Team Tuley's Thoroughbred Takes for races on Saturday 9/3

By Dave Tuley  (VSiN.com senior reporter) 

Keepmeinmind

We know today is the real opening day for college football, but there’s still time to fit in some horse racing for your Saturday betting action, so Team Tuley continues to look for value at tracks from coast to coast.

This Saturday, I’m joined by my regular crew of Ed Sehon (aka Mr. Ed, whose Saratoga plays are in his own column at VSiN.com), Rampart race and sports book manager Duane Colucci and John Lauro as we have plays from Saratoga in New York, Kentucky Downs in, well, Kentucky, and Del Mar in California.

Good luck today (and every day!).

SATURDAY

Kentucky Downs Race No. 3 (2:31 p.m. ET/11:31 a.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #5 Sense Shines (8-1 morning line). “Well-bred 3-year-old gelding returns after lengthy layoff following score on slop at Belmont. Recent work indicate he’s ready to return in winning fashion. New favorite blue grass rider Geraldo Corrales picks up mount for Wesley Ward. Sense turns into dollars. Wager: Win and Place.”

Kentucky Downs Race No. 5 (3:39 p.m. ET/12:39 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #2 Bravo Kitten (10-1 morning line). “Up-and-coming trainer Saffie Joseph Jr. stretches improving daughter of Kitten’s Joy out for owner Ken Ramsey. The addition of blinkers and jockey Geraldo Corrales add to appeal. Look for her late. Wager: Win and Place and 2,5,8 Exacta and Trifecta Boxes.”

Saratoga Races Nos. 9-13 (4:32 p.m. ET/1:32 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes a $.50 Pick 4 (cost $64)

Race 10: 3,4

Race 11: 5,6,7,8

Race 12: 3,5,6,7

Race 13: 7,8,9,11

Saratoga Race No. 10 (5:09 p.m. ET/2:09 p.m. PT)

Dave Tuley likes #1 Capital Structure (15-1 morning line) in the Grade 2 Flower Bowl Stakes. “#4 War Like Goddess (2-5) is obviously a monster in there., but I’ll take a flier on Capital Structure as they should be closing down the stretch together (1-4 Exacta box sound nice). This 5-year-old mare is obviously stepping up in class, but we certainly trust trainer Chad Brown how to place his horses, plus he hits at 24 percent when using jockey Jose Ortiz the past two months. Wager: Win and Place in addition to Exacta box.” 

Kentucky Downs Race No. 8 (5:23 p.m. ET/2:23 p.m. PT)

Dave Tuley likes #7 Laver (12-1 morning line) in the $500,000 Kentucky Downs Juvenile Mile. “This is an ambitious move by trainer George Arnold as Laver is still a maiden, but he’s 22 percent with horses in their second career race (out of 81 such starters), so he’s good at this. Laver was closing strong under jockey Chris Landeros to just miss by just over a length and could pull the upset here with just a little more improvement. Wager: Win and Place.” 

Kentucky Downs Race Nos. 8-11 (5:23 p.m. ET/2:23 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes a $0.50 Pick 4 (cost $54)

Race 8: 3,4,5

Race 9: 2,3,9,11

Race 10: 3,8,9

Race 11: 6,7,11

Saratoga Race No. 11 (5:45 p.m. ET/2:45 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes #7 Keepmeinmind (12-1 morning line) in the Grade 1 Jockey Club Gold Cup. “Trainer Todd Pletcher has done a good job with this colt since taking over. A nice 1 1/8-mile win, solid works and jockey Javier Castellano in the saddle make him a value play at a great price. Also has a win and a 2nd in 3 starts at Saratoga. Bet 7 to Win and key 7 over 5,6,8 in Exactas, Trifectas and reverse.”

John Lauro also liked #7 Keepmeinmind (12-1) earlier in the week without knowing Colucci was going to pick him.

Kentucky Downs Race No. 11 (7:05 p.m. ET/4:05 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes three: #6 Intrigue (6-1 morning line) for trainer Michael Maker; #7 Fascination (4-1) for Brad Cox; and #11 Shady Road (7-2) for Rusty Arnold. Wager: Exacta and Trifecta Boxes of 6,7,11.”

Del Mar Race No. 7 (7:10 p.m. ET/4:10 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes #3 Irideo (5-1 morning line) in the Grade 2 Del Mar Mile. “Trainer Marcelo Polanco having a super meet and brings this gelding into the Mile razor sharp off a score here in the Wicker. It’s a small sample, but when Polanco and jockey Hector Berrios team up they hit at 50% and a $19.40 ROI. Should be flying late. Bet 3 to Win and key 3 over 4,7,9 in Exactas, Trifectas and reverse.”

Dave Tuley also likes #3 Irideo (5-1). “This race should set up for a closer and Irideo fits the bill. We’re not getting the 31-1 price that he was in the Wicker, but anything around 5-1 is fair value for him to repeat over the Del Mar turf course that he clearly loved last time out. Wager: Win.”

 

back to news

Subscriber Only News  Vsin Exclusive

View All

Screen_Shot_2022-08-22_at_12.19.15_AM

A Numbers Game: If betting teasers, make sure you check house rules on whether a push on a leg is a loss or not.

VSiN Final Countdown: In the MLB Postseason, handicapping bullpens is equally important, if not more so, to handicapping starting pitching.

View tips for Pro subscribers

Screen_Shot_2022-08-22_at_12.19.15_AM

Scott Spreitzer: Phillies/Cardinals F5 UNDER 3.5

Mitch Moss: Cardinals-Phillies Over 2.5 Games

View new sortable Picks at a Glance page for Pro subscribers

Screen_Shot_2022-08-22_at_12.19.15_AM

Screen_Shot_2022-10-06_at_5.45.45_PM

Betting Splits: Percentage of handle & tickets from DraftKings, updated every 10 minutes. GO HERE.

NFL Power Ratings: 3 sets of numbers from Steve Makinen. GO HERE.

CFB Power Ratings: 3 sets of numbers from Steve Makinen. GO HERE.

View more CFB tools for Pro subscribers

View more NFL tools for Pro subscribers

 

 

Close