Live On Air

Streaming now: Prime Time Action

play Watch Live radio Listen Live

Tuley's Thoroughbred Takes for races of Saturday, Jan. 9

By Dave Tuley  (VSiN.com senior reporter) 

January 9, 2021 04:01 AM

(Note: file updated after Saturday’s early scratches; main changes are added plays from Duane Colucci and a substituted horse in Ed Sehon’s Pick 4 at Gulfstream)

 

It’s a new year, but me and my stable of handicapping friends continue to look for value at tracks from coast to coast.

 

On Saturday, be ready to bet early as Ed Sehon likes Gulfstream Park’s early Daily Double at 12:05 p.m. ET/9:05 a.m. PT, even before the first NFL wild-card game kicks off. Sehon also has another spot play at Gulfstream Park and a look at the Late Pick 4 while I have plays in stakes races at Gulfstream and Santa Anita Park. After early scratches, Duane Colucci has added a play at Aqueduct and his take on the Late Pick 4 at Gulfstream.

 

Good luck today (and every day!).

 

SATURDAY

 

Gulfstream Race Nos. 1 & 2 (12:05 p.m. ET/9:05 a.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes the following early Daily Double: “In the first race, #8 Herculina (9-2 morning line) adds blinkers for tip-top trainer Wesley Ward in this inexpensive maiden claimer at 1 1/8 miles on the turf. Irad Ortiz Jr. rides ... In the second race, look for gelded #8 Senzazione (7-2 morning line) to repeat his last-out win for new trainer Elizabeth Dobles. Emisael Jaramillo picks up mount. Wager: 8-8 Daily Double.”

 

Gulfstream Race No. 6 (2:44 p.m. ET/11:44 a.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #7 Shikaka (9-2 morning line). “Hard-knocking 5-year-old daughter of Animal Kingdom finished a rapid-closing second in turf sprint return after six months away. Florida circuit rider Hector Berrios retains mount for conditioner Sarah Nagle. Look for this mare to be first under the wire to capture her second lifetime win. Wager: Win on 7 and box 7 in exactas with 3,4 & 6.”

 

Gulfstream Races Nos. 8-11 (3:46 p.m. ET/12:46 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes the following $0.50 Pick 4 (cost $75)

Race 8: 4,6,7,8,12

Race 9: 1,4

Race 10: 2,3,4 (3 replaces scratched #6)

Race 11: 1,2,3,9,10

 

Duane Colucci offer this $0.50 Pick 4 (cost $60)

Race 8: 1,4,6,8,12

Race 9: 1,3,6,8

Race 10: 1,2,7

Race 11: 1,3

 

Aqueduct Race No. 8 (3:50 p.m. ET/12:50 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes #8 Miss Jimmy (5-2 morning line). “Just missed at odds-on in her latest, running wide most of the way. Should get better position in this speed-filled race. This mare has finished first or second in 15 of her 17 races and has already beaten some of these in the past! Key 8 over 2,4 & 6 in exactas and trifectas and reverse.”

 

Gulfstream Race No. 10 (4:49 p.m. ET/1:49 p.m. PT)

Dave Tuley likes #7 Tusk (15-1 morning line) in the Grade 3 Tropical Turf Stakes. “Tusk won this race last year from just off the pace. This time around, there’s not much speed in the race and Tusk has a chance to be the controlling speed under jockey Luis Saez and lead gate to wire. One of the rare rivals that could push  Tusk on the lead is #5 Frostmourne (9-2 morning line), but even if they duel, the fractions should be soft enough that these two might lead a carousel all the way around. Wager: 7 to Win and box 5-7 in exactas and key on top (and split first and third) in trifecta wheels.”

 

Santa Anita Race No. 8 (6:35 p.m. ET/3:35 p.m. PT)

Dave Tuley likes #1 Proud Emma (6-1 morning line) in the Grade 3 La Canada Stakes. “There’s a ton of early speed in this 1 1/16-mile race and it should really set up for a closer -- and Proud Emma fits the profile. She should get a ground-saving trip from the rail from hot jockey Juan Hernandez, who guided her to a similar victory off the pace last month (Dec. 6) in the Grade 3 Bayakoa. Wager: Win & Place (and not the worst idea to throw in a 1-7 exacta box with the other closer, #7 Never Be Enough).”

 

back to news

FREE Email Sign-Up

Get the latest sports betting news & VSiN programming updates with this free daily email from VSiN, The Sports Betting Network.

Headlines

View All

custom-banner-3
VSiN Logo Plus

Free Trial

Make a risk-free bet on VSiN!

VSiN+ FREE TRIAL

  • Afternoon subscriber-only email with highlights and best bets from the day's programs
  • Point Spread Weekly, VSiN's digital magazine on sports betting
  • 24-7 Live video stream of VSiN programs plus replays
  • Any special sport-specified betting guides we do
  • All exclusive subscriber-only stories and data on VSiN.com
Sign Up Now
Google Play
App Store
Close