Live On Air

Streaming now: The Lombardi Line

play Watch Live radio Listen Live

Tuley's Thoroughbred Takes for races (3-6)

By Dave Tuley  (VSiN.com senior reporter) 

March 6, 2021 04:36 AM

Team Tuley continues to look for value from coast to coast, and this week we have a bunch of plays from Aqueduct in New York to Tampa Bay in Florida to Santa Anita in California.

Last Saturday, my friend Ed Sehon led the way with a $740.20 Pick 4 at Gulfstream, and this week we hope to hit some of our best bets as Sehon and our other handicappers -- Duane Colucci, John Lauro and yours truly -- have three spot plays apiece while Sehon and Colucci also tackle some Picks 4 at Santa Anita, Aqueduct and Tampa Bay.

Good luck today (and every day).

SATURDAY

Santa Anita Races Nos. 2-5 (3:32 p.m. ET/12:32 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes the following $0.50 Pick 4 (cost $48)

Race 2: 1,4,5,6

Race 3: 2,5,6,7

Race 4: 5,6

Race 5: 6,7,8

Aqueduct Races Nos. 7-10 (4:02 p.m. ET/1:02 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes the following Pick 4 (cost $72)

Race 7: 1,2,4,6

Race 8: 1,2,8

Race 9: 3,5,7,8

Race 10: 4,8,9

Aqueduct Race No. 7 (4:02 p.m. ET/1:02 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes #6 Wendell Fong (3-1 morning line) in the Grade 3 Tom Fool Handicap. “This horse comes off a solid win in the Fire Plug at Laurel. He also held his own against top competition early last year and then tailed off. Rounding back to form now with a nice easy workout leading up to this race. Bet 6 to Win and key 6 over 1,2 & 4 in exactas and trifectas and reverse.”

Aqueduct Race No. 8 (4:36 p.m. ET/1:36 p.m. PT)

Dave Tuley likes #1 Gone Glimmering (8-1 morning line) in the ungraded Heavenly Prize Invitational. “This 4-year-old filly is stepping up in class, but she can win on the lead or coming just off the pace. Trainer Linda Rice has hit at 20% in her last 200 ungraded stakes entrants, so she knows how to place these in-between horses. Besides, she hits 33% when using jockey Eric Cancel, so that’s a “buy sign” as well. Wager: Win & Place.”

Tampa Bay Races Nos. 9-12 (4:25 p.m. ET/1:25 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes the following Pick 4 (cost $36 after scratch)

Race 9: 1,2,6,7,8,11

Race 10: 2,10 (9 scratched)

Race 11: 3,8,11

Race 12: 6,8

Aqueduct Race No. 9 (5:07 p.m. ET/2:07 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #8 Weyburn (20-1 morning line) in the Grade 3 Gotham Stakes. “Lightly raced 3-year-old is ready for breakout performance in the Gotham. Hot-shot jock Trevor McCarthy rides for Jimmy Jerkens. Wager: Win, Place & Show.”

Duane Colucci likes #5 Crowded Trade (9-2 morning line) in the Gotham. “This Chad Brown colt is the late bloomer out of his two entries, breaking his maiden weeks ago but he did it versus a solid field and got up rather easily. Steady workout tab and Eric Cancel jumps in the saddle. Cancel and Brown have a $4.74 ROI over the last year. Bet 5 to Win and key 5 over 3,7 & 8 in exactas and trifectas and reverse.”

Dave Tuley likes his colleagues’ picks in the Gotham. “Ed’s pick of #8 Weyburn could be the controlling speed despite the outside post as it helps that this is just an eight-horse field. I’ll probably just stick to Win & Place on the 8. I also like Duane’s 3-5-7-8 box for exactas and tris, though I also might just wheel Weyburn with ALL in exactas and hope to light up the toteboard.”

Tampa Bay Race No. 11 (5:25 p.m. ET/2:25 p.m. PT)

Dave Tuley likes #2 Super Strong (8-1 morning line) in the Grade 2 Tampa Bay Derby. “This is a second-tier Derby prep and typically draws late-developing 3-year-olds. Super Strong is the truly unknown quantity here with just one race coming in Puerto Rico (and incomplete past-performance lines), but he’s the son of 2010 Kentucky Derby winner Super Saver, who ran third in this race. I’ll bet him to Win (and Place if he goes off at 8-1 or better). If he doesn’t close for the victory, I think it’ll be #8 Hidden Stash (4-1), who has closed big his last three races and just missed running down Candy Man Rocket (the 2-1 favorite here) in the Grade 3 Sam F. Davis. Let’s also do a 2-8 exacta box.”

Santa Anita Race 6 (5:45 p.m. ET/2:45 p.m. PT), Race 8 (6:52 p.m. ET/3:52 p.m. PT) & Race 10 (8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT)

John Lauro likes #1 Life Is Good (4-5 morning line) in the Grade 2 San Felipe Stakes (Race 6), #6 Brickyard Ride (3-1) in the Grade 2 San Carlos Stakes (Race 8) and #2 Maxfield (8-5) in the Grade 1 Santa Anita Handicap (Race 10). “Life Is Good and Maxfield have huge class edges over their fields and Brickyard Ride catches a field with no speed and will be the lone front-runner. These are my best bets for Saturday and Santa Anita and they are singles in the Rainbow Pick 6 [starts with Race 6].”

Santa Anita Race No. 7 (6:20 p.m. ET/3:20 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #6 Tripoli (4-1 morning line) “Top conditioner John Sadler stretches out pricy son of super-sire Kitten’s Joy for mile allowance turf test after a pair of closing sprint efforts, followed by a string of solid works. Leading local rider Umberto Rispoli returns to ride after missing last start with colt. Tripoli-Rispoli combo = trip to Winner’s Circle. Wager: Win.”

Santa Anita Race No. 9 (7:26 p.m. ET/4:26 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #7 Casa Creed (6-1 morning line) in the Grade 1 Frank Kilroe Mile Stakes. “HOF trainer Bill Mott ships consistent East Coast stakes campaigner west for this Grade 1 mile test on the turf after prepping in south Florida. Conditioner convinces Johnny Velazquez to come along for the ride. Creed’s earnings will top half-million after today’s score. Wager: Bet 7 to Win and box 7 in exactas with 1,2 & 9.

Santa Anita Race No. 10 (8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes #3 Kiss Today Goodbye (8-1 morning line) in the Grade 1 Santa Anita Handicap. “This Kruljac runner will need some pace to get going late and there should be more early speed here than in his last race. The winner of the San Antonio can definitely get the distance teaming with Mike Smith and some bullet workouts since returning home should spell victory! Bet 3 to Win and key 3 over 1,2 & 6 in exactas and trifectas and reverse.”

 
 
back to news

FREE Email Sign-Up

Get the latest sports betting news & VSiN programming updates with this free daily email from VSiN, The Sports Betting Network.

Headlines

View All

custom-banner-3
VSiN Logo Plus

Free Trial

Make a risk-free bet on VSiN!

VSiN+ FREE TRIAL

  • Afternoon subscriber-only email with highlights and best bets from the day's programs
  • Point Spread Weekly, VSiN's digital magazine on sports betting
  • 24-7 Live video stream of VSiN programs plus replays
  • Any special sport-specified betting guides we do
  • All exclusive subscriber-only stories and data on VSiN.com
Sign Up Now
Google Play
App Store
Close