13 didn’t draw in from also-eligible list)

Race 10: 1,2,4,8

Race 11: 2,3,7

Race 12: 2,4,7

Gulfstream Park Race No. 11 (5:16 p.m. ET/2:16 p.m. PT)

Dave Tuley likes #2 (Gibberish (6-1 morning line) in the Grade 3 Royal Delta Stakes. “This 4-year-old filly looks like the speed of the speed and had a great chance to wire this field. Gibberish has three straight wins and trainer Saffie Joseph Jr. is hitting at 28% with horses off win as he places them well, plus he’s also 24% with horses off a 46-to-90 layoff and 44% when teaming with jockey Tyler Gaffalione, including 2-for-8 the last two weeks. Wager: Win & Place.”

Santa Anita Park Races Nos. 6-9 (6:14 p.m. ET/3:14 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes the following $.50 Pick 4 (cost $60)

Race 6: ALL (1-5)

Race 7: 2,6,7,8

Race 8: 3,4

Race 9: 1,7,8

Sanita Anita Park Race No. 7 (6:46 p.m. ET/3:46 p.m. PT)

Dave Tuley likes #7 Going to Vegas (6-1 morning line) in the Grade 2 Buena Vista Stakes. “Call it a hunch play if you must, but there’s no clear-cut front-runner in this one-mile turf test and this classy filly could either steal this or come from just off the pace in her 4-year-old debut. Trainer Richard Baltas has only used Mario Gutierrez eight times the past two months but they’ve combined for three victories. #4 Nasty(also trained by Baltas) is a definite threat and should get a similar threat, so let’s Bet 7 to Win and also use the 7 w/ the 4 in exotics.”

Duane Collucci also likes #7 Going to Vegas (6-1). “This Baltas filly has run exceptionally well in her last two graded efforts and Baltas has been red-hot, winning three yesterday. He and Mario Gutierrez are hitting at 33% out of 21 races with a ripe $3.10 ROI. Should get a perfect trip. Bet 7 to Win and key 7 over 2,6 & 8 in exactas and trifectas and reverse.”

 
 
back to news

FREE Email Sign-Up

Get the latest sports betting news and VSiN programming update with this free daily email from VSiN, The Sports Betting Network.

 

Headlines

View All

custom-banner-3
VSiN Logo Plus

Free Trial

Make a risk-free bet on VSiN!

VSiN+ FREE TRIAL

  • Afternoon subscriber-only email with highlights and best bets from the day's programs
  • Point Spread Weekly, VSiN's digital magazine on sports betting
  • 24-7 Live video stream of VSiN programs plus replays
  • Any special sport-specified betting guides we do
  • All exclusive subscriber-only stories and data on VSiN.com
Sign Up Now
Google Play
App Store
Close