Live On Air

Streaming Now: Follow The Money

play Watch Live radio Listen Live

Tuley's Thoroughbred Takes for races of Saturday, March 20

By Dave Tuley  (VSiN.com senior reporter) 

March 20, 2021 07:52 AM

(Note: plays added Saturday morning after early scratches.)

Team Tuley continues to look for value from coast to coast, and this Saturday we’re mostly focusing on the Louisiana Derby card at Fair Grounds.

Last Saturday, our team had another good day on the races as I had Sadie Lady ($13 Win payoff) in the 9th race at Aqueduct while Ed Sehon added Carotari ($4.80) in Gulfstream’s 11th race, plus a small exacta.

This week, Sehon is on a family vacation and taking a rare week off (which he did reluctantly as he’s given out winning tickets here each of the last three weeks). But I have two spot plays and John Lauro has five plays on the deep Louisiana Derby card (and we have opposing plays in the biggest Kentucky Derby prep of the day, so decide which to use or tie them together in exotics), plus Rampart race & sports book manager Duane Colucci added Late Pick 4s at Gulfstream and Fair Grounds.

Good luck today (and every day!).

SATURDAY

Fair Grounds card

John Lauro has five spot plays on Saturday’s card at Fair Grounds. A man of few words, Lauro just said “All have class and BRIS numbers in their races.” Decide for yourself whether to bet these straight or in exotics.

Race 1 (12:20 p.m. ET/9:20 a.m. PT): #2 Australasia (2-5 morning line)

Race 8 (3:42 p.m. ET/12:42 p.m. PT): #2 No Parole (8-5 morning line)

Race 12 (5:42 p.m. ET/2:42 p.m. PT): #5 Colonial Liam (3-1 morning line)

Race 13 (6:14 p.m. ET/3:14 p.m. PT): #6 Clairiere (2-1 morning line)

Page 14 (6:44 p.m. ET/3:44 p.m. PT): #6 Mandoloun (8-5 morning line)   

Gulfstream Races Nos. 9-12 (4:16 p.m. ET/1:16 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes the following Pick 4 (cost $40)

Race 9: 1,3,7,9,10

Race 10: 1,4,5,8

Race 11: 3,6

Race 12: 1,3

Fair Grounds Races Nos. 11-14 (5:12 p.m. ET/2:12 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes the following Pick 4 (cost $60)

Race 11: 1,2,3,5,8

Race 12: 1,4,5,12

Race 13: 1,6,8

Race 14: 3,4

Gulfstream Race No. 11 (5:22 p.m. ET/2:22 p.m. PT)

Dave Tuley likes #5 Omaha City (12-1 morning line) in the $75,000 Texas Glitter Stakes. “As you would expect in a five-furlong sprint, there’s a ton of speed horses in this race. Here’s hoping they duel each other in the ground and set it up for a closer as Omaha City is one of just two closers in the whole race along with #4 Kasim (6-1). While I’ll probably just bet the higher-priced colt to Win -- and I expect that to be Omaha City as Kasim is from the barn of noted turf trainer Michael Maker -- I’ll also use 4 & 5 in exotics. In addition to the exacta, I also like to wheel two horses like this in trifectas so I also hit that if they run 1-2 (4,5 with 4,5 with ALL), plus another tri in case they get split by another horse and run 1-3 (4,5 with ALL with 4,5).”

Fair Grounds Race No. 14 (6:44 p.m. ET/3:44 p.m. PT)

Dave Tuley likes #7 Midnight Bourbon (5-1 morning line) in the Grade 1 Louisiana Derby. “The #2 Rightandjust is expected to be the pace-setter like he was in the Risen Star before fading and finishing 6th. However, I wouldn’t be surprised if Midnight Bourbon, who was set just off the pace in 2nd behind Rightandjust, ends up getting to this lead and goes wire-to-wire like he did in the Lecomte, where he held off the favorite, #6 Mandaloun. Wager: Win on 7.”

 
 
back to news

FREE Email Sign-Up

Get the latest sports betting news & VSiN programming updates with this free daily email from VSiN, The Sports Betting Network.

Headlines

View All

custom-banner-3
VSiN Logo Plus

Free Trial

Make a risk-free bet on VSiN!

VSiN+ FREE TRIAL

  • Afternoon subscriber-only email with highlights and best bets from the day's programs
  • Point Spread Weekly, VSiN's digital magazine on sports betting
  • 24-7 Live video stream of VSiN programs plus replays
  • Any special sport-specified betting guides we do
  • All exclusive subscriber-only stories and data on VSiN.com
Sign Up Now
Google Play
App Store
Close