Live On Air

Steaming Now: Prime Time Action

play Watch Live radio Listen Live

Tuley's Thoroughbred Takes for races on Saturday, Feb. 13

By Dave Tuley  (VSiN.com senior reporter) 

February 13, 2021 02:16 AM

(Note: updated after Saturday’s early scratches.)

Team Tuley continues to look for value from coast to coast. On Saturday, we have plays from Gulfstream on the East Coast, Fair Grounds in the middle of the country and Santa Anita out West.

Ed Sehon, John Lauro and Duane Colucci and yours truly have spot plays in two races apiece, plus Sehon & Colucci tackle the Late Pick 4 at Gulfstream.

Good luck today (and every day!).

SATURDAY

Gulfstream Park Race No. 4 (1:36 p.m. ET/10:36 a.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #3 Talking Book (morning line 6-1). “Away since impressive from-the-clouds Place mile effort last April, 4-year-old daughter of Honor Code returns for trainer Claude McGuaghey III in deep Maiden Special Weight turf event at a mile and an eighth. In addition to working steadily over Payson grass, she gets significant rider upgrade to Jose Ortiz. If she’s learned how to break alertly, extra ground aids her cause. This gal’s talking -- and Mr. Ed is listening. Wager: Win & Place.”

Gulfstream Race No. 7 (3:10 p.m. ET/12:10 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes #1 Tour of Duty (7-2 morning line). “This 3-year-old colt makes his debut for Chad Brown with a stellar workout tab. Word on the backstretch is he can really move. Tyler Gaffalione gets the mount. Brown hits at 20% with first-time starters and 27% when teaming with TGaff. Bet 1 to Win and key 1 over 3,10 & 11 in exactas and trifectas and reverse.”

Gulfstream Park Races Nos. 9-12 (4:12 p.m. ET/1:12 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes the following $0.50 Pick 4 (cost $30)

Race 9: 2,8,11,12

Race 10: 1,5,7

Race 11: 5 (1 scratched)

Race 12: 3,6,7,10,12

Duane Colucci likes the following $0.50 Pick 4 (cost $72)

Race 9: 2,8,9,12

Race 10: 1,4,5,7

Race 11: 4,5,6

Race 12: 6,7,12

Gulfstream Race No. 11 (5:16 p.m. ET/2:16 p.m. PT)

Dave Tuley likes #6 Wind of Change (9-2 morning line) in the Grade 3 Gulfstream Park Sprint. “This 6-year-year-old is the speed of the speed in this race, and the cutback to six furlongs should help him go the distance. Wager: Win & Place.”

Fair Grounds Race No. 10 (5:44 p.m. ET/2:44 p.m. PT)

John Lauro likes #4 Maxfield (4-5 morning line) in the Grade 3 Mineshaft Stakes. “Strong Win play. Maxfield will win Breeders’ Cup Classic if he stays sound.”

Santa Anita Race No. 7 (6:46 p.m. ET/3:46 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes #1 Tizhotndusty (6-1 morning line). “This speedy gelding tries turf again after a wire-to-wire main track romp. Not much speed in here as well, so he should be able to control the race from the start. Kruljac hits at 21% when switching from dirt to turf with a $3.69 ROI! Bet 1 to Win and key 1 over 3,6 & 7 in exactas and trifectas and reverse.”

Fair Grounds Race No. 12 (6:47 p.m. ET/3:47 p.m. PT)

John Lauro likes an exacta box in the Grade 2 Rachel Alexandra Stakes. “#1 Clairiere and #8 Travel Column in a 1-8 exacta box.”

Fair Grounds Race No. 13 (7:18 p.m. ET/4:18 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #2 Proxy (8-1 morning line) in the Grade 2 Risen Star Stakes. “This Derby points prep shapes up as a jockey's race -- and in John Velasquez we trust. HOF rider leaves comforts of his Gulfstream Park winter home (and a ride on contender Bracken for Todd Pletcher) to accept mount on up-and-coming 3-year-old for sharp trainer Michael Stidham. Since I can’t be in New Orleans, I’m counting on Johnny V. to carry my Proxy to the winner’s circle. Wager: Win and box in exactas with 5,6 & 12.”

Santa Anita Race No. 8 (7:20 p.m. ET/4:20 p.m. PT)

Dave Tuley likes #11 Biddy Duke (12-1 morning line) in the Grade 2 Santa Monica Stakes. “This 4-year-old filly could steal this on the front end, but I expect she might have to sit a little off the pace as she’s starting in the No. 11 post. She lost her lone start at this seven-furlong distance in the La Brea over this track on Dec. 26 as she went a little too fast early, so this might suit her better. Umberto Rispoli retains the mount for trainer Doug O’Neill and I see that as another plus. I fear the #3 Fair Maiden (4-1), who ran down Biddy Duke in the La Brea, as well as long shot #12 Bohemian Bourbon, so while betting 11 to Win & Place, I’ll box 3, 11 & 12 in my exotics.”

 
 
back to news

FREE Email Sign-Up

Get the latest sports betting news & VSiN programming updates with this free daily email from VSiN, The Sports Betting Network.

Headlines

View All

custom-banner-3
VSiN Logo Plus

Free Trial

Make a risk-free bet on VSiN!

VSiN+ FREE TRIAL

  • Afternoon subscriber-only email with highlights and best bets from the day's programs
  • Point Spread Weekly, VSiN's digital magazine on sports betting
  • 24-7 Live video stream of VSiN programs plus replays
  • Any special sport-specified betting guides we do
  • All exclusive subscriber-only stories and data on VSiN.com
Sign Up Now
Google Play
App Store
Close