Live On Air

Streaming now: Prime Time Action

play Watch Live radio Listen Live

Tuley's Thoroughbred Takes for races on Saturday, Dec. 12

By Dave Tuley  (VSiN.com senior reporter) 

December 12, 2020 03:57 AM
Tuley_Thoroughbred_Takes

(Note: this file has been updated after Saturday’s early scratches, including picks added by Duane Colucci on Saturday morning after the other plays were posted overnight.)

 

The Breeders’ Cup was over a month ago, but our crew continues to look at value at racetracks from coast to coast as there’s still good racing going on as we wind up 2020.

 

On Saturday, I have plays in two races in Florida, with one at Tampa Bay Downs and another at Gulfstream Park; Duane Colucci and Ed Sehon have one play apiece at Gulfstream and Aqueduct (plus they both tackle the Late Pick 4 at Gulfstream); and John Lauro has a play apiece at Gulfstream and Turfway Park.

 

Good luck today (and every day!).

 

SATURDAY

Gulfstream Park Race No. 6 (2:38 p.m. ET/11:38 a.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #1 Sound Machine (5-1 morning line) in the Grade 3 Sugar Swirl Stakes. “The 3-year-old daughter of Into Mischief has yet to reach her full potential while sprinting for top Florida conditioner Saffie Joseph Jr. In an effort to generate a quick gate break from the inside post, trainer adds blinkers and top jock Jose Ortiz, following a bullet work on Sunday. Wiring this field would be the Sound of music to my ears -- and others who follow her lead. Wager: Bet the 1 to Win & box the 1 in exactas with 3,5&6.”

 

Aqueduct Race No. 7 (3:17 p.m. ET/12:17 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes #6 Blindwillie McTell (8-1 morning line). “Linda Rice gelding loves Aqueduct, is coming into this race healthier than his recent form and also adds blinkers. Rice and jockey Jose Lezcano combine for a 27% win rate at Aqueduct. Bet Win and key 6 over 8,9&10 in exactas, trifectas and reverse.”

 

Tampa Bay Race No. 7 (3:21 p.m. ET/12:21 p.m. PT)

Dave Tuley likes #7 The Goddess Lyssa (10-1 morning line) in the $100,000 Ocala Florida Sire Stakes. “This 3-year-old filly should be the speed of the speed and can steal this despite the step up in class. She’s 3-for-4 despite losing her last start as a favorite and trainer Gerald Bennett and jockey Roberto Alvarado have hit at a 31% clip the past two months while Bennett is also 22% in finding a winning spot for beaten favorites. Wager: Win & Place.”

 

Gulfstream Races Nos. 8-11 (3:38 p.m. ET/12:38 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes the following $0.50 Pick 4 (cost $60)

Race 8: 4,5

Race 9: 1,2,6,7

Race 10: 1,6,8,9,10

Race 11: 1,6,11

 

Duane Colucci likes this $0.50 Pick 4 ticket (cost $48)

Race 8: 1,2,3,4

Race 9: 1,2,7

Race 10: 1,2,9,10

Race 11: 1,11

 

Dave Tuley likes #8 Great Sister Diane (15-1 morning line) in the $75,000 My Charmer Stakes. “I hate to bust up Mr. Ed’s and DC’s Pick 4s before they get started, so consider this a pitch to include Great Sister Diane in building your own tickets. This 4-year-old filly is stepping up in class out of optional claimers, but she has back class to compete with these. She should be flying late like she showed in her last win and hopefully is good enough to circle this field. Wager: Win & Place.”

 

Aqueduct Race No. 8 (3:45 p.m. ET/12:45 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #5 Danny California (8-1 morning line) in the $100,000 Alex Robb Stakes. “Turning back to 1 1/8 miles following huge marathon effort on Breeders’ Cup card a month ago, he’s rested and ready for big effort vs. lesser in this stakes restricted to New York breds. Conditioned by up-and-coming trainer Orlando Noda, young rider Luis Rodriquez Castro is reunited with 5-year-old gelding. Expected speedy pace has me California dreamin’ in stretch. Wager: Win & Place.”

 

Gulfstream Race No. 10 (4:40 p.m. ET/1:40 p.m. PT)

John Lauro likes #9 Factor This (5-2 morning line) and #10 Halladay (7-2 morning line) in the Grade 2 Ft. Lauderdale Stakes. “Factor This and Halladay get class relief. Strong 9-10 exacta box.”

 

Duane Colucci also likes #10 Halladay (7-2 morning line). “Todd Pletcher speedball ran very well in Breeders’ Cup Mile, considering he had missed his prep race, controlling the pace until the final eighth of a mile. This horse is perfect for Gulfstream and the added distance should not be a problem. Bet Win and key 10 over 1,2&9 in exactas, trifectas and reverse.”

 

Turfway Race No. 7 (9:12 p.m. ET/6:12 p.m. PT)

John Lauro likes #10 No Mo Temper (9-2 morning line). “No Mo Temper just won a non-winners of 1 on the turf at Woodbine. She is sharp and has the best numbers in the race. Strong Win bet.”

 

back to news

FREE Email Sign-Up

Get the latest sports betting news & VSiN programming updates with this free daily email from VSiN, The Sports Betting Network.

Headlines

View All

custom-banner-3
VSiN Logo Plus

Free Trial

Make a risk-free bet on VSiN!

VSiN+ FREE TRIAL

  • Afternoon subscriber-only email with highlights and best bets from the day's programs
  • Point Spread Weekly, VSiN's digital magazine on sports betting
  • 24-7 Live video stream of VSiN programs plus replays
  • Any special sport-specified betting guides we do
  • All exclusive subscriber-only stories and data on VSiN.com
Sign Up Now
Google Play
App Store
Close