Tuley's Thoroughbred Takes (April 8-12)

By Dave Tuley  (VSiN.com senior reporter) 

April 8, 2020 01:40 AM
tuley_long_shots

This is our fourth weekly installment of “Tuley’s Thoroughbred Takes” as me and my stable of handicapping friends try to find value at the horseracing tracks that are still running during the coronavirus pandemic.

Ed Sehon and Duane Colucci got our crew off to a winning start Saturday with winners in Gulfstream’s 5th race and Oaklawn’s 4th race, respectively, but then Colucci and yours truly came up empty in Oaklawn’s stakes races, though Colucci did have Farmington Road, the runner-up in the Oaklawn Stakes. Full recaps at the end of this column.

We update this file daily, so here’s our plays for Sunday. Check back in the noon ET/9 a.m. PT hour if any of our horses are scratched to get updates.

SUNDAY

Gulfstream Race No. 2 (12:29 p.m. ET/9:29 a.m. PT)

Dave Tuley likes #12 London Werewolf (10/1 morning line). London Werewolf steps up in class in this $8,000 claiming race after rallying to win at the $6,250 level, but he can repeat with same effort. There’s a ton of speed on the inside of this six-furlong sprint, so London Werewolf should be able to sit off the pace and make a winning move in the stretch.

Gulfstream Race No. 10 (4:30 p.m. ET/1:30 PT)

Dave Tuley likes #8 Bold Paynter (10/1 morning line). Bold Paynter has been facing better in allowance races and drops into this $20,000 claimer. Again, the fast early pace should set up his closing kick.

Gulfstream Race No. 11 (5:01 p.m. ET/2:01 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #8 Guacamole (4/1 morning line). “I like Guacamole in this deep $62,500 optional-claiming allowance test for fillies, 3-year-olds and up. She’s turning back from a mile to six furlongs after a solid third-place effort against similar on March 9. She’s worked twice since then for track’s top trainer, Todd Pletcher, who had named talented Emisael Jaramillo to replace Luis Saez in the irons. Wager: Win – and box her in exactas with 3, 7 and 10.”

 

Recap of prior days’ picks:

 

WEDNESDAY

Tampa Bay Race No. 7 (3:30 p.m. ET/12:30 p.m. PT)

Dave Tuley liked #5 Solitary Jack (10/1 morning line)…went off 12/1…pressed the pace as predicted but wasn’t able to keep up and faded to finish 9th of 10…#4 Double Deep got the trip I expected from Solitary Jack and won as the 7/5 favorite.

Tampa Bay Race No. 8 (4 p.m. ET/1 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon liked #3 Clear As Day (7/2 morning line) to Win & Place…went off as the 3/1 favorite…stalked the early pacesetters and took the lead in the stretch and won by a nose…paid $8.80 to win and $5 to place.

 

THURSDAY

Gulfstream Race No. 5 (3:03 p.m. ET/12:03 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci liked #13 Chocolate Bar (8/1 morning line), but he was an early scratch from the also-eligible list.

Gulfstream Race No. 7 (4:05 p.m. ET/1:05 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci liked #2 Money Ride (3/1 morning line)…went off at 8/1…got bumped at start by #1 Flash Pass and wasn’t able to get to the lead as Colucci was counting on…ran evenly but didn’t have anything left in the stretch, finishing 4th of 7.

Gulfstream Race No. 8 (4:36 p.m. ET/1:36 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon liked #7 Preacher Marsee (4/1)…went off as 9/5 favorite…stalked the leaders through the first six furlongs, but then didn’t show expected late kick, finishing 4th of 11.

Gulfstream Race No. 9 (5:07 p.m. ET/2:07 p.m. PT)

Dave Tuley liked #7 Blewitt (20/1 morning line)…went off 6/1…showed early speed as predicted, gave up lead at the half-mile mark to my other price play (#6 Stone Hands, who went off at 23/1 but faded to finish last), then regained control and romped by 5 lengths, paying $15.60 to Win and $7.60 to Place (and topping $30.10 exacta for those who used with the favorite, #4 Moretti).

