Tuley's Thoroughbred Takes for races of Saturday, Oct. 9

By Dave Tuley  (VSiN.com senior reporter) 

October 9, 2021 06:39 AM
Keeneland_paddock

Football season is in full swing, but there’s still time each Saturday to sneak in some horse racing wagers, so Team Tuley continues to look for value at tracks from coast to coast.

This Saturday, our team has picks at Belmont Park, where Rampart race & sports book manager Duane Colucci has two plays, and Keeneland, where our friend Ed Sehon (aka Mr. Ed from his daily column at Saratoga) is for opening weekend and where and he and I have two plays apiece, plus Colucci has one and joins Sehon in offering up a Late Pick 4 ticket.

Good luck today (and every day!).

SATURDAY

Keeneland Race No. 3 (2:04 p.m. ET/11:04 a.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #1 Kittansett (3-1 morning line) “Primo trainer Brad Cox saddles hard-luck, expensive son of Triple Crown winner American Pharoah. Move to turf and stretch out keys to success as Florent Geroux returns to ride. Here kitty, kitty.  Wager: Win.”

Keeneland Race No. 5 (3:08 p.m. ET/12:08 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #3 Strava (8-1 morning line). “Backstretch sharpie whispered in my ear that popular conditioner Dallas Stewart is locked and loaded for special Fall meet. His barn’s Race No. 7 score Friday — #7 Calvary Charge returning $18.20 — convinced me. Talented Tyler Gaffalione picks up mount on son of super sire Into Mischief. Wager: Win and Place.”

Belmont Race No. 6 (3:15 p.m. ET/12:15 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes #4 Lady Danae (6-1) in the Grade 3 Matron Stakes. “Joe Sharp trainee gets her third start after a wide effort at Kentucky Downs. Go back to the rousing maiden victory at Saratoga in a sharp (play on words) 1:01 4/5. Nice breeze on the 3rd. Sharp and jockey Luis Saez combine for a $2.35 ROI. Will be roaring late. Bet 4 to Win and key 4 over 3,7 and 8 in exactas, trifectas and reverse.”

Belmont Race No. 7 (3:47 p.m. ET/12:47 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes #1 Serve the King (8-1 morning line) in the Grade 1 Joe Hirsch Turf Classic Stakes. “Chad Brown trainee is stepping up in class but ran a good distance rolling late in the John’s Call. Irad Ortiz Jr. retains the mount. Steady works at Monmouth show he retains fitness. Bet 1 to Win and key 1 over 2,3,4 and 7 in exactas, trifectas and reverse.”

Keeneland  Races Nos. 8-11 (4:44 p.m. ET/1:44 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes the following $.50 Pick 4 (cost $54)

Race 8: 2,3,6,10

Race 9: 3,5,12

Race 10: 6,10,11

Race 11: 3,5,7

Duane Colucci likes $.50 Pick 4 (cost $80)

Race 8: 2,3,9,10,13

Race 9: 3,5,9,13

Race 10: 6,7,10,13

Race 11: 4,10

Keeneland Race No. 8 (4:44 p.m. ET/1:44 p.m. PT)

Dave Tuley likes #2 Empress Josephine (10-1 morning line) in the Grade 1 First Lady Stakes. “This 3-year-old filly already has a Group 1 victory to her credit in Ireland. She ran fourth in her last race, also a Group 1 race, but note that it was only by 1.5 lengths, certainly capable of being a winning race. Trainer Aidan O’Brien knows how to place his horses, so I trust him to have Empress Josephine in the right spot. And note that both Sehon and Colucci used this price horse in the first leg of their Pick 4s. Wager: Win and Place.

Keeneland Race No. 9 (5:15 p.m. ET/2:15 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes #5 Don’t Wait Up (9-2 morning line) in the Grade 1 Breeders’ Futurity. “This colt ran two really nice races at Saratoga and has three awesome workouts following up. Jockey Johnny Velazquez should have him right on the lead. Trainer Anthony Dutrow is hitting at 29 percent this year. Wire-to-wire Win bet on 5, plus 5 over 3,9 and 13 in exactas, trifectas and reverse.

Keeneland Race No. 10 (5:46 p.m. ET/2:46 p.m. PT)

Dave Tuley likes #3 In Love (20-1 morning line) in the Grade 1 Keeneland Turf Mile Stakes. “This 5-year-old gelding has won his last two races as he moved his way up the stakes ladder. He should be able to sit off the pace and be among those closing fastest of all in the stretch. Wager: Win and Place.”

Note: also check out our A.I. Pick of the Week at vsin.com/horses as we’ve gone 14-for-28 since taking over the feature for a profitable ROI of $2.06 for every $2 wagered to Win. There are also more plays from 1ST/BET handicappers on that page at vsin.com/horses.

 

back to news

FREE Email Sign-Up

Get the latest sports betting news & VSiN programming updates with this free daily email from VSiN, The Sports Betting Network.

Headlines

View All

custom-banner-3
VSiN Logo Plus

Free Trial

Make a risk-free bet on VSiN!

VSiN+ FREE TRIAL

  • Afternoon subscriber-only email with highlights and best bets from the day's programs
  • Point Spread Weekly, VSiN's digital magazine on sports betting
  • 24-7 Live video stream of VSiN programs plus replays
  • Any special sport-specified betting guides we do
  • All exclusive subscriber-only stories and data on VSiN.com
Sign Up Now
Google Play
App Store
Close