Live On Air

Streaming Now: Follow The Money

play Watch Live radio Listen Live

Tuley's Thoroughbred Takes for races on Saturday, April 3

By Dave Tuley  (VSiN.com senior reporter) 

April 3, 2021 07:45 AM

(Note: file updated after Saturday’s early scratches with additional plays.)

Team Tuley continues to look for value from coast to coast, and this Saturday we’re mostly focusing on the Blue Grass Card at Keeneland, but also on the Wood Memorial card at Aqueduct and Santa Anita Derby card at Santa Anita.

Last Saturday, Duane Colucci tabbed Known Agenda as the 5-1 winner of the Florida Derby, John Lauro had an easy winner with Annex (which we also used as our fourth straight winner -- and fifth of seven overall -- with the A.I. Pick of the Week) while Ed Sehon had a winning ticket for his fourth straight appearance here.

Today, Sehon play three spots plays early this morning plus the Late Pick 4 at Keeneland, while Lauro and yours truly added our best bets. After early scratches, Colucci added two spot plays plus Pick 4s at both Aqueduct and Keeneland.

Good luck today (and every day).

SATURDAY

Keeneland Race No. 3 (2:12 p.m. ET/11:12 a.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #9 Recidivist (12-1 morning line). “What a difference a year makes. This time last spring, jockey Chris Landeros was mired in a 100 winless streak. This year, he’s been visiting the winner’s circle 22% every time he mounts up. After relinquishing the lead near the finish line in his maiden start at Turfway Park, this $350,000, 3-year-old son of Into Mischief with Landeros aboard looks to improve off two solid works over the track. Trainer Rodolphe Brissett spots limited stock well. Wager: Win & Place. Also box him in exactas with 2,5,10.”

Keeneland Race No. 5 (3:18 p.m. ET/12:18 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #2 One Fast Cat (4-1 morning line). “Skillful conditioner Wesley Ward loves to bring his fast, young sprinters to the bluegrass in the spring -- and this one cat fits the bill. Winner of his initial outing under journeyman Midwest jockey D.L. Parker at Turfway Park in February, Ward keeps the combination together vs. a competitive group of one-time victors for this seven-furlong contest. Wager: Win & Place.”

Aqueduct Races Nos. 8-11 (4:31 p.m. ET/1:31 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes the following $0.50 Pick 4 (cost $54)

Race 8: 1,4,5

Race 9: 5,6,8

Race 10: 1,2,4,8

Race 11: 7,8,11

Aqueduct Race No. 8 (4:31 p.m. ET/1:31 p.m. PT)

Dave Tuley likes #2 Grumps Little Tots (20-1 morning line) in the Grade 3 Excelsior Stakes. “This 5-year-old gelding is stepping up into stakes company but has some back class and is incredibly consistent in being in contention as he has 16 career starts with four wins, five seconds and four thirds. Two of those clunkers came last fall, but he bounced back nicely with victory in 2021 debut. There’s no obvious speed horse in here, but Grumps Little Tots could inherit the lead or sit just off the pace and be a big threat at a nice price. Wager: Win & Place.”

Santa Anita Race No. 4 (4:39 p.m. ET/1:39 p.m. PT)

John Lauro likes #5 Bobby Bo (8-5 morning line). “Named after baseball star Bobby Bonilla, this 3-year-old colt is working extremely well. First-time starter could be a Travers Stakes horse in August for the silver fox, Bob Baffert, and Company.”

Keeneland Races Nos. 8-11 (4:57 p.m. ET/1:57 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes the following $0.50 Pick 4 (cost $72)

Race 8: 2,5,7,13

Race 9: ALL

Race 10: 3,4,5

Race 11: 3,4

Duane Colucci likes the following $0.50 Pick 4 (cost $63)

Race 8: 2,4,5,7,11,12,13

Race 9: 3,5,6

Race 10: 4,5

Race 11: 3,4,5

Keeneland Races No. 9 and 11 (5:30 p.m. ET/2:30 p.m. PT)

John Lauro likes #5 Malathaat (8-5 morning line) in Race 9, the Grade 1 Ashland Stakes, and #4 Essential Quality (1-2) in the Race 11, the Grade 2 Toyota Blue Grass Stakes. “These are the two leaders in the 3-year-old division.” If you don’t like the short price, you can parlay them.

Aqueduct Race No. 10 (5:58 p.m. ET/2:58 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #8 Weyburn (9-2 morning line) in the Grade 2 Wood Memorial. “It’s been four weeks since Team Tuley tabbed this precocious guy to shake, rattle and roll down the road to the Kentucky Derby with his by-a-nose, 46-1 longshot score in the Gotham Stakes. The road gets rougher as Jimmy Jerkens sends his sharp sophomore around two turns for the first time in the Wood Memorial. The confident owners ponied up $6,000 to secure their place in the Triple Crown series while up-and-comer Trevor McCarthy returns to ride. Today’s headline: WEYBURN WINS WOOD!”

Duane Colucci likes #2 Crowded Trade (4-1). “This Chad Brown colt ran an excellent race in the Gotham, just failing versus the pace-carrying Weyburn. He has excellent workouts since and an extra eighth of a mile. Winter meet leading rider Eric Cancel is in the saddle and he and Brown hit at 33% when teaming up. Bet 2 to Win and key 2 over 1,4, & 8 in exactas and trifectas and reverse.”

Keeneland Race No. 10 (6:02 p.m. ET/3:02 p.m. PT)

Dave Tuley likes #3 Mundaye Call (8-1 morning line) in the Grade 1 Madison Stakes. “This 4-year-old filly looks like the lone speed and could steal this seven-furlong stakes. She certainly has the right to improve in her 4-year-old debut after a layoff for top trainer Brad Cox, who is hitting 31% the past two months when using jockey Florent Geroux. Wager: Win (adding Place if she drifts up to 10-1 or higher).”

Santa Anita Race No. 8 (7:15 p.m. ET/4:15 p.m. PT)

Dave Tuley likes #9 The Great One (8-1 morning line) in the Grade 1 Santa Anita Derby. “All eyes are on Bob Baffert’s Medina Spirit, but this Doug O’Neill trainee could pull the upset. He lost the Los Al Futurity last December as a maiden by just a nose and then followed that up with a 14-length maiden victory before finishing up the track in the Grade 2 San Felipe. However, he broke poorly there and never threatened. A good break here puts him right in contention. Wager: Win.”

Duane Colucci likes #10 Defunded (8-1 morning line). “This Bob Baffert monster freaked after a long rest crushing maiden foes in early March. Excellent workouts for this and money Mike Smith in the saddle. There’s no Life Is Good in this Grade 1, but Bob will still get the money! Bet 10 to Win and key 10 over 2,3 & 7 in exactas and trifectas and reverse.”

 
 
back to news

FREE Email Sign-Up

Get the latest sports betting news & VSiN programming updates with this free daily email from VSiN, The Sports Betting Network.

Headlines

View All

custom-banner-3
VSiN Logo Plus

Free Trial

Make a risk-free bet on VSiN!

VSiN+ FREE TRIAL

  • Afternoon subscriber-only email with highlights and best bets from the day's programs
  • Point Spread Weekly, VSiN's digital magazine on sports betting
  • 24-7 Live video stream of VSiN programs plus replays
  • Any special sport-specified betting guides we do
  • All exclusive subscriber-only stories and data on VSiN.com
Sign Up Now
Google Play
App Store
Close