Tuley's Thoroughbred Takes for races on Saturday, Aug. 21

By Dave Tuley  (VSiN.com senior reporter) 

August 21, 2021 07:13 AM

Our friend, Ed Sehon, has broken out on his own with “Mr. Ed’s Saratoga on (about) $100 a Day” feature at vsin.com/horses during the 40-day meet, but Team Tuley continues to look for value at tracks from coast to coast (and this week includes Saratoga and Del Mar).

Last Saturday, Duane Colucci led our team again as he gave out I’ll Stand Taller ($8.40) in Del Mar’s 9th race and also gave out the exacta ($40.40 for a $1 exacta) and trifecta ($77.70 got a $1 tri), plus his four horses also made up the superfecta.

728x90-1000offer

 

This Saturday, Colucci has three spot plays (one at Saratoga and two at Del Mar), plus Pick 4s at each track, while John Lauro has a different play from Colucci in the Grade 1 Alabama and I add three plays of my own, including one each at Saratoga, Woodbine and Del Mar. We’re also reposting Sehon’s Late Pick 4 at Saratoga, but for the rest of his coverage of the Saratoga card, check out “Mr. Ed’s Saratoga on (about) $100 a Day” at vsin.com/horses and HERE.

Good luck today (and every day!).

SATURDAY

Saratoga Races Nos. 8-11 (5:03 p.m. ET/2:03 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes the following $0.50 Pick 4 (cost $45)

Race 8: 1,2,3,4,7

Race 9: 2,6

Race 10: 1,5,7

Race 11: 1,4,6

Ed Sehon likes the following $0.50 Pick 4 (cost $36)

Race 8: 2,3,4,6

Race 9: 2,4,6

Race 10: 6,7

Race 11: 1,4,9

Saratoga Race No. 9 (5:39 p.m. ET/2:39 p.m. PT)

Dave Tuley likes #5 Lovestruck (6-1 morning line) in the Grade 2 Lake Placid. “With all the rain in upstate New York lately, this might as well be run in Lake Placid! This 3-year-old filly will probably battle #6 Spanish Loveaffair for the early lead. If you throw out her last race, I see her going the distance. She broke her maiden at Saratoga last summer and this looks like a great spot to get her first graded stakes win. Wager: Win (& Place only if her odds drift above the morning line).”

Woodbine Race No. 10 (5:53 p.m. ET/2:53 p.m. PT)

Dave Tuley likes #4 Fiduciary (12-1 morning line) in the Grade 3 Seaway Stakes. “This 4-year-old filly has been running well since coming over from France. She should be able to sit off the pace and have a shot at the upset turning for home. Trainer Josie Carroll has only used jockey Kazushi Kimura five times in last two months, but they’ve won twice together (40%). It looks like I can trust Fiduciary with my investment. Wager: Win & Place.”

Saratoga Race No. 10 (6:13 p.m. ET/3:13 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes #1 Crazy Beautiful (6-1 morning line) in the Grade 1 Alabama Stakes. “Well-traveled filly has won 3 of last 4, all graded stakes. She has also won at multiple tracks and has been working steadily at Saratoga for a month. Trainer Kenneth McPeek and jockey Jose Ortiz show a $2.36 ROI this year and McPeek is hitting at 21% in graded stakes with a $2.54 ROI. Bet 1 to Win and key 1 over 5,6 & 7 in exactas, trifectas and reverse.”

John Lauro likes #6 Malathaat (1-1 morning line). “Malathaat turns the tables on #4 Maracuja (7-2). Strong Win bet on 6 and straight 6-4 exacta.”

Del Mar Race No. 7 (8:04 p.m. ET/5:04 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes #3 Smooth Like Straight (9-5 morning line) in the Grade 2, Del Mar Mile Stakes. “I rarely give out favorites, but this 4-year-old colt shortens back to a mile where he is 4-for-7 with 2 places, 2-for-4 at Del Mar with 2 seconds and solid workouts. He’s the best miler on the West Coast. Bet 3 to Win and key 3 over 1,2 & 6 in exactas and trifectas.”

Del Mar Races Nos. 8-11 (8:33 p.m. ET/5:33 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes the following $0.50 Pick 4 (cost $67.50)

Race 8: 1,2,7,8,9

Race 9: 3,4,7

Race 10: 1,3,5

Race 11: 1,4,5

Del Mar Race No. 9 (9:03 p.m. ET/6:03 p.m. PT)

Dave Tuley likes #2 Javanica (10-1 morning line) in the Grade 1 Del Mar Oaks. “This 3-year-old filly has the stalking style that should suit this turf route, but this race is so void of early speed that she might inherit the lead (though we don’t know what we’re going to get from the PPs of foreign invader #9 Soaring Sky). Javanica did go wire-to-wire in her last start. Wager: Win & Place.”

Del Mar Race No. 10 (9:33 p.m. ET/6:33 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes #3 Dr. Post (4-1 morning line) in the Grade 1 Pacific Classic. “Crushing victory in the Monmouth Cup. Trainer Todd Pletcher ships this colt after some superb workouts at Saratoga. Jockey Joel Rosario and Pletcher have a $2.55 ROI this year. Dr. Post should be around 3-1 or 5-2.”

Del Mar Race No. 11 (10:03 p.m. ET/7:03 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes #1 Media Blitz (30-1 morning line) in the $300,000 Del Mar Handicap. “This long shot cruised to victory here on July 31 at a price and now trainer Simon Callaghan steps him right up. Umberto Rispoli takes over and will have good position. This colt loves distance and has a chance at a price. Callaghan and Rispoli are hitting at 24% this year, so look out! Bet 1 to Win and key 1 over 4,5 & 8 in exactas, trifectas and reverse.”

Note: also check out our A.I. Pick of the Week at vsin.com/horses as we’ve gone 10-for-22 since taking over the feature for a nice ROI of $2.17 for every $2 wagered to Win. There are also more plays from 1ST/BET handicappers on that page at vsin.com/horses.

 
back to news

FREE Email Sign-Up

Get the latest sports betting news & VSiN programming updates with this free daily email from VSiN, The Sports Betting Network.

Headlines

View All

custom-banner-3
VSiN Logo Plus

Free Trial

Make a risk-free bet on VSiN!

VSiN+ FREE TRIAL

  • Afternoon subscriber-only email with highlights and best bets from the day's programs
  • Point Spread Weekly, VSiN's digital magazine on sports betting
  • 24-7 Live video stream of VSiN programs plus replays
  • Any special sport-specified betting guides we do
  • All exclusive subscriber-only stories and data on VSiN.com
Sign Up Now
Google Play
App Store
Close