Live On Air

Streaming Now: A Numbers Game

play Watch Live radio Listen Live

Tuley's Thoroughbred Takes for races on Saturday, Dec. 5

By Dave Tuley  (VSiN.com senior reporter) 

December 5, 2020 02:11 AM
Tuley_Thoroughbred_Takes

(Note: This has been updated with two Duane Colucci picks after early scratches.)

 

The Breeders’ Cup was over a month ago, but our crew continues to look at value at racetracks from coast to coast.

 

On Saturday, I have plays in two early stakes at Aqueduct, Duane Colucci and Ed Sehon each has a play apiece at Gulfstream Park and Aqueduct (plus Sehon gives a Late Pick 4 at Gulfstream) and John Lauro takes us out West for a 10-1 spot play at Los Alamitos.

 

Good luck today (and every day!).

 

SATURDAY

Aqueduct Race No. 4 (1 p.m. ET/10 a.m. PT)

Dave Tuley likes #3 Brooklyn Strong (7-2 morning line) in the Grade 2 Remsen Stakes. “This price isn’t as high as I usually like to bet, but this is where I saw it’s all about value as this is just a five-horse race so this is a fair price. Brooklyn Strong should be able to sit off the pace like he likes and then Joel Rosario is one of the best come-from-behind jockeys out there. With #1 Pickin’ Time (5-2), #2 Known Agenda (8-5) and #5 Ten for Ten (2-1) vying for favoritism, we’re hoping that ensures we get a fair price of 3-1 or better. Wager: Win.”

 

Gulfstream Park Race No. 5 (2:05 p.m. ET/11:05 a.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #9 Thinkin Cowtown (8-1 morning line). “This 7-year-old pro will put her tactical style on display against a dozen speedsters in five-furlong Claiming Crown Distaff Starter Stakes for sharp local conditioner Georgina Baxter (31% winners). Mare has home turf advantage, loves south Florida lawn (16-5-1-3), and attracts talented Tyler Gaffalione to get job done in the stretch. I’m Thinkin Cowtown victory. Wager: Win & Place.”

 

Aqueduct Race No. 6 (2:07 p.m. ET/11:07 a.m. PT)

Dave Tuley likes #2 Portal Creek (8-1 morning line) in the Grade 3 Go for Wand Stakes. “Former sprinter Portal Creek should be the speed of the speed breaking from the inside #2 post and noted speed jock Kendrick Carmouche should be able to set a decent pace with this 4-year-old filly but have enough to go wire-to-wire like she did last time out when stretching out to a mile for the first time. Wager: Win & Place.”

 

Gulfstream Park Race Nos. 8-11 (3:38 p.m. ET/12:38 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes the following $0.50 Pick 4 (cost $60)

Race 8: 1,5,7,10,12

Race 9: 5,11

Race 10: 1,9,11

Race 11: 1,3,7,8

 

Duane Colucci likes #1 Avant Garde (15-1 morning line) in the first leg, Race 8, the Claiming Crown Rapid Transit Stakes. “This gelding loves Gulfstream, winning 4-of-5 including 4 in a row. Should stalk the pace and get a nice trip. Regular rider Reyes knows the course and he and trainer Lander are currently hitting 86% win and a $8.31 ROI. Bet 1 to Win and key 1 over 2,5 & 10 in exactas and trifectas and reverse.”



Aqueduct Race No. 10 (4:13 p.m. ET/1:13 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #6 King Guillermo (9-2 morning line) in the Grade 1 Cigar Mile Handicap. “Lone 3-year-old takes on eight elders, including five millionaires, in classic test of speed and endurance. Son of super-sire Uncle Mo gets huge rider upgrade as Jose Ortiz stays home to ride lightly raced sophomore for trainer Juan Avila. Blistering four-furlong work (46 4/5) two weeks ago indicates he’s fit and fast. Crown the King. Wager: Win”

 

Duane Colucci likes #1 Performer (7-5 morning line). “Hate to give out favorites, but this Shug McGaughey monster comes into this Grade 1 in great shape and will relish the off track today. Several scratches, so focus on exactas and trifectas. Key 1 over 3,5 & 8 and reverse.”

 

Los Alamitos No. 7 (6:28 p.m. ET/3:28 p.m. PT)

John Lauro likes #8 Single Me Out (10-1 morning line). “Single Me Out returns in seven days, which is often a good sign that a horse is fit and ready to run again, for trainer Gary Stute and jockey Geovanni Franco. He was totally blocked and had no room in the stretch. Strong Win bet.”

 

back to news

QuickPicks_300x250_080920_NFLkickoff

Headlines

View All

Google Play
App Store
Close