Live On Air

Streaming Now: The Lookahead

play Watch Live radio Listen Live

Tuley's Thoroughbred Takes for races of Saturday, Sept. 25

By Dave Tuley  (VSiN.com senior reporter) 

September 25, 2021 04:59 AM
Keepmeinmind

Football season is here, but there’s still time each day to sneak in some horse racing wagers, so Team Tuley continues to look for value at tracks from coast to coast.

This Saturday, our team has picks from Parx Racing in Pennsylvania and Belmont Park in New York. My friends Ed Sehon has three spot plays plus a Pick 4 at Parx, Rampart race & sportsbook manager Duane Colucci has two plays plus a Pick 4 at Belmont and John Lauro has an exacta box at Parx while I add two Parx spot plays of my own.

Programming note: For my sports picks this weekend, check out my new column titled “Tuley’s Takes Today,” which is free and can be found daily at VSiN.com/news/dave-tuley-columns.

Good luck today (and every day!).

SATURDAY

Parx Race No. 5 (1:54 p.m. ET/10:54 a.m. PT)

Mr. Ed likes #6 Kenner (6-1 morning line). “Superior trainer Jamie Ness, scoring at 34 percent clip, puts blinkers on freshmen NY-bred son of Laoban, stretches him out to 7 furlongs and retains top East Coast rider Ruben Silvera after losing duel as choice in last. Wager: Win and Place on the 6.”

 

Parx Race No. 8 (3:20 p.m. ET/12:20 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes three in Grade 3 Greenwood Cup marathon. “#3 Moretti (2-1 morning line) is appealing favorite for Todd Pletcher-Luis Saez combo. Both #5 Shooger Ray Too (8-1) with Kendrick Carmouche and #7 Sheer Flattery (6-1) with Ruben Silvera are capable competitors. Wager: Exacta box of 3,5 and 7.”

 

Dave Tuley likes #7 Sheer Flattery (6-1). “This hard-knocking 7-year-old should be able to sit just off the pace in this 1.5-mile marathon and be running best down the stretch. Bet 7 to Win and I’ll also use Mr. Ed’s 3 and 5 in exacta and trifecta boxes as well.”

 

Parx Race No. 9 (3:51 p.m. ET/12:51 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes #1 Beer Can Man (8-1 morning line) in the Grade 3 Turf Monster Stakes. “Matt Glatt ships this speedster off of a monster win at Del Mar. The ultra-solid Flavien Prat takes the mount. He and Glatt hit at 25 percent when teaming up. Solid Sept. 19 drill shows fitness. Bet 1 to Win and key 1 over 4,5 and 9 in exactas, trifectas and reverse.”

John Lauro likes the 4-5 exacta box in the Turf Monster Stakes. “#4 Carotari and #5 Firecrow outclass the field and are using this as a prep for the Breeders’ Cup Turf Sprint.”

Parx Races Nos. 10-13 (4:22 p.m. ET/1:22 p.m. PT)

Mr. Ed likes the following $0.50 Pick 4 (cost $60)

Race 10: 7

Race 11: 1,4,5,6

Race 12: 2,3,4,7,8,10

Race 13: 1,3,5,7,10

 

Belmont Races Nos. 8-11 (4:42 p.m. ET/1:42 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes $0.50 Pick 4 (cost $50)

Race 8: 2,3,5,9,10

Race 9: 1,4,5,6,10

Race 10: 2,4

Race 11: 4,8

 

Parx Race No. 11 (5:02 p.m. ET/2:02 p.m. PT)

Dave Tuley likes #8 Always Carina (6-1 morning line) in the Grade 1 Cotillion Stakes. “This 3-year-old filly from the Chad Brown barn looks like the lone speed and can steal this mile-and-a-sixteenth race under veteran jock John Velazquez. Bet 8 to Win and let’s try to blow out the tote board by boxing 8 with #1 Obligatory (10-1) and #9 Leader of the Band (12-1) in exactas and trifectas.”

Parx Race No. 12 (5:49 p.m. ET/2:49 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes #2 Keepmeinmind (8-1 morning line) in the Grade 1 Pennsylvania Derby. “This Robertino Diodoro trainee has been competing against the top 3-year-olds all year, nearly defeating Essential Quality in the Jim Dandy. He had a nice work on the 18th and Joel Rosario retains the mount. He should get a swifter pace to run into and should be coming late! Bet 2 to Win and key 2 over 4,7 and 8 in exactas, trifectas and reverse.”

Belmont Race No. 11 (6:27 p.m. ET/3:27 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #6 Escapewithfriends (5-1 morning line). “This late-blooming gal has been on my DRF Watch List since her summer debut.  If she can avoid trouble early, race sets up for her explosive closing kick under Jose Lezcano. Wager: Win.”

 

Note: also check out our A.I. Pick of the Week at vsin.com/horses as we’ve gone 12-for-26 since taking over the feature for a still-profitable ROI of $2.02 for every $2 wagered to Win. There are also more plays from 1ST/BET handicappers on that page at vsin.com/horses.

 
back to news

FREE Email Sign-Up

Get the latest sports betting news & VSiN programming updates with this free daily email from VSiN, The Sports Betting Network.

Headlines

View All

custom-banner-3
VSiN Logo Plus

Free Trial

Make a risk-free bet on VSiN!

VSiN+ FREE TRIAL

  • Afternoon subscriber-only email with highlights and best bets from the day's programs
  • Point Spread Weekly, VSiN's digital magazine on sports betting
  • 24-7 Live video stream of VSiN programs plus replays
  • Any special sport-specified betting guides we do
  • All exclusive subscriber-only stories and data on VSiN.com
Sign Up Now
custom-banner-3
 

LISTEN LIVE!

It's totally free

(Learn more about the player)

OTHER WAYS TO LISTEN

  • On your phone
  • In your home
  • In your car
DETAILS
Google Play
App Store
Close