Tuley's Thoroughbred Takes for races of Saturday, Oct. 2

By Dave Tuley  (VSiN.com senior reporter) 

October 2, 2021 05:55 AM
Knicks_Go

Football season is in full swing, but there’s still time each Saturday to sneak in some horse racing wagers, so Team Tuley continues to look for value at tracks from coast to coast.

This Saturday, our team has picks from Belmont Park in New York, Churchill Downs in Kentucky, Santa Anita Park in California and even Woodbine up in Canada. I’m joined by my handicapping friends Duane Colucci (one spot play each at Belmont and Santa Anita, plus a Pick 4 at each track), Ed Sehon (two plays at Belmont, plus the Pick 4) and John Lauro (one best bet at Churchill) and I spread three plays over Woodbine and Santa Anita.

Programming note: For my sports picks this weekend, check out my new column titled “Tuley’s Takes Today,” which is free and can be found daily at VSiN.com/news/dave-tuley-columns.

Good luck today (and every day!).

SATURDAY

Belmont Race No. 5 (3:06 p.m. ET/12:06 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #6 Letmeno (6-1 morning line). “Stand-in trainer Bonnie Lucas drops seasoned colt following unexpectedly dull effort in Charles Town stakes. This guy should handle stretch-out under Irad Ortiz Jr. When he crosses Finish Line first, be sure to let me know. Wager: Win and Place.”

 

Belmont Race No. 7 (4:08 p.m. ET/1:08 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #3 Molino (10-1 morning line). “Expensive gelded son of Kitten’s Joy returns for trainer Chad Brown following rough-and-tumble trip as Spa choice. Manny Franco retains mount. Owner-trainer combo knows how to win -- often. Wager: Win and Place.”

 

Churchill Race No. 8 (4:22 p.m. ET/1:22 p.m. PT)

John Lauro likes #2 Knicks Go (2-5 morning line) in the Grade 3 Lukas Classic Stakes. “This is my best bet of the weekend. This is an easy prep for Knicks Go, who is prepping for the Breeders’ Cup Classic and Horse of the Year honors.”

Belmont Races Nos. 8-11 (4:40 p.m. ET/1:40 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes $.50 Pick 4 (cost $37.50)

Race 8: 1,2,3,5,6

Race 9: 2,3,4,5,7

Race 10: 2

Race 11: 5,10,11

 

Duane Colucci likes $.50 Pick 4 (cost $48)

Race 8: 1,2,3

Race 9: 2,3,4,9

Race 10: 2,3,5,6

Race 11: 2,5

 

Belmont Race No. 9 (5:14 p.m. ET/2:14 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes #9 Chewing Gum (8-1 morning line) in the Grade 3 Belmont Turf Sprint Invitational. “This Bill Mott trainee hasn’t won in a while, but his best efforts have come over this course, including a runner-up effort in this race last year. He’s making his third start off a layoff after two Grade 3 runs. A repeat of his race in the Jaipur wins this. Bet 9 to Win and key 9 over 2,3 and 4 in exactas, trifectas and reverse.”

 

Woodbine Race No. 10 (6 p.m. ET/3 p.m. PT)

Dave Tuley likes #5 Unilateral (20-1 morning line). “This is a big long shot up in Canada, but I give it a big shot. This 5-year-old gelding has moved all over, from Woodbine to Santa Anita and Del Mar in California and now back in Canada. He obviously has talent as he keeps changing barns, and current trainer Desmond Maynard hits at 18 percent when he’s starting a horse for the second time, so he knows how to place them. Unilateral is also dropping in class today and should be able to set well off the pace and make one big late move at a big price. Wager: Win and Place.”

 

Santa Anita Races Nos. 8-11 (7:06 p.m. ET/4:06 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes $0.50 Pick 4 (cost $72)

Race 8: 1,4,5

Race 9: 1,2,8,9

Race 10: 5,7,8

Race 11: 4,5,7,12

 

Santa Anita Race No. 8 (7:06 p.m. ET/4:06 p.m. PT)

Dave Tuley likes #3 Colt Fiction (8-1 morning line) in the Grade 2 Santa Anita Sprint Championship Stakes. “This 6-year-old gelding has always known how to find the winner’s circle (6-for-13 lifetime), but he really put it all together in his last start going wire-to-wire and should be the lone speed in this race. Trainer William Spawr hits at 21 percent with horses who won their last race and is also 24 percent in graded stakes, so he knows how to find the proper level for a horse. Wager: Win and Place.”

Santa Anita Race No. 9 (7:38 p.m. ET/4:38 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes #2 Fast Jet Court (10-1 morning line) in the Grade 1 Rodeo Drive Stakes. “This filly had a rough start in the Mabee and swung wide full of run. Multiple Grade 1 winner in Brazil has trained well here and should be in tactical position with better start to snatch the victory. Bet 2 to Win and key 2 over 1,8 and 9 in exactas, trifectas and reverse.”

Santa Anita Race No. 10 (8:10 p.m. ET/5:10 p.m. PT)

Dave Tuley likes #6 Azul Coast (12-1 morning line) in the Grade 1 Awesome Again Stakes. “#5 Medina Spirit is the 5-2 favorite in here, but I’m taking the hidden entry with the “other” Bob Baffert in Azul Coast. He should be able to sit right off the pace in this mile-and-an-eighth. Wager: Win and Place.”

Note: also check out our A.I. Pick of the Week at vsin.com/horses as we’ve gone 13-for-27 since taking over the feature for a still-profitable ROI of $2.06 for every $2 wagered to Win. There are also more plays from 1ST/BET handicappers on that page at vsin.com/horses.

 
back to news

FREE Email Sign-Up

Get the latest sports betting news & VSiN programming updates with this free daily email from VSiN, The Sports Betting Network.

Headlines

View All

custom-banner-3
VSiN Logo Plus

Free Trial

Make a risk-free bet on VSiN!

VSiN+ FREE TRIAL

  • Afternoon subscriber-only email with highlights and best bets from the day's programs
  • Point Spread Weekly, VSiN's digital magazine on sports betting
  • 24-7 Live video stream of VSiN programs plus replays
  • Any special sport-specified betting guides we do
  • All exclusive subscriber-only stories and data on VSiN.com
Sign Up Now
Google Play
App Store
Close