Team Tuley's Thoroughbred Takes for races on Saturday 9/10

By Dave Tuley  (VSiN.com senior reporter) 

Kentucky_Downs

We know everyone (at least it seems like everyone, or at least everyone in our world) is immersed in the football season with wall-to-wall college football on Saturday and the NFL’s first Sunday card of its season tomorrow), but Team Tuley is still looking for value at tracks from coast to coast.

I’m joined this Saturday by our regular crew of Rampart race and sports book manager Duane Colucci and my longtime racing friends Ed Sehon and John Lauro as we tackle the cards at Pimlico in Maryland, Kentucky Downs in, well, Kentucky, and Del Mar in California.

SATURDAY

Kentucky Downs Race Nos. 3-4 (1:35 p.m. ET/10:35 a.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #6 Berate (5-1 morning line). “Any chance compromised by post 10 of 10 in last at tight Ellis Park, 4-year-old filly will be late on the scene under super-patient Julien Leparoux for blue grass conditioner Shug McGaughey. Back-to-back quick works says she’s ready to return to Winner’s Circle. If not, don’t berate me. Wager: Win and Daily Double with #14 Shady Road in Race No. 4.”

Kentucky Downs Race No. 5 (2:45 p.m. ET/11:45 a.m. PT)

Ed Sehon looks to catch Exacta keying classy #2 Pixilate (5-1 morning line) for Michael Stidham under Joel Rosario with these four: #4 Somelikeithotbrown (9-2), #5 Kentucky Ghost (12-1), #7 Atone (3-1) and outside longshot #10 Cavalry Charge (12-1). Wager: Exacta Box of 2 with 4,5,7,10.

Duane Colucci also likes #10 Cavalry Charge (12-1 morning line). “This Dallas Stewart gelding has faced top-notch Midwest turf runners all year. He has a win at the same distance over this course. His $100,000 stakes race effort two back wins this. Bet 10 to Win and key 10 over 1,2,5 in Exactas, Trifectas and reverse.” 

Kentucky Downs Race No. 8 (3:20 p.m. ET/12:20 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #10 Mud Pie (6-1 morning line). “I’m counting on horse-for-course gelded son of Morning Line to get a slice under top pilot Tyler Gaffalione for trainer Rusty Arnold. Off since last summer, guy is rested and ready to handle turf marathon assignment. Wager: Win and Place.”

Duane Colucci likes #3 Henry Woods (9-2 morning line). “This mare’s top career effort came here 1 year and 1 dat ago. She comes in off a dead-heat win and a layoff. The workout on Sept. 3 was superb. Leparoux is winning at 20 percent this meet. Bet 3 to Win and key 3 over 1,8,9 in Exactas, Trifectas and reverse.”

Pimlico Race No. 7 (4:04 p.m. ET/1:04 p.m. PT)

Dave Tuley likes #6 Youens (15-1 morning line) in the $100,000 All Along Stakes. “This 4-year-old filly should be racing well off the pace but have a shot at a big run in the stretch. Trainer Justin Nixon hits 18 percent with shippers and is 3-for-4 the past two months when using Horaco Karamanos, so he only puts him on live mounts. Wager: Win and Place.”

Kentucky Downs Race Nos. 9-12 (5:10 p.m. ET/2:10 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes a $0.50 Pick 4 (cost $45)

Race 9: 2,5,12

Race 10: 4,8

Race 11: 1,10,11

Race 12: 5,6,8,10,13

Duane Colucci also likes a $0.50 Pick 4 (cost $60)

Race 9: 2,4,5,8,12

Race 10: 1,3,4,8

Race 11: 1,9,10

Race 12: 6,13

Kentucky Downs Race No. 10 (5:45 p.m. ET/2:45 p.m. PT)

Dave Tuley  likes #1 Red Knight (15-1 morning line). “There’s not much stats at this 1 1/2-mile distance at Kentucky Downs, but if this 8-year-old gelding is able to stay within striking distance of the leaders, he’s got a real good shot at a big upset. He’s had nice closing kicks in several races the past 2 years, and if he can repeat those – especially his last-out effort – he should be right there. Wager: Win and Place.”

Del Mar Race No. 5 (6:11 p.m. ET/3:11 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes #5 Subsidize (8-1 morning line). “Peter Miller trainee returns to the turf after a maintenance race on the main track. Top rider Flavien Prat takes the mount and the Aug. 27 workout shows fitness. Bet 5 to Win and key 5 over 6,7,11,12 in Exactas, Trifectas and reverse.” 

Del Mar Race Nos. 7-11 (7:18 p.m. ET/4:18 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes a $0.50 Pick 5 (cost $81)

Race 7: 5,6,7

Race 8: 1,3,6

Race 9: 1,5

Race 10: 3,8,9

Race 11: 8,9,11

Del Mar Race No. 9 (8:18 p.m. ET/5:18 p.m.)

John Lauro likes #5 Going Global (4-5 morning line) in the Grade 2 John C. Mabee Stakes. “Going Global is hitting on all cylinders now and is my Best Bet on Saturday. I also like Going Global in a straight Exacta with #1 Going to Vegas.”

Del Mar Race No. 11 (9:18 p.m. ET/6:18 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes #11 Adelie (10-1 morning line). “Trainer George Papaprodromou had this filly ready off a slight layoff last time, flying home to grab a piece in a quick mile after a troubled start. Steady workouts and Ricardo Gonzalez retains the mount. George has a $2.17 ROI with maiden special weights. Will be flying weight. Bet 11 to Win and key 11 over 7,8,9  in Exactas, Trifectas and reverse.” 

 

back to news

Related News

Subscriber Only News  Vsin Exclusive

View All

 

Screen_Shot_2022-08-22_at_12.19.15_AM

A Numbers Game: It sounds obvious but stay on top of injury reports and whether or not the information is credible. You don’t want to overreact to news but you can get ahead of line movement if you’re on top of information as it's breaking.

VSiN PrimeTime: Know the weather reports! Early information about CFB Saturday in the southeast, early in the week it appeared the Carolinas would be affected, but now the storm will be further north, totals won't be affected.

View tips for Pro subscribers

Screen_Shot_2022-08-22_at_12.19.15_AM

Kenny White: Kansas +3 vs Iowa State

Chuck Edel: Tulane-Houston Over 55

View new sortable Picks at a Glance page for Pro subscribers

Screen_Shot_2022-08-22_at_12.19.15_AM

Screen_Shot_2022-09-30_at_6.23.35_PM

Betting Splits: Percentage of handle & tickets from DraftKings, updated every 10 minutes. GO HERE.

NFL Power Ratings: 3 sets of numbers from Steve Makinen. GO HERE.

CFB Power Ratings: 3 sets of numbers from Steve Makinen. GO HERE.

View more CFB tools for Pro subscribers

View more NFL tools for Pro subscribers

 

Close