Team Tuley's Thoroughbred Takes for Saturday's big racing day at Monmouth, Saratoga, Del Mar 7/23

By Dave Tuley  (VSiN.com senior reporter) 

July 23, 2022 12:09 PM
Monmouth_Park

TTTT regular contributor Ed Sehon continues on assignment with his “Mr. Ed’s Saratoga bankroll plays” at VSiN.com/horses, but he’s still here with his non-Saratoga plays each Saturday along with Rampart race and sports book manager Duane Colucci as we continue to look for value plays at tracks from coast to coast.

Last Saturday, Sehon gave us $15.52 and $5.14 winners at Ellis Park and then topped it off with a $366.83 Pick 4 payoff on a $0.50 base bet. A week after my $74.40 winner on Key Biscayne at Delaware, I had a $9.40 Place horse with my lone pick as my other selection was scratched.

This Saturday, we have plays from Saratoga, Monmouth (big Haskell Day card) and Del Mar, including Pick 4s from all three tracks.

Good luck today (and every day!).

SATURDAY

Monmouth Park Race No. 6 (2:24 p.m. ET/11:24 a.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #8 Dust Devil (3-1 morning line). “Anytime trainer Bill Most stops by NJ oval with consistent performer and top Spa jockey Joel Rosario just happens to be on grounds to ride, I take notice. Works point to preparedness. All guy needs to score is — a winning ride. Look for devil to dust them. Wager: Win and Place.”

Monmouth Park Races Nos. 9-12 (4:05 p.m. ET/1:05 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes this $2 Pick 4 (cost $36)

Race 9: 2,4,6

Race 10: 3,7

Race 11: 1,4,6

Race 12: 7

Duane Colucci like this $.50 Pick 4 (cost $48)

Race 9: 4,5,6,7

Race 10: 2,3,5,7

Race 11: 1,4,10

Race 12: 2,7

Monmouth Park Race No. 10 (4:38 p.m. ET/1:38 p.m. PT)

Dave Tuley likes #5 Beth’s Dream (6-1 morning line). “This 4-year-old filly is stepping up in class, but she looks to me to be the speed of the speed and capable of wiring this field. She lost her last race as the favorite by a head, but I think that’s the reason we’re getting a fair price. Wager: Win (and Place only if she gets ignored by the public and drifts up higher).”

Saratoga Races Nos. 8-11 (5:01 p.m. ET/2:01 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci like this $.50 Pick 4 (cost $48)

Race 8: 1,4,6,7

Race 9: 1,6,7

Race 10: 1,2,3,4

Race 11: 8,10

Monmouth Park Race No. 11 (5:09 p.m. ET/2:09 p.m. PT)

Dave Tuley likes #2 Carpenters Call (20-1 morning line). “This is an ambitious step up into Grade 1 company for this 4-year-old colt, but trainer Gerald Bennett is 20 percent with placing his horses after a win and 15 percent with turfers, plus jockey Samy Camacho is hitting 22 percent for Bennett the past two months. Carpenters Call should get a ground-saving trip from the No. 2 post and we’ll see in the stretch if I’ve made the right call. Wager: Win and Place.”

Monmouth Park Race No. 12 (5:45 p.m. ET/2:45 p.m. PT

Ed Sehon’s BEST BET is #7 Jack Christopher (3-2 morning line). “Unblemished (4 for 4), budding superstar might end up being fastest horse Chad Brown has ever trained, to paraphrase his conditioner. Today’s assignment: sophomore needs to show he can go distance (1 1/8 miles). If so, road leads to Breeders’ Cup Classic. If not, Breeders’s Cup Mile. I’m putting my money on Classic.”

Saratoga Race No. 10 (6:13 p.m. ET/3:13 p.m. PT)

Dave Tuley likes #6 Robin Sparkles (15-1 morning line). “Fans of the TV show, ‘How I Met Your Mother’ will get a big kick out of this mare’s name. But you won’t have to look all over to find her in this field as she should be the frontrunner and we’re counting on her going the distance. If I cash on this, it will be Legen … wait for it … dary. Wager: Win and Place.”

Del Mar Races Nos. 8-11 (8:34 p.m. ET/5:34 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci like this $.50 Pick 4 (cost $72)

Race 8: 3,4,6,8

Race 9: 2,3,4,6

Race 10: 6,7,10

Race 11: 1,4,8

Del Mar Race 10 (9:34 p.m. ET/6:34 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes #10 Apprehend (12-1 morning line). “MIller trainee has scored at Oaklawn and Santa Anita, improving in each start. Solid workouts and Joe Bravo takes the mount. Bravo and MIller were super when combining at Del Mar last year with a $3.76 ROI, plus this 3-year-old is catching some older sprinters who are not as fast as they once were. Bet 10 to Win and key 10 over 2,6,7 in Exactas, Trifectas and reverse.”

back to news


spacer_5

Headlines

View All

Google Play
App Store
Close