Tuley's Thoroughbred Takes for Friday-to-Sunday, Nov, 27-to-29

By Dave Tuley  (VSiN.com senior reporter) 

November 27, 2020 02:29 AM
Tuley_Thoroughbred_Takes

(Note: has been updated after Sunday’s early scratches)

 

Our stable of handicappers has been looking for value this holiday weekend and wrap it up with a look at Sunday’s cards from coast to coast.

 

Saturday was a bust as Ed Sehon had our best result with Charleston Strong running third in Aqueduct’s 4th race as Sehon recommended an across-the-board wager (Win, Place & Show) and Charleston Strong returned $12.80 to Show after going off at 25-1.

 

On Sunday, Sehon has two picks at Aqueduct (plus a ticket on the Cross Country Pick 5 with races at Aqueduct and Churchill Downs), I have a play at Aqueduct and Del Mar, while Duane Colucci and John Lauro both have a play at Del Mar. How’s that for covering the action from coast to coast?

 

Good luck today (and every day!).

 

SUNDAY

Aqueduct Race No. 4 (1:19 p.m. ET/10:19 a.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #7 The Sound (5-2 morning line). “There’s no hotter trainer in the game than Brad Cox, who sends out late-developing sophomore in super-competitive allowance mile after month break. While the quick son of super-sire Hard Spun is the least experienced colt in the field, look for him under N.Y. journeyman rider Eric Cancel to go to the front before entering stretch -- and never look back. The Sound is bound for victory. Wager: Win.”

 

Aqueduct Race No. 6 (2:15 p.m. ET/11:15 a.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #6 Stunning Princess (7-2 morning line). “Veteran trainer Danny Gargan, winning at an outstanding 24% rate for 2020, flourishes during cooler months at the Big A. After a pair of Place finishes this summer with promising 2-year-old filly, Gargan took a shot in Grade 1 stakes at Woodbine, where she struggled in the stretch and finished out of the money. Since then she’s been working steadily for third maiden test over the turf at a mile and a sixteenth. Adding to the appeal, this sweet Princess is the Stunning granddaughter of one of my favorite sires, Pioneerof the Nile. Better-than-ever rider Kendrick Carmouche picks up mount. Coed gets diploma today. Wager: Win & Place.”

 

Aqueduct Race No. 7 (2:44 p.m. ET/11:44 a.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes the following $0.50 Cross Country Pick 5 (cost $64)

Aqueduct Race 7: 3,7,9,11

Churchill Race 5: 1,6

Aqueduct Race 8: 2,3,5,7

Churchill Race 6: 3,6

Aqueduct Race 9: 2,4

 

Aqueduct Race No. 8 (2:15 p.m. ET/11:15 a.m. PT)

Dave Tuley likes #4 Absentee (20-1 morning line) in the Grade 3 Fall Highweight Handicap. “This 4-year-old horse is a consistent runner, having finished in the money in 13 of 15 career starts and is a nose away from having three straight trips to the winner’s circle. He’s stepping up in class from the optional claiming ranks, but he should get a nice, stalking trip from the No. 4 post and have a shot turning for home. At anything close to the 20-1 morning line, he’s clearly the betting value in the race. Wager: Win & Place.”

 

Del Mar Race No. 7 (5:58 p.m. ET/2:58 p.m. PT)

Dave Tuley likes #5 Commander Khai (15-1 morning line) in the Grade 3 Cecil B. DeMille. “This 2-year-old colt broke poorly in his stakes debut. If he breaks well this time, he should be the speed of the speed with a great chance to wire this field despite the step up in class. Wager: Win & Place.”

 

Duane Colucci likes #4 Beer Can Man (8-1). “Trainer Mark Glatt takes this colt over after two sprint wins at Indiana Grand. Glatt wins at 24% when taking a horse over for the first time. Two horses out of his last victory have returned to win. Bet 4 to Win and key 4 over 6,10 & 11 in exactas and trifectas and reverse.” 

 

Del Mar Race No. 9 (6:56 p.m. ET/3:56 p.m. PT)

John Lauro likes #3 Sharing (5-1 morning line) in the Grade 1 Matriarch Stakes. “Breeders’ Cup Juvenile Turf winner is back at her best distance with Manny Franco in to ride. Strong Win bet.”

 

back to news

FREE Email Sign-Up

Get the latest sports betting news & VSiN programming updates with this free daily email from VSiN, The Sports Betting Network.

Headlines

View All

custom-banner-3
VSiN Logo Plus

Free Trial

Make a risk-free bet on VSiN!

VSiN+ FREE TRIAL

  • Afternoon subscriber-only email with highlights and best bets from the day's programs
  • Point Spread Weekly, VSiN's digital magazine on sports betting
  • 24-7 Live video stream of VSiN programs plus replays
  • Any special sport-specified betting guides we do
  • All exclusive subscriber-only stories and data on VSiN.com
Sign Up Now
Google Play
App Store
Close