Live On Air

Streaming now: Betting Across America

play Watch Live radio Listen Live

Tuley's Thoroughbred Takes for races of Saturday, April 24

By Dave Tuley  (VSiN.com senior reporter) 

April 24, 2021 02:35 AM

(Note: updated after Saturday’s early scratches.)

After taking last weekend off, Team Tuley returns to look for value from coast to coast as we get warmed up before next Saturday’s Kentucky Derby (and a great undercard).

This Saturday, my buddy Ed Sehon has two spot plays at Belmont as well as a Late Pick 4 ticket while I added plays at Pimlico and Santa Anita. After scratches on Saturday morning, Sehon posted a substitute play and Duane Colucci, race & sports book manager at the Rampart, added two spot plays at Belmont and his Late Pick 4 ticket.

Good luck today and every day!

SATURDAY

Belmont Race No. 2 (1:31 p.m. ET/10:31 a.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #3 Destinationwnrscir (6-1 morning line). “Journeyman New York trainer ‘Charlie’ (horse) Baker sends 3-year-old daughter of multiple-Grade 1-winning sire Lemon Drop Kid to the grass for the first time after a four-race winter season of steadily improving speed figures on the Big A dirt. Three consecutive works on training track indicate she’s ready for turf debut under skillful young rider Trevor McCarthy. Her Destination: Winner’s Circle - where else? Wager: Win & box in exactas with 4,7 & 8.”

Belmont Race No. 5 (3:02 p.m. ET/12:02 p.m. PT)

Following the scratch of his original selection (#7 Allured), Ed Sehon likes a four-horse exacta box of #2 Kumar (6-1 morning line), #3 Hammerin American (9-2) #6 Heavy Roller (5-2) & #9 Ekhtibaar (20-1). “Wide open dirt route, featuring a field of nine hard-knocking $16,000 claimers, offers excellent opportunity for value score. Worth a shot for exotics players.”

 

Belmont Race Nos. 6-9 (3:34 p.m. ET/12:34 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes the following $0.50 Pick 4 (cost $60)

Race 6: 4,6,7,8,11

Race 7: 1,2,3,4

Race 8: 1,3,6

Race 9: 4,10 (if either scratches, substitute 13)

Duane Colucci likes the following $0.50 Pick 4 (cost $48)

Race 6: 1,4,5,6,8,11

Race 7: 1,3,

Race 8: 1,3,4,6

Race 9: 3,4

Belmont Race No. 7 (4:12 p.m. ET/1:12 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes #3 Mihos (6-1 morning line). “This Jimmy Jerkens-trained horse exploded last time off a short layoff and now will try to step up and get his first victory at Belmont. A nice workout on April 15 shows he is still fit, although it’s a small sample size. Jerkens and jockey Trevor McCarthy as a team hit at 29% and a $15.70 ROI. Bet 3 to Win and key 3 over 1,4 & 7 in exactas, trifectas and reverse.”

Belmont Race No. 8 (4:47 p.m. ET/1:47 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes #4 Therapist (7-2 morning line) in the ungraded Elusive Quality Stakes. “This gelding loves the Belmont turf having won 5-of-10. He is making his 2021 debut with some easy workouts. Aqueduct leading trainer Christophe Clement looks to start this meet off with a stakes win. A duplication of his June 7 race here last year wins this. Bet 4 to Win and key 4 over 1,3 & 6 in exactas, trifectas and reverse.”

Pimlico Race No. 9 (5:04 p.m. ET/2:04 p.m. PT)

Dave Tuley likes #1 Moonsafe (20-1 morning line) in the ungraded Weber City Miss Stakes. “I don’t normally like horses who broke their maiden last time out and are now being thrown into stakes competition, but I’m making an exception here as there’s not much speed in this race and Moonsafe has a great chance to inherit the early lead and go wire-to-wire. Now, with her consistent speed (even though it’s just in the maiden ranks), I doubt we see this morning-line price, but anything in double digits looks like value to me. Wager: Win & Place.”

Santa Anita Race No. 6 (6:41 p.m. ET/3:41 p.m. PT)

Dave Tuley likes #3 Snazzy Dresser (5-1 morning line). “All eyes will be on even-money, morning-line favorite Fly to Mars -- and if he runs his race, he probably does win this -- but he’s got to get by Snazzy Dresser to do it and I’ll take my chances with this speedball. He only fails to get the early lead when going shorter distances against true sprinters, so this mile turf event suits his style. I also like that he's proven himself against classier competition. Wager: Win (also doing 3-8 exacta box with Fly to Mars and keying those two over ALL in trifectas).”

 
 
back to news

FREE Email Sign-Up

Get the latest sports betting news & VSiN programming updates with this free daily email from VSiN, The Sports Betting Network.

Headlines

View All

custom-banner-3
VSiN Logo Plus

Free Trial

Make a risk-free bet on VSiN!

VSiN+ FREE TRIAL

  • Afternoon subscriber-only email with highlights and best bets from the day's programs
  • Point Spread Weekly, VSiN's digital magazine on sports betting
  • 24-7 Live video stream of VSiN programs plus replays
  • Any special sport-specified betting guides we do
  • All exclusive subscriber-only stories and data on VSiN.com
Sign Up Now
Google Play
App Store
Close