Live On Air

Streaming Now: Follow The Money

play Watch Live radio Listen Live

Tuley's Thoroughbred Takes for races of Saturday, March 27

By Dave Tuley  (VSiN.com senior reporter) 

March 27, 2021 04:01 AM

Team Tuley continues to look for value from coast to coast, and this Saturday we’re mostly focusing on the Florida Derby card at Gulfstream Park.

Ed Sehon returns from vacation to try and continue his streak of winning picks in his last three contributions with three spot plays and the Late Pick 4 at Gulfstream, while Duane Colucci and John Lauro join yours truly with spot plays at Gulfstream (plus Colucci has a best bet and a Pick 4 at Aqueduct).

Good luck today (and every day!).

SATURDAY

Gulfstream Race No. 3 (12:28 p.m. ET/9:28 a.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #5 La Libertee (7-2 morning line) in $100,000 Sanibel Island Stakes. “Let me count the ways I’m picking promising 3-year-old filly: (1) Stretching out from sprint to turf mile; (2) Casse barn beginning to warm up; (3) A Win & Show over surface; (4) HOF rider Johnny Velazquez climbs aboard; (5) Tactical style fits pace scenario; and (6) Steadily improving speed figures add up to victory. Wager: Win & box in exactas with 4,7 & 8.”

Gulfstream Race No. 5 (1:27 p.m. ET/10:27 a.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #4 Frosted Grace (4-1 morning line) in the $100,000 Sir Shackleton Stakes. “Ultra-consistent 5-year-old sprinter adds a furlong and picks up the services of red-hot (33% winners) PA-based rider Edwin Gonzalez. Following a brief layoff, he was runner-up to highly regarded Mischievous Alex in Grade 3 Gulfstream Park Sprint in latest. Confident Kathy Ritvo will have him ready for maximum effort in stretch. Wager: Win, Place and bonus 4-8 Daily Double.”

Gulfstream Race No. 6 (1:57 p.m. ET/10:57 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #8 Seismic Wave (3-1 morning line) in the Grade 3 Kitten’s Joy Appleton Stakes. “In first start for Chad Brown, who takes over training duties for Bill Mott, gelded son of Tapit turns back to turf mile. Leading jockey Irad Ortiz Jr. gains live mount to add to his record-setting rider pace. Wager: Win and complete the mid-card 4-8 Daily Double.”

Gulfstream Race No. 10 (4:09 p.m. ET/1:09 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes #7 Moon Over Miami (5-1 morning line) in the Grade 2 Pan American Stakes. “This colt got going late off a 3.5-month layoff to grab a piece of a Grade 2 here last month. Trainer Bill Mott has had a fabulous meet and uses his go-to guy, Junior Alvarado. They are hitting at 23% at Gulfstream. Bet 7 to Win and key 7 over 1,3 & 6 in  exactas and trifectas and reverse.”

Aqueduct Races Nos. 7-10 (4:24 p.m. ET/1:24 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes the following $0.50 Pick 4 (cost $60)

Race 7: 1,2,5,6,9

Race 8: 1,8,9

Race 9: 1,3,11,12

Race 10: 11,12

Gulfstream Races Nos. 11-14 (4:43 p.m. ET/1:43 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes the following $0.50 Pick 4 (cost $72)

Race 11: 1,4,6

Race 12: 1,2,3,6

Race 13: 1,4,7,9

Race 14: 7,9,10

Duance Colucci likes the following $0.50 Pick 4 (cost $108)

Race 11: 1,2,5,6,8,9

Race 12: 1,2,6

Race 13: 5,7,9

Race 14: 5,7,8,9

Gulfstream Race No. 11 (4:43 p.m. ET/1:43 p.m. PT)

John Lauro likes #6 Annex (5-2 morning line) in the $100,000 Cutler Bay Stakes. “Annex is a rising star in the 3-year-old colt turf division.”

Gulfstream Race No. 12 (5:17 p.m. ET/2:17 p.m. PT)

Dave Tuley likes #7 Competitive Speed (8-1 morning line) in the Grade 2 Gulfstream Park Oaks. “This 1 1/16-mile race should set up for a closer with Competitive Speed being the most consistent late-runner. Bet 7 to Win and only add a Place bet if she goes off at 10-1 or higher. I’ll also box with the other closer, #4 Pens Street.”

Aqueduct Race No. 9 (5:34 p.m. ET/2:34 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes #12 Air Attack (5-1 morning line) in the $75,000 Stud Muffin Stakes. “This 5-year-old gelding had his career-best effort last time out. He’s now claimed off the red-hot Atras barn and trainer John Toscano Jr. puts him in a stakes race. Toscano is 27% off the claim with a $2.30 ROI. If he duplicates his last race, he wins! Bet 12 to Win and key 12 over 1,3 & 11 in exactas and trifectas and reverse.”

Gulfstream Race No. 13 (5:55 p.m. ET/2:55 p.m. PT)

Dave Tuley likes #4 Morning Molly (8-1 morning line) in the Grade 3 Orchid. “There’s no real speed-ball in this race and I think Morning Molly can inherit the lead and steal this on the front end. This 5-year-old mare has also been very consistent in her short career, four wins and three places in eight starts. Trainer Thomas Proctor also knows how to get his runners ready for the turf (16% winners) and jockey Jose Ortiz hits at 17% on the turf, so anything at better than 5-1 or 6-1 is value in my mind. Wager Win & Place.”

Gulfstream Race No. 14 (6:40 p.m. ET/3:40 p.m. PT)

John Lauro likes #7 Greatest Honour (6-5 morning line) in the Grade 1 Florida Derby. “Best-bred 3-year-old in this crop will get speed to run down with Spielberg coming from California.”

Duane Colucci likes #5 Known Agenda (5-1 morning line) in the Grade 1 Florida Derby. “This Pletcher monster really found himself after a debacle in the Sam F. Davis across state. Irad Ortiz Jr. retains the mount after blowing out here late February. He has beaten favorite before; don’t be surprised if he does it again!. Bet 5 to Win and key 5 over 7,8 & 9 in exactas and trifectas and reverse.”

 
back to news

FREE Email Sign-Up

Get the latest sports betting news & VSiN programming updates with this free daily email from VSiN, The Sports Betting Network.

Headlines

View All

custom-banner-3
VSiN Logo Plus

Free Trial

Make a risk-free bet on VSiN!

VSiN+ FREE TRIAL

  • Afternoon subscriber-only email with highlights and best bets from the day's programs
  • Point Spread Weekly, VSiN's digital magazine on sports betting
  • 24-7 Live video stream of VSiN programs plus replays
  • Any special sport-specified betting guides we do
  • All exclusive subscriber-only stories and data on VSiN.com
Sign Up Now
Google Play
App Store
Close