7_day_free_trial

Tuley's Thoroughbred Takes (April 15-19)

By Dave Tuley  (VSiN.com senior reporter) 

April 14, 2020 11:25 PM
tuley_long_shots

This is our fifth weekly installment of “Tuley’s Thoroughbred Takes” as me and my stable of handicapping friends try to find value at the horseracing tracks that are still running during the coronavirus pandemic.

Our group went 0-for-8 on Saturday, but that’ll happen sometimes when you’re trying to beat the chalk (full recap at the end of this column, along with an offer from 1st Bet/Xpressbet).

On Sunday, we hope to fare better as we have two plays (and more to be added later in the morning). We hope you’re in the routine of checking these weekly files every morning for that day’s plays (and again in the noon ET/9 a.m. PT hour if there are any scratches). Good luck, and stay safe.

SUNDAY

Tampa Bay Race No. 8 (4:15 p.m. ET/1:15 p.m. PT)

Dave Tuley likes #6 Back Page (20/1 morning line). Who’s going to go to the lead in his seven-furlong battle of cheap claimers? Back Page might inherit it by default as there’s no definite early speed in this race, and none of them are consistent closers either, so Back Page might just take it wire to wire. Certainly worth a shot at this price or anything in double digits.

Gulfstream Race No. 8 (4:25 p.m. ET/1:25 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #5 No Word (3/1 morning line). “When in need of a winner, in perennial top trainer Todd Pletcher we trust. This regally bred colt (grandson of Sunday Silence and A.P. Indy) is making his 3-year-old debut after two strong 2019 juvenile efforts in New York. I expect a stalking trip in this 1-mile turf test for non-winners of one other than claiming. Accomplished rider Luis Saez picks up the mount for Jose Ortiz, who is taking the meet off. Wager: Win.”

Oaklawn Race No. 9 (6:09 p.m. ET/3:09 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes #2 Two Thirty Five (5/1 morning line). “This Richard Baltas trainee drops into a nice spot after holding his own in graded competition the last three in California. Distance cut back also helps. His class alone should be enough to win this tough optional claimer. Also, if the track becomes sloppy – and the forecast calls for rain Sunday at Oaklawn – I will also use #1 Guest Suite (10/1), who is 3-for-4 on a wet track, banking $218,000 over wet surfaces.”

 

Recap of prior day’s picks

SATURDAY

Gulfstream Race No. 7 (3:48 p.m. ET/12:48 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon liked #5 Holy Emperor (5/2 morning line)…went off 2/1…had stalking trip as expected but failed to fire in the stretch, finishing 6th of 8.

Tampa Bay Race No. 8 (4 p.m. ET/1 p.m. PT)

Dave Tuley liked #4 G Q Girl (10/1 morning line)…went off 5/1…sat off the pace as predicted, but only got up to third place and didn’t have the closing kick we expected.

Gulfstream Race No. 9 (4:21 p.m. ET/1:21 p.m. PT)

Dave Tuley liked #8 Harryhee (15/1 morning line)…went off 20/1…set the early pace as predicted, but headed at the quarter pole and faded to finish last of 8.

Gulfstream Race No. 9 (4:53 p.m. ET/1:53 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes #7 Mintd (10/1 morning line)….SCRATCHED when race taken off the turf and run on the sloppy dirt track.

Oaklawn Race No. 8 (5:14 p.m. ET/2:14 p.m. PT)

John Lauro and Duane Colucci both tried to beat the favorite, Whitmore (who won the Count Fleet at 3/1))…Lauro liked Bobby’s Wicked One (3/1 morning line, went off 9/2), who contested the lead for the first half of the six-furlong race but then stopped and faded to finish last in the field of 11…Colucci liked #5 Wendell Fong (30/1 morning line, went off 26/1), who outran his odds by stalking the pacesetters in fourth place, but only finished 5th.

Gulfstream Race No. 11 (5:57 p.m. ET/2:57 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon liked #11 Celia’s Song (15/1 morning line)…went off 5/1 after several scratches when this race was move the turf to a sloppy track…stalked the pacesetters as expected but didn’t threaten in the stretch, finishing 4th of 8.

Oaklawn Race No. 10 (6:16 p.m. ET/3:16 p.m. PT)

John Lauro liked #11 Serengeti Empress (4/1 morning line)…went off as 2/1 favorite…pressed the pace but then gave way, finishing 11th of 14…Lauro did predict #14 Ce Ce (7/2) would get up for the Place spot, but ended up getting up to Win, paying $9.80.

 

Get $10 free bet when you sign up with 1st Bet

You can bet Dave's picks at 1st Bet, a new betting and handicapping product from Xpressbet.

First Bet’s features include wagering on all of the top tracks and A-I-enhanced handicapping tools that tap into a library of more than 200,000 past races to identify horses racing today that fit a winning pattern. 

Use the promo code “VSiN500” to get a $10 free bet as soon as you sign up. Plus – receive up to a $500 bonus for wagering in your first 30 days. GO TO 1ST.COM/BET.

back to news

Get FREE VSiN Email

Key line movements -- and what they mean to you -- delivered daily

 

VSIN_300x250

QuickPicks_300x250_080920_NFLkickoff

PropSwap_Logo_002_FullColor

Online Sports Betting Marketplace

Featured Tickets for Sale on PropSwap.com

1) SF 49ers to Win NFL Championship - Sale Price: $999, Collect: $2,000, Odds: +100

2) Gonzaga to Win NCAAB Championship - Sale Price: $216, Collect: $2,600, Odds: 11/1

3) LA Clippers to Win NBA Championship - Sale Price: $1,283, Collect: $5,000, Odds: +290

Go to PropSwap.com or call
1-844-PROPSWAP

All tickets are open to Bidding. Prices & availability are subject to change.

Google Play
App Store
Close