Live On Air

Streaming Now: Rush Hour

play Watch Live radio Listen Live

Tuley's Thoroughbred Takes for races of Saturday, Sept. 4

By Dave Tuley  (VSiN.com senior reporter) 

Team Tuley continues to look for value at tracks from coast to coast (and this week includes Saratoga and Del Mar).

I had a great time last weekend playing in the National Horseplayers Championship at Bally’s here in Las Vegas. Out of the 563 entries (of which 56 advanced to the semifinals after the races on Friday and Saturday), I got as high as 45 th on Friday but couldn’t find the one or two more winners needed to advance. Overall, I was happy with my play as I went for the gusto but just came up empty.

So, I’m back this Saturday with two price plays at Del Mar. Rampart race & sports book manager Duane Colucci has two spot plays at Saratoga, plus the Late Pick 4 at Del Mar. John Lauro has a spot play on Saturday, plus a bonus play on Sunday at Del Mar. Ed Sehon, who is wrapping up his “Mr. Ed’s Saratoga on (about) $100 a Day” gig at vsin.com/horses, kicks us off with two price plays at Saratoga (note: for the rest of his coverage of Saturday’s action at the Spa, check out his column HERE. https://www.vsin.com/mr-eds-saratoga-on-about-100-a-day-9-4/

Good luck today (and every day!).

SATURDAY

Saratoga Race No. 5 (2:47 p.m. ET/11:47 a.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #5 Amendment Nineteen (4-1 morning line) in the Grade 2 Prioress Stakes. “Trainer upgrade from subpar Linda Rice to hot Brad Cox (31% wins) and cutback to 6 furlongs are the keys to victory. Jose Ortiz stays. Mr. Ed exercises his right to vote for and Wager: Win & Place.”

 

Saratoga Race No. 8 (4:27 p.m. ET/1:27 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon ikes #2 Like the King (6-1 morning line) in the Grade 3 Saranac Stakes. “Wesley Ward ships Kentucky Derby starter Like the King up north for Saranac following ultra-sharp works at Keeneland. Johnny Velasquez fit for this king. Mr. Ed crowns colt. Wager: Win & Place.”

 

Saratoga Race No. 10 (5:37 p.m. ET/2:37 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes #9 Crowded Trade (5-1 morning line). “Lost the Gotham by an inch in early March, then faced the top 3-year-olds in both the Wood and the Preakness. He gets significant class relief after a good comeback in the tough Amsterdam. Bet 9 to Win and key 9 over 6,8 & 10 in exactas, trifectas and reverse.”

Saratoga Race No. 11 (6:11 p.m. ET/3:11 p.m. PT)

John Lauro likes #3 War Like Goddess (4-5 morning line) in the Grade 1 Flower Bowl Stakes. “War Like Goddess is a rising star in the female turf division. Best bet of the weekend.”

Saratoga Race No. 12 (6:46 p.m. ET/3:46 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes #5 Night Ops (5-1 morning line) in the Grade 1 Jockey Club Gold Cup Stakes. “Love his last two races against top competition, including Art Collector, who came back to win the CT Classic. Should be close early. Trainer Brad Cox and jockey Manny Franco are hitting at 33# when teaming up this year. Should get a nice price. Bet 5 to Win and key 5 over 2 & 4 in exactas, trifectas and reverse.”

Del Mar Race No. 6 (7:07 p.m. ET/4:07 p.m. PT)

Dave Tuley likes #4 Mr. T’s Thirsty (12-1 morning line) in the $100,000 I’m Smokin Stakes. “There’s plenty of early speed in this ungraded turf sprint stakes, but Mr. T’s Thirsty is the fastest of 'em all and should be controlling the pace. Wager: Win & Place.”

Del Mar Races Nos. 8-11 (8:07 p.m. ET/5:07 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes the following $0.50 Pick 4 (cost $80)

Race 8: 4,5,6,7

Race 9: 1,3,6,9

Race 10: 1,3,4,9,10

Race 11: 4,14

Del Mar Race No. 9 (8:37 p.m. ET/5:37 p.m. PT)

Dave Tuley likes #6 Bodhicitta (6-1 morning line) in the Grade 2 John C. Mabee Stakes. “This should set up for a closer, and we’re most confident in this Richard Baltas trainee with Kent Desormeaux in the irons. Bet the 6 to Win, but In case the whole race falls apart and the closers circle the field, let’s box the 4,5 & 6 in exactas and try to hit a monster payoff!”

SUNDAY

Del Mar Race No. 8 (8:07 p.m. ET/5:07 p.m. PT)

John Lauro likes #8 Flightline (4-5 morning line). “Winner by daylight makes a return. He wins if his foot is healed. Could be a prep for Santa Anita Sprint Championship.”

Note: also check out our A.I. Pick of the Week at vsin.com/horses as we’ve gone 12-for-24 since taking over the feature for a nice ROI of $2.23 for every $2 wagered to Win. There are also more plays from 1ST/BET handicappers on that page at vsin.com/horses.

 

728x90-1000offer

back to news

FREE Email Sign-Up

Get the latest sports betting news & VSiN programming updates with this free daily email from VSiN, The Sports Betting Network.

Headlines

View All

custom-banner-3
VSiN Logo Plus

Free Trial

Make a risk-free bet on VSiN!

VSiN+ FREE TRIAL

  • Afternoon subscriber-only email with highlights and best bets from the day's programs
  • Point Spread Weekly, VSiN's digital magazine on sports betting
  • 24-7 Live video stream of VSiN programs plus replays
  • Any special sport-specified betting guides we do
  • All exclusive subscriber-only stories and data on VSiN.com
Sign Up Now
custom-banner-3
 

LISTEN LIVE!

It's totally free

(Learn more about the player)

OTHER WAYS TO LISTEN

  • On your phone
  • In your home
  • In your car
DETAILS
Google Play
App Store
Close