Live On Air

Streaming Now: My Guys in the Desert

play Watch Live radio Listen Live

Team Tuley's Thoroughbred Takes for races on Saturday, April 2

By Dave Tuley  (VSiN senior reporter) 

April 2, 2022 12:23 PM

We know most bettors are concentrating on Saturday’s Final Four, but Team Tuley is looking for value at tracks from coast to coast in the hours preceding.

Last Saturday, I was carried by our crew as Rampart race and sports book manager Duane Colucci had Blewitt ($6) at Aqueduct while other at Fair Grounds, Ed Sehon had a winner with Marsalis ($2.60 and the Exacta) and John Lauro had the Oaks-Derby Double with Echo Zulu and Epicenter (DD paid $4.40 for basically a two-race parlay). At least I used Echo Zulu in my separate “1stBET A.I. Pick of the Week to get back to over .500 the past year on those plays.

This Saturday, our team has plays at Gulfstream in Florida and Oaklawn in Arkansas, highlighted by differing opinions in the Florida and Arkansas Derbies. 

Good luck today (and every day).

SATURDAY

Gulfstream Race No. 7 (2:27 p.m. ET/11:27 a.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #4 Crystal Cliffs (9-2 morning line). “Always-sharp trainer Graham Motion ships ultra-consistent mare south for Sand Spring Stakes over turf oval. Away since last summer, gal sports string of maintenance works at Palm Meadows. Top rider Tyler Gaffalione picks up mount. Wager: Win and box in Exactas with 1 and 5.”

 

Oaklawn Race No. 4 (2:46 p.m. ET/11:46 a.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #5 Title Ready (7-2 morning line). “Dallas Stewart saddles graded-stakes winning, hard-charging 7-year-old son of super sire More Than Ready for one mile comebacker. Speedy works add to appeal. In Johnny V. we trust. Wager: Win and bet cold Daily Double with #2 Frank’s Rockette in Race No. 5.”

 

Gulfstream Race No. 9 (3:37 p.m. ET/12:37 p.m. PT)

Dave Tuley likes 4 Tide of the Sea (20-1 morning line) in the Grade 2 Pan American Stakes. “I usually prefer when I can find the clear-cut speed horse in a race and try to steal it wire-to-wire. This Michael Maker trainee (16 percent in more than 2,400 turf starts) can win on the lead if allowed to set a slower pace around :48 and change, but can also come off the pace. He shouldn’t be anywhere near 20-1 – and we don’t expect it – but anything at 10-1 and above is value. Wager: Win and Place.”

 

Oaklawn Races Nos. 6-9 (3:52 p.m. ET/12:52 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes the following $.50 Pick 4 (cost $54)

Race 6: 1,4,5

Race 7: 1,5,6

Race 8: 5,8,9

Race 9: 3,4,5,6

 

Gulfstream Race No. 10 (4:09 p.m. ET/1:09 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #4 Weyburn (10-1 morning line) in the Sir Shackleton Stakes. “Long-anticipated return of last year’s Tuley’s Thoroughbred Takes 46-1 bomb for new trainer Brendan Walsh. Super work tab says he’s ready to once again rock and roll in 7-furlong sprint under Tyler Gaffalione. Wager: Win and Place.”

 

Gulfstream Race No. 11 (4:43 p.m. ET/1:43 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes #1 Mischievous Kiss (2-1 morning line) in the Sanibel Island Stakes. “Bill Mott trainee gave a solid effort over this course in her first asking this year. Joel Rosario takes the mount with two fitness works since last start. Bet 1 to Win and key 1 over 2,4 and 8 in Exactas, Trifectas and reverse.”

 

Gulfstream Race No. 12 (5:17 p.m. ET/2:17 p.m. PT)

Dave Tuley likes #1 Cancel This (20-1 morning line) in the Grade 2 Gulfstream Park Oaks. “Again, I doubt we get 20-1 in a seven-horse field with Joel Rosario riding for Dale Romans, but Cancel This should have a shot turning for home with Rosario showing his knack for getting the most out of closers. Romans hits at 17 percent moving horses from sprints to routes and Cancel This also has the right to improve on third-time Lasix.”

 

Gulfstream Race No. 14 (6:38 p.m. ET/3:38 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #7 White Abarrio (3-1 morning line) in the Grade 1 Florida Derby. “Victorious in 3 of 4 starts, including runaway score in Holy Bull Stakes eight weeks ago over GP dirt, son of Race Day has been working up a storm in morning. He should love added distance. Tyler Gaffalione returns to saddle for hot trainer Saffie Joseph Jr. Wager: Win.”

 

Duane Colucci likes #2 Classic Causeway (7-2 morning line). “The Tampa Bay Derby winner stretches out again trying to keep his prep win streak going. A sharp work on March 26 ensures fitness and he should be forwardly placed from Post No. 2. Trainer Brian Lynch and jockey Irad Ortiz Jr. have been perfect this year when teaming up. Bet 2 to Win and key 2 over 3,6 and 7 in Exactas, Trifectas and reverse.”

 

John Lauro likes #3 Simplification (5-2 morning line). Earlier in the week, Lauro texted me to say he was picking Simplification, who we both have in Kentucky Derby futures, “if he draws inside. After Simplification drew Post No. 3, he wrote back, “He is my Best Bet of the week.”

 

Oaklawn Race No. 12 (7:35 p.m. ET/4:35 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes the lady, #6 Secret Oath (5-2 morning line) in the Grade 1 Arkansas Derby. “When HOF trainer D. Wayne Lukas speaks, I listen. It’s no secret – he says his talented filly can beat the boys. Winner of her last three without really trying under up-and-coming rider Luis Contreras, I’m ready to take an oath of allegiance. Wager: Win.”

 

Dave Tuley likes #3 Barber Road (8-1 morning line). “This 3-year-old colt comes out of a third-place finish in the Rebel where he had to deal with a lot of traffic but kept coming on. A cleaner trip could lead to the winner’s circle. Wager: Win and Place. 

 

Oaklawn Race No. 13 (8:10 p.m. ET/5:10 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes #4 Ima Bling Cat (6-1 morning line). “Trainer Karl Bloberg claimed this one off a wire-to-wire victory here and now adds jockey Reylu Gutierrez, who is riding at 24 percent this meet. Bloberg is 21 percent off the claim. Bloberg dipped in to get this horse back, which is always a good sign. Bet 4 to Win and key 4 over 2,7 and 9 in Exactas, Trifectas and reverse.”

 

Note: also check out our A.I. Pick of the Week at vsin.com/horses early this afternoon as we’ve gone 25-for-49 (51 percent) since taking over the feature. There are also more plays from 1ST/BET handicappers on that page at vsin.com/horses.

 

 
back to news

Related News


spacer_5

Ask VSiN Your Sports Betting Questions

Spell Check

Headlines

View All

Google Play
App Store
Close