Tuley's Thoroughbred Takes for May 20-24

By Dave Tuley  (VSiN.com senior reporter) 

May 20, 2020 12:24 AM

(Note: This file was updated Sunday morning after early scratches at Gulfstream Park and Churchill Downs. GLA).

This is the 10th installment of “Tuley’s Thoroughbred Takes” for the week of May 20-24 as me and my stable of handicapping friends look for value at the horseracing tracks that are still running during the coronavirus pandemic.

John Lauro had our group’s lone winner on top Saturday as he took a stand with Maxfield in the Matt Winn Stakes at Churchill Downs as he stamped himself as a top contender for the Kentucky Derby (and I have it on good authority that Lauro got Maxfield at 22/1 in the Derby futures at Circa, which lowered Maxfield to 925 after the race). Duane Colucci and Ed Sehon both hit the first four legs of the all-stakes Pick 5 at Churchill with Colucci adding the final winner to hit for $414.85 on his 50-cent ticket that cost $72. My best contribution was not going against any of their horses as I only had one play after my other pick was scratched (full recaps at end of column).

On Sunday, we have five plays as the holiday weekend continues (reminder: I forgot to include Monday, Memorial Day, when I created this week’s file, so we will have a TTT Extra! column on Monday for the holiday cards).

As has become our custom here, check back in the noon ET/9 a.m. PT hour in case of scratches.

SUNDAY

Churchill Downs Race No. 6 (3:36 p.m. ET/12:36 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #3 Enjoyitwhilewecan (4/1 morning line). “Speedy 4-year-old filly makes her debut for conditioner Brendan Walsh, who takes over saddling duties from retired trainer Kiaran McLaughlin. After getting caught at the wire in her initial turf effort from the 12-post at Gulfstream in late March, improving gal appears rested and ready for a winning inside effort against a deep field of ladies. Hot-shot jock Tyler Gaffalione named to ride. Wager: Win.”

Gulfstream Race No. 9 (4:52 p.m. ET/1:52 p.m. PT)

Dave Tuley likes #1 Indimaaj (10/1 morning line). This race has a small field of six, which is like the rest of Sunday’s card after scratches, except that’s all that drew into this race. But we still have a price play with Indimaaj from the rail. Most of this field will be looking to sit off the pace, so Indimaaj might be able to sit up front and kick muds in his rivals’ faces. He’s been away a year, but I’m encouraged by the two bullet works before his last public gallop.

Churchill Downs Race No. 9 (5:12 p.m. ET/2:12 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes #4 Art of Almost (5/1 morning line). “Although she has not won on turf in three consecutive graded stakes efforts and four outta six in the money shows, she handles the surface. The Roger Attfield/Paco Lopez trainer/jockey combo is hitting at 21% and a ripe $4.26 ROI.”

Gulfstream Race No. 10 (5:24 p.m. ET/2:24 p.m. PT)

Dave Tuley likes #4 Nettleton (10/1 morning line), but he was SCRATCHED on Sunday morning.

Churchill Downs Race No. 10 (5:44 p.m. ET/2:44 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #2 Mojovation (3/1 morning line). “Consistent, high-performing 5-year-old son of Quality Road gets blinkers after contending, then hanging in stretch against better field at Oaklawn Park in mid-April. Veteran trainer John Sadler stretches him out today and entices top rider Joel Rosario to accept mount. Wager: Win.”

Santa Anita Race No. 6 (6:12 p.m. ET/3:12 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes #2 Red King (7/2 morning line). “Philip D'Amato horse has been solid since last February. The two graded stakes efforts win this race easily if duplicated. Top rider Abel Cedillo take the mount. Remember, three of Red King’s four career victories have come over this turf course. Also, his $187,000 earned is tops in this field. Key with #4 Avalanche and #6 Posterize.”

 

Prior day’s results:

SATURDAY

Churchill Races No. 7-11

Ed Sehon liked the following $.50 Pick 5 (cost $48)

Race 7: #4 Dunbar Road, #8 She’s a Julie

Race 8: #6 In Good Spirits, #9 Sharing, #14 Aims

Race 9: #3 Global Campaign, #8 Owendale, #9 Extrordinary Jerry, #13 Mr. Money

Race 10: #10 Maxfield

Race 11: #5 Field Pass, #6 Hieronymus, #12 Pixelate, #13 Billy Batts

Result: 4-for-5 (paid $0)

Duane Colucci broke it down this way (cost $72)

Race 7: #4 Dunbar Road, #8 She’s a Julie

Race 8: #3 Walk in Marrakesh, #7 Outburst, #9 Sharing, #14 Aims

Race 9: #3 Global Campaign, #8 Owendale, #13 Mr. Money

Race 10: #2 Pneumatic, #6 Ny Traffic, #10 Maxfield

Race 11: #5 Field Pass, #9 Smooth Like Strait

Result: 5-for-5 (paid $414.85)

Churchill Race No. 9

Ed Sehon liked #3 Global Campaign (9/2 morning line)…raced 8th of 12 most of race but was only able to get up to finish 6th.

Gulfstream Race No. 10

Dave Tuley liked #7 Wile E Peyote (15/1 morning line)…went off 14/1…ran last of 8 for most of race and was only able to pass one horse, finishing a well-beaten 7th.

Churchill Race No. 10

Duane Colucci likes #6 Ny Traffic (10/1 morning line)…went off 7/2…sat right off the pace through first six furlongs, made move in stretch and grabbed lead but was unable to hold off winner…recommended to key and reverse with #2 Pneumatic and #10 Maxfield, with the 10-6 Exacta paying $25.20 for $2 and the Trifecta paying $41.80 for $1.

John Lauro liked #10 Maxfield (5/2 morning line)…went off as 6/5 favorite…ran 8th of 10 most of race, mounted three-wide rally in the stretch and got up to win by a length…paid $4.80 to Win…recommended to box with #2 Pneumatic and #6 Ny Traffic, with Exacta paying $25.20 for $2 and the Trifecta $41.80 for $1.

Churchill Race No. 11

Duane Colucci liked #5 Field Pass (4/1 morning line)…went off as 3/1 favorite…ran 12th of 13 for majority of race, mounted rally and got up for 3rd.

Santa Anita Race No. 8 (7:18 p.m. ET/4:18 p.m. PT)

Dave Tuley liked #3 Bold Endeavor (20/1 morning line), but he was SCRATCHED.

tuley_long_shots
back to news

VSIN_300x250

QuickPicks_300x250_080920_NFLkickoff

PropSwap_Logo_002_FullColor

Online Sports Betting Marketplace

Featured Tickets for Sale on PropSwap.com

1) SF 49ers to Win NFL Championship - Sale Price: $999, Collect: $2,000, Odds: +100

2) Gonzaga to Win NCAAB Championship - Sale Price: $216, Collect: $2,600, Odds: 11/1

3) LA Clippers to Win NBA Championship - Sale Price: $1,283, Collect: $5,000, Odds: +290

Go to PropSwap.com or call
1-844-PROPSWAP

All tickets are open to Bidding. Prices & availability are subject to change.

Headlines

View All

Google Play
App Store
Close