Tuley's Thoroughbred Takes for races on Saturday (12/18)

By Dave Tuley  (VSiN.com senior reporter) 

December 18, 2021 05:07 AM
Gulfstream_Park

Football is still the focus of our Saturdays, especially with the college bowl season kicking into gear, but there’s always time to tune into the horse races and look for value at tracks from coast to coast.

This Saturday, my friend Ed Sehon (aka “Mr. Ed” from his “Mr. Ed’s Saratoga on (about) $100 a Day” columns over the summer) has two spot plays at Gulfstream and a Late Pick 4, Rampart race and sports book manager Duane Colucci has a play at Gulfstream and Aqueduct, plus a Pick 4 at each track, John Lauro has a play at Gulfstream and I have a price play at both East coast tracks. 

Good luck today (and every day)!

SATURDAY

Gulfstream Race No. 5 (1:54 p.m. ET/10:54 a.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #10 Sweet Melania (6-1 morning line). “Grade 3 Suwannee River Stakes attracts an attractive, full field of 12 fillies and mares going a mile on the turf. Expensive daughter of American Pharoah, trained and ridden by Hall of Fame combo of Todd Pletcher and Johnny Velazquez, poised to be first lady under wire. Wager: Win and Place on the 10 – and 10-4 Daily Double.”

Aqueduct Race No. 5 (2:11 p.m. ET/11:11 a.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes #16 Asap Restoration (15-1 morning line). “John Toscano trainee adds blinkers after a learning experience in Nov. 2 sharp workouts and draws outside post. He worked faster than Toscano’s other entrant two days before that one had a sharp work. Bet 16 to Win and key 16 over 3,7, and 11 in exactas, trifectas and reverse.”

Aqueduct Races Nos. 6-9 (2:39 p.m. ET/11:39 a.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes the following $.50 Pick 4 (cost $54)

Race 6: 1,2,3,6

Race 7: 1,2,9

Race 8: 6,7,9

Race 9: 1,2,4

Gulfstream Races Nos. 8-11 (3:28 p.m. ET/12:28 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes the following $.50 Pick 4 (cost $72)

Race 8: 3,5,7,8

Race 9: 1,5,6

Race 10: 7,8,11,12

Race 11: 1,5,9

Duane Colucci likes the following $.50 Pick 4 (cost $67.50)

Race 8: 1,2,3,5,8

Race 9: 1,2,6

Race 10: 2,8,11

Race 11: 3,6,9

Gulfstream Race No. 8 (3:28 p.m. ET/12:28 p.m. PT)

Dave Tuley likes #6 Compensate (20-1 morning line) in the Grade 3 Sugar Swirl Stakes. “There’s a ton of speed in this six-furlong stakes, so we’re looking for Compensate to be able to sit off the pace and have first run over the other closers. Wager: Win and Place.”

Aqueduct Race No. 8 (3:37 p.m. ET/12:37 p.m. PT)

Dave Tuley likes #9 Bank On Anna (8-1 morning line) in the $500,000 New York Stallion Series Stakes. “Bank On Anna could be the speed of the speed, especially if she improves off her runner-up performance on a muddy track. We like the sharp works since and we get Jose Lezcano, who is hitting at 14 percent with front-running types, in the irons. Wager: Win and Place.”

Gulfstream Race No. 10 (4:32 p.m. ET/1:32 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #12 Space Traveller (3-1 morning line) in Grade 2 Ft. Lauderdale Stakes. “Trained by Brendan Walsh and ridden by solid Tyler Gaffalione, well-travelled choice was battling much tougher before getting brief vacation. He returns here after eye-popping five-furlong :58 turf work. Closer will benefit from stretching out to 1 1/8 miles. Wager: Win on 12; box 12 in Exactas with 7,8, and 11.”

John Lauro also likes #12 Space Traveller (3-1 morning line). “Drop from two Grade 1 efforts into this Grade 2. Hold class edge. Strong Win bet.”

Duane Colucci likes #11 Atone (12-1 morning line). “Sharp last effort at Aqueduct at a mile in 1:32 2/5. Overall, his last three starts have been great. Once again, trainer Michael Maker goes to house rider Emisael Jaramillo. They have a $3.38 ROI when teaming up. Bet 11 to Win and key 11 over 2,8 and 9 in exactas, trifectas and reverse.”

Note: also check out our A.I. Pick of the Week at vsin.com/horses as we’ve gone 18-for-37 since taking over the feature. There are also more plays from 1ST/BET handicappers on that page at vsin.com/horses.

 
back to news


spacer_5

Ask VSiN Your Sports Betting Questions

Spell Check

Headlines

View All

Google Play
App Store
Close