Live On Air

Streaming Now: Follow The Money

play Watch Live radio Listen Live

Tuley's Thoroughbred Takes (3-13)

By Dave Tuley  (VSiN.com senior reporter) 

March 13, 2021 02:47 AM

(Note: Updated after Saturday’s early scratches.)

Team Tuley continues to look for value from coast to coast, and this week we have plays from Aqueduct in New York to Gulfstream Park in Florida to Oaklawn Park in Arkansas to Santa Anita in California.

Last Saturday, my friend Ed Sehon and I gave out Weyburn, who went off at 46-1 in the Gotham Stakes at Aqueduct, and he paid a whopping $95.50 to Win and $26.80 to Place...and I also suggested using Duane Colucci’s picks and we combined to hit the $277.50 exacta (on a $1 base bet) and $336.50 trifecta ($.50 base bet). We were happy to hear from several readers who cashed along with us.

Sehon and I both have two spot plays on Saturday, plus Sehon adds an early Pick 4 at Gulfstream. In addition, Rampart race & sports book manager Colucci added two stakes picks on Saturday morning, plus Pick 4s at Aqueduct and Oaklawn.

Good luck today (and every day).

SATURDAY

Gulfstream Races Nos. 2-5 (12:39 p.m. ET/9:39 a.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes the following $.50 Pick 4 (cost $48 after scratch)

Race 2: 4,6 (7 scratched)

Race 3: 2,4,5,8

Race 4: 5,6,7

Race 5: 1,4,7,8

Aqueduct Races Nos. 7-10 (3:52 p.m. ET/12:52 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes the following $.50 Pick 4 (cost $72)

Race 7: 3,4,7,8

Race 8: 2,6,7,8

Race 9: 3,6,7

Race 10: 4,9,10

Gulfstream Race No. 9 (4:14 p.m. ET/1:14 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #6 Please the Pharoah (12-1 morning line). “Today is the day this thus-far underachieving, expensive ($320,000) son of Triple Crown champ American Pharoah either gets the job done -- or heads for the maiden claiming ranks. I’m encouraged by his steady progress, especially his one-length, fourth-place finish six weeks ago, and the fact that steady Joe Bravo elects to stay aboard for able conditioner John Kimmel. In search of value, I’ll roll the dice with this son of a great one. Wager: Win & Place.”

Aqueduct Race No. 9 (4:55 p.m. ET/1:55 p.m. PT)

Dave Tuley likes #2 Sadie Lady (6-1 morning line) in the $100,000 Correction Stakes. “This 5-year-old mare is stepping up in class, but is the most consistent front-runner in the race and has a great chance to take this wire to wire. #6 Awesome Debate is the other threat, but Sadie Lady should be able to grab the lead from the inside post. Wager: Win.”

Duane Colucci likes #6 Awesome Debate (7-2 morning line). “Charlton Baker has this mare moving forward each and every start and she owns three wins from five starts over this course. Has enough tactical speed to control the pace or just sit off it. Baker and jockey Jorge Vargas are hitting at 25% at Aqueduct this year when joining forces/ Bet 6 to Win and key 6 over 2,3 & 7 in exactas and trifectas and reverse.”

Oaklawn Races Nos. 9-12 (5:13 p.m. ET/2:13 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes the following $.50 Pick 4 (cost $72)

Race 9: 1,2,4,8,9,10

Race 10: 1,4,6,7

Race 11: 1,4,6

Race 12: 4,7

Gulfstream Race No. 11 (5:19 p.m. ET/2:19 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #4 Carotari (3-1 morning line) in the $75,000 Silks Run Stakes. “Sharp trainer Brian Lynch brings 5-year-old gelded son of Artie Schiller back to the friendly confines of Gulfstream Park where he’s won nearly $100,000 in his three previous win-or-place South Florida efforts. Regular rider Julian Laparoux gets the assignment. Carotari’s my choice as horse for the sprint turf course. Wager: Win and box in exactas with 3,6 & 7.”

Santa Anita Race No. 7 (6:46 p.m. ET/3:46 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes #1 Barristan The Bold (15-1 morning line) in the Grade 3 San Simeon Stakes. “This Mark Glatt gelding ran very well early last year and has been training solidly for his return. Glatt has a $2.37 ROI when entering runners in graded stakes and the price will be ripe on this one! Bet 1 to Win and key 1 over 2,3,4 & 5 in exactas and trifectas and reverse.”

Santa Anita Race No. 8 (7:20 p.m. ET/4:20 p.m. PT)

Dave Tuley likes #5 Miss Stormy D (20-1 morning line) in the Grade 1 Beholder Mile Stakes. “All eyes will be on #1 Swiss Skydiver in her 2021 debut, but I’m taking a flier on this 5-year-old mare as the lone speed in the race. A lot of handicappers will throw her out after she gave up the lead late in her last race, but that was on turf and the move back to dirt should help her carry her speed all the way. Wager: Win & Place.”

 
 
back to news

FREE Email Sign-Up

Get the latest sports betting news & VSiN programming updates with this free daily email from VSiN, The Sports Betting Network.

Headlines

View All

custom-banner-3
VSiN Logo Plus

Free Trial

Make a risk-free bet on VSiN!

VSiN+ FREE TRIAL

  • Afternoon subscriber-only email with highlights and best bets from the day's programs
  • Point Spread Weekly, VSiN's digital magazine on sports betting
  • 24-7 Live video stream of VSiN programs plus replays
  • Any special sport-specified betting guides we do
  • All exclusive subscriber-only stories and data on VSiN.com
Sign Up Now
Google Play
App Store
Close