Tuley's Thoroughbred Takes (April 1-5)

By Dave Tuley  (VSiN.com senior reporter) 

April 1, 2020 01:52 AM

Here’s our third weekly installment of “Tuley’s Thoroughbred Takes” as me and my stable of handicapping friends try to find value at the horseracing tracks that are still running this week.

We have four plays on Sunday, kicking off with one at Tampa Bay Downs and three at Gulfstream Park to end the weekend (recap of Saturday’s plays are at the end of the file as we had some live horses finish second and third but came up short of the winner’s circle). Good luck no matter how you play the ponies on Sunday – and be safe out there.

Tampa Bay Race No. 8 (3:51 p.m. ET/12:51 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes #5 Outshine (4/1 morning line). “This Todd Pletcher-trainee has several turf bullet works prepping to try the new surface after a few dull tries on the dirt. He loved the dirt surface here last year, finishing second to stakes competitor Tacitus, so he is used to the surroundings and gets a top rider in Daniel Centeno for this somewhat of a class drop.”

Gulfstream Race No. 8 (4:41 p.m. ET/1:41 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #6 Voodoo Zip (5/2 morning line). “It’s a chalky pick, but what’s not to like? Great breeding (City Zip/Bernardini mare); excellent trainer, Danny Gargan (24 wins from last 61 runners); and meet’s early leading jockey Tyler Gaffalione. Wearing blinkers for the second consecutive race, Voodoo Zip appears poised for a front-running effort to break his maiden.”

Gulfstream Race No. 9 (5:13 p.m. ET/2:13 p.m. PT)

John Lauro likes #3 Totono (12/1 morning line). “This one is from my horses-to-watch list. I spotted him last time at 100/1 as he almost stole the race. He finished second with a 93 BRIS rating; that’s good enough to take this and 12/1 should be about right.”

Gulfstream Race No. 11 (6:16 p.m. ET/3:16 p.m. PT)

Dave Tuley likes #6 Helen Hayes (6/1 morning line). First of all, we can toss out her last two races at Arlington Park as they were both taken off the turf and run on the all-weather track. Returning to the turf, she fits right in with these $12,500 claimers and should be on or near the lead. I’ll use in exotics with other stalkers: #5 Catnip Kitten (5/2), #8 Aguas Coloradas (8/1) and #11 Dana Grace (30/1).

 

Recap of Saturday’s picks:

Gulfstream Race No. 9 (4:49 p.m. ET/1:49 p.m. PT)

Dave Tuley liked #2 Uncaptured King (10/1 morning line)…went off 20/1…dropped back early and came on late as expected but was only able to get up for third place (did pay $8.40 to show for anyone who played him across the board)…of the other horses I included in exotics, #7 Iberico was scratched, so we just boxed Uncaptured King with #5 Inter Miami (went off as 3/2 favorite) and #8 Maserati Man (went off 11/1)….Maserati Man actually got up for second.

Gulfstream Race No. 10 (5:20 p.m. ET/2:20 p.m. PT)

We had three different opinions on this race. Ed Sehon liked #2 Kroy (6/1 morning line, went off 13/1) and he ran second at every call and paid a very generous $12.60 to place. Duane Colucci liked #9 Penalty (12/1 morning line, went off 5/1) and he got up for third. I liked #5 Mai Ty One On (12/1 morning line, went off 21/1), but she didn’t break as well as I expected and never got in the race, finishing ninth of 10.

Gulfstream Race No. 11 (5:51 p.m. ET/2:51 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci liked #1 Tomcat Black (8/1 morning line, went off 13/1), but he got knocked around at the start and never got into the race, running seventh at every call.

back to news

Get the FREE VSiN Email

Key line movements -- and what they should mean to you -- delivered to your inbox every morning.

QP-Live-You-Bet-Its-Fun-NASCAR-Harvick-Hamlin-Matchups-Static-300x250

EP1014_VSIN_BANNER_300x250_A

PropSwap_Logo_002_FullColor

Online Sports Betting Marketplace

Featured Tickets for Sale on PropSwap.com

1) SF 49ers to Win NFL Championship - Sale Price: $999, Collect: $2,000, Odds: +100

2) Gonzaga to Win NCAAB Championship - Sale Price: $216, Collect: $2,600, Odds: 11/1

3) LA Clippers to Win NBA Championship - Sale Price: $1,283, Collect: $5,000, Odds: +290

Go to PropSwap.com or call
1-844-PROPSWAP

All tickets are open to Bidding. Prices & availability are subject to change.

Google Play
App Store
Close