Tuley's Thoroughbred Takes for races on Saturday (12/11)

By Dave Tuley  (VSiN.com senior reporter) 

December 11, 2021 04:57 AM
Gulfstream_Park

Football is the focus of our Saturdays at this time of year – and we love the Army-Navy game – but there’s always time to tune into the horse races and look for value at tracks from coast to coast.

Last Saturday, Ed Sehon scored with AmericanRevolution ($7.50) in the Cigar Mile Handicap at Aqueduct and I had wire-to-wire winner Mid Day Image ($8.20) in the Claiming Crown Emerald Starter Stakes at Gulfstream in addition to having Lady Rocket ($4.40) as the ”A.I. Pick of the Week” in the Go For Wand Handicap at Aqueduct.

This Saturday, we have a full house as Sehon – from his “Mr. Ed’s Saratoga on (about) $100 a Day” column from over the summer – has moved his tack from New York to the warmer climes of South Florida for the winter while Rampart race and sports book manager Duane Colucci has a spot play at Aqueduct along with Pick 4 tickets at both Aqueduct and Gulfstream, then I have a play each at Gulfstream and Aqueduct while John Lauro closes the day for us at Los Alamitos out in California.

Good luck today (and every day)!

SATURDAY

Gulfstream Races Nos. 1-2 (noon p.m. ET/9 a.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes the following $5 Daily Double (cost $20)

Race 1: 1,4

Race 2: 3,7

Gulfstream Race No. 5 (1:55 p.m. ET/10:55 a.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #6 Quiet Strength (7-2 morning line). “Jockey change to top rider Edgar Zayas combined with double class drop point to victory for 3-year-old filly from hot Eddie Plesa barn. Look for daughter of Wicked Strong to power her way to win at wire. Wager: Win.”

Aqueduct Races Nos. 6-9 (2:39 p.m. ET/11:39 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes the following $.50 Pick 4 (cost $80)

Race 6: 1,2,4,6,10

Race 7: 1,7,9,10

Race 8: 2,3,5,6

Race 9: 3,7

Gulfstream Race No. 7 (2:58 p.m. ET/11:58 a.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #6 Street Facts (12-1 morning line). “Vast improvement expected from freshman daughter of Street Sense, making her second career start for Kelly Breen stable, after closing debut over muddy Delaware Park surface. Rider switch to Rafael Hernandez puts longshot in maiden mix. Wager: Win, Place and Show.”

Aqueduct Race No. 7 (3:09 p.m. ET/12:09 PT)

Duane Colucci likes #10 Air Attack (10-1 morning line) “John Toscano Jr. trainee drops to $32,000 claimer after competing at a way higher level, including a stakes win at this level on this course in March. This horse is 2-for-7 at Aqueduct, winning half of his career earnings here. Manny Franco takes the mount and is 1-for-1 when riding this gelding. Bet 10 to Win and key 10 over 1,7,9 in exactas, trifectas and reverse.”

Gulfstream Races Nos. 8-11 (3:28 p.m. ET/12:28 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes the following $.50 Pick 4 (cost $90)

Race 8: 1,2,4,7,8,9

Race 9: 2,3,4,6,9

Race 10: 2,4,5

Race 11: 5,7

Duane Colucci likes the following $.50 Pick 4 (cost $56)

Race 8: 1,2,4,5,7,8,9

Race 9: 1,3,6,10

Race 10: 4,6

Race 11: 5,7

Gulfstream Race No. 8 (3:28 p.m. ET/12:28 p.m. PT)

Dave Tuley likes #4 Wild America (10-1 morning line). “This 3-year-old filly should be the speed of the speed and can steal this 6-furlong optional claimer. I also like that both Sehon and Colucci use this long shot while spreading the first leg of the Pick 4.”

Aqueduct Race No. 8 (3:37 p.m. ET/12:37 PT)

Dave Tuley likes #6 Sadie Lady (6-1 morning line) “Again, we have the speed horse in this minor stakes race, the $100,000 Garland of Roses Stakes. Speed jockey Kendrick Carmouche is given the mount by trainer Rob Altras, who is 19 percent in non-graded stakes and 22 percent with beaten favorites, so he knows how to place his horses. Wager: Win and Place.”

Los Alamitos Race No. 9 (6:58 p.m. ET/3:58 p.m. PT)

John Lauro likes #3 Messier (1-2 morning line). “Messier adds blinkers in the Los Al Futurity. Five-horse field could be a paid workout. Strong Win bet. Single on all pick 3s, pick 4s, pick 5 and pick 6.”

 
back to news


spacer_5

Ask VSiN Your Sports Betting Questions

Spell Check

Headlines

View All

Google Play
App Store
Close