Team Tuley's Thoroughbred Takes for races on Saturday 8/6

By Dave Tuley  (VSiN.com senior reporter) 

Hot_Rod_Charlie

It’s the dog days of summer and we all got a taste of football with the Hall of Fame on Thursday, but Team Tuley is still looking for value at tracks from coast to coast.

TTTT regular contributor Ed Sehon continues on assignment with his “Mr. Ed’s Saratoga bankroll plays” at VSiN.com/horses, but he’s still here with his non-Saratoga plays each Saturday along with Rampart race and sports book manager Duane Colucci as we have plays for Saturday at Saratoga in New York, Mountaineer Park in West Virginia and Del Mar in California.

Good luck today (and every day!).

SATURDAY

Mountaineer Park Races Nos. 2-5 (2:25 p.m. ET/11:25 a.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes a $2 Pick 4 (cost $48)

Race 2: 1,2,10

Race 3: 3,9

Race 4: 2,8

Race 5: 4,8

Saratoga Race No. 7 (3:58 p.m. ET/12:58 p.m. PT)

Dave Tuley likes #1 Temple City Terror (12-1 morning line) in Grade 2 Glen Falls Stakes. “It’s a small world as Temple City Terror was the favorite when I scored with Key Biscayne at 26-1 at Delaware Park four weeks ago. We now get a better price on Temple City Terror as she steps up in class. She didn’t fire last race, but is a consistent closer (note how she closed to finish third by just 3.5 lengths in this race last year) who should be running best of all in the stretch. Wager: Win and Place.”

Mountaineer Park Race No. 6 (4:25 p.m. ET/1:25 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #7 Special Reserve (6-5 morning line). “Trainer Michael Maker and jockey Ricardo Santana ship from Saratoga with 6-year-old gelded son of Midshipman for stakes sprint. He towers over the field. He’s special. Wager: Win.”

Mountaineer Park Race No. 7 (4:55 p.m. ET/1:55 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #8 Derby House (5-1 morning line). “Top Parx-based conditioner Juan Carlos Guerrero brings winner of five straight in for Grade 3 West Virginia Governor’s Stakes. Look for him to stalk pacesetters and prevail in stretch. Abner Adorno rides colt who will be right at home from outside post. Wager: Win.”

Saratoga Race No. 9 (5:07 p.m. ET/2:07 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes #6 Hot Peppers (5-1 morning line). “This filly is 2-for-2 since Rudy Rodriguez has taken over. Now keep in mind that Rudy Rod is 0-34 this meet and this sprinter can change that. Rudy and jockey Luis Saez combine for a 29 percent win rate and a $2.57 ROI. Hot Peppers will be a nice price as the Brad Cox-trained favorite will obviously take a ton of money. Bet 6 to Win and key 6 over 1,5,7 in Exactas, Trifectas and reverse.”

Saratoga Races No. 9-12 (5:07 p.m. ET/2:07 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes this $.50 Late Pick 4 (cost $36)

Race 9: 1,6

Race 10: 2,4,6

Race 11: 2,4,6,10

Race 12: 4,7,9

Mountaineer Park Race No. 8 (5:35 p.m. ET/2:35 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #3 Home Brew (3-1 morning line). “No. 1 trainer Brad Cox ships son of Street Sense in off back-to-back Spring wins vs. lesser. Makes graded stakes debut here with Paco Lopez retaining ride. Home sweet home. Wager: Win.”

Saratoga Race No. 10 (5:43 p.m. ET/2:43 p.m. PT)

Dave Tuley likes #2 Hot Rod Charlie (9-2 morning line) in the Grade 1 Whitney Stakes. “This is obviously a top-notch field and Hot Rod Charlie might not be able to beat Life Is Good to the early lead, but he should be right there and might be better rating like he did in winning last year’s Haskell. He came up short in the Dubai World Cup and in first race back in the stakes, but just helps us get a fair price here. Wager: Win.” 

Del Mar Race No. 3 (6:04 p.m. ET/3:04 p.m. PT)

Dave Tuley likes #4 Corustation (20-1 morning line). “This 3-year-old filly comes down from Los Alamitos and should be the speed of the speed (some may say “cheap speed”), but we say she could steal this on the lead and is certainly worth a flier at the price. Wager: Win and Place.”

Saratoga Race No. 12 (6:53 p.m. ET/3:53 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes #4 Action Jackson (8-1 morning line). “Sharp turf conditioner Jorge Abreu takes over this closer after a long layoff with several workouts over this course. Blinkers come off and Flavien Prat is in saddle are two positives for this one. Action Jackson should get a good trip in this suspect field. Bet 4 to Win and key 4 over 2,7,9 in Exactas, Trifectas and reverse.”

back to news

Related News

PRO TOOLS

Betting Splits: Percentage of handle & tickets from DraftKings for every game on the board, updated every 10 minutes. GO HERE.

NFL Power Ratings3 sets of numbers from Steve MakinenGO HERE.

CFB Power Ratings3 sets of numbers from Steve MakinenGO HERE.

View more CFB tools for Pro subscribers

View more NFL tools for Pro subscribers

PRO TIPS

The Greg Peterson Experience: In NBA and college hoops, place more value on teams that emphasize low post defense. It travels much better than shooting. View more tips

Live Bet Tonight: In games with favorites laying 3 points or fewer, check out laying the price on the moneyline and avoid losing by a few points. View more tips

PRO PICKS

Jason Weingarten: Rams +6 vs. Raiders. View more picks

Josh Appelbaum: Army/Navy Under 33 (-110). View more picks

 

 

Subscriber Only News  Vsin Exclusive

View All

Close