 

FRIDAY

Gulfstream Race No. 6 (3:39 p.m. ET/12:39 p.m. PT)

Dave Tuley liked #4 Phish Fan (6/1 morning line) and #6 Killa Dee (10/1)…they were bet down to 5/1 and 3/1, respectively…Killa Dee bolted out to early lead as the race unfolded exactly opposite of how I expected it to be run…Killa Dee did hold on to finish 3rd while Phish Fan never mounted a threat and finished 6th of 7.

Gulfstream Race No. 7 (4:10 p.m. ET/1:10 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci liked #6 Magic River (6/1 morning line)…went off 5/1…Magic River raced mid-pack most of the race as expected, but failed to make a late run, finishing 6th of 11.

Gulfstream Race No. 8 (4:41 p.m. ET/1:41 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon liked #3 Sweet Mia (8/1 morning line)…went off 7/1… Sweet Mia helped set early pace, took control and got passed late to finish 2nd by a length and a quarter, paying $5.60 to Place and $4 to Show.

 

SATURDAY

Gulfstream Race No. 5 (2:23 p.m. ET/11:23 a.m. PT)

Ed Sehon liked #6 Lashara (8/1 morning line)…went off 8/5 favorite…ran in back of pack early, moved up to 3rd after six furlongs, made move in stretch to Win by three-quarters of a length, returning $5.60 to Win and $3.40 to Place.

Oaklawn Race No. 4 (3:10 p.m. ET/12:10 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci liked #2 Shooters Shoot (7/2 morning line)…went off as 5/2 second choice…set early fractions with favorite Blackberry Wine as they battled back and forth with Shooters Shoot prevailing by a neck, returning $7.20 to Win and $4.40 to Place.

Oaklawn Race No. 9 (5:43 p.m. ET/2:43 p.m. PT)

Dave Tuley and Duane Colucci both liked #2 Mr. Money (4/1 morning line)…went off 5/1…raced in mid-pack throughout and came up empty in the stretch….Tuley’s underneath horses, #4 Pioneer Spirit (16/1) and #7 Snapper Sinclair (14/1) finished 4th and 8th, respectively, while Colucci’s #3 Tom’s d’Etat (4/5 favorite) and #8 Bankit (14/1) got split in the trifecta by finishing 1st and 3rd.

Oaklawn Race No. 11 (6:48 p.m. ET/3:48 p.m. PT)

Dave Tuley liked #7 Flap Jack (20/1) and #6 Shoplifted (10/1)…went off 49/1 and 17/1, respectively…Flap Jack stalked early pacesetters but gave way, while Shoplifted rallied as expected and got up to 3rd in the stretch but faltered and finished 5th.

Duane Colucci liked #12 Farmington Road (6/1 morning line)…went off 6/1…raced in last of 13 through first half-mile, then closed strongly as Colucci predicted to get up for 2nd by just a half-length, returning $8 to Place.

 

back to news

Get the FREE VSiN Email

Key line movements -- and what they should mean to you -- delivered to your inbox every morning.

QP-PGA-Winning-DeChambeau-Woods-July7-150ppi-300x250

VSIN_300x250

PropSwap_Logo_002_FullColor

Online Sports Betting Marketplace

Featured Tickets for Sale on PropSwap.com

1) SF 49ers to Win NFL Championship - Sale Price: $999, Collect: $2,000, Odds: +100

2) Gonzaga to Win NCAAB Championship - Sale Price: $216, Collect: $2,600, Odds: 11/1

3) LA Clippers to Win NBA Championship - Sale Price: $1,283, Collect: $5,000, Odds: +290

Go to PropSwap.com or call
1-844-PROPSWAP

All tickets are open to Bidding. Prices & availability are subject to change.

Google Play
App Store
Close