Team Tuley's Thoroughbred Takes for races on Saturday 8/27

By Dave Tuley  (VSiN.com senior reporter) 

Rich_Strike

We know you have your Saturdays full with MLB and NFL preseason games, and now college football joining the mix, but Team Tuley continues to look for value at horse racing tracks from coast to coast.

Today’s focus is on the Travers Day Card at Saratoga (see TTTT regular Ed Sehon’s Mr. Ed column at VSiN.com/horses for his plays on the full card) and we have it covered with yours truly and my other handicapping friends Duane Colucci, the race and sports book manager at the Rampart in Las Vegas, and John Lauro, plus Sehon has his plays from Monmouth.

Good luck today (and every day!).

SATURDAY

Monmouth Park Races 4-6 (1:43 p.m. ET/10:43 a.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes a $1 Pick 3 (cost $24)

Race 4: 2,3,4

Race 5: 1,2,3,5

Race 6: 6,8

Saratoga Race No. 5 (1:55 p.m. ET/10:55 a.m. PT)

John Lauro likes the chalk in the major Saratoga stakes. “In Race 5 (the Grade 1 Forego), I like #3 Jackie’s Warrior (1-2 morning line). In Race 9 I like #3 Clairiere and in Race 11 (Travers) I like #6 Epicenter, both with jockey Joel Rosaro and all-time winningest trainer Steve Asmussen. So there are three sure winners on the Travers card.”

Monmouth Park Race No. 7 (3:09 p.m. ET/12:09 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #3 Wild Banker (8-1 morning line). “When Javier Castellano, who is having a stellar meet at Saratoga, shows up on the Jersey Shore to ride for savvy Mike Dini, I’ll take a shot. Return to his preferred surface (dirt) after ill-fated turf trip puts gelding in the mix. I’ll invest in this banker. Wager: Win and Place.”

Saratoga Race No. 8 (3:52 p.m. ET/12:52 p.m. PT)

Dave Tuley likes #1 Conagher (7-2 morning line) in the Grade 1 H. Allen Jerkens Memorial Stakes. “All eyes are on Chad Brown’s #6 Jack Christopher, but Conagher looks like the lone speed in this race and can grab the early lead from the No. 1 post and steal this wire-to-wire. He’s carried his speed farther and is 2-for-2 at this quirky 7-furlong distance, so it seems to suit him perfectly. Wager: Win (Place only if public ignores him and he drifts up to 5-1).”

Monmouth Park Race No. 9 (4:11 p.m. ET/1:11 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #2 Lost Ark (2-1 morning line). “After sprint debut win at Belmont, Todd Pletcher promotes expensive son of Violence into The Sapling Stakes. Stretch out to mile should be no problem. Addition of Lasix and Castellano should do the trick. Wager: Win.”

Saratoga Race No. 9 (4:32 p.m. ET/1:32 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes #2 Search Results (7-2 morning line) in the Grade 1 Personal Ensign Stakes. “This Chad Brown filly has really improved his last 3 starts and nearly beat the top 2 in here in the Phipps at Belmont. Had a rough trip in the Test over this course last year but has worked well this year. Should get a good price. Bet 2 to Win and key 2 over 1,3,5 in Exactas, Trifectas and reverse.”

Saratoga Races 9-13 (4:32 p.m. ET/1:32 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes a $.50 Pick 5 (cost $54)

Race 9: 2,3,5

Race 10: 3,6,7

Race 11: 2,6,7

Race 12: 1,7

Race 13: 2,9

Saratoga Race No. 10 (5:05 p.m. ET/2:05 p.m. PT)

Dave Tuley likes #5 Rockemperor (8-1 morning line) in the Grade 1 Sword Dancer Stakes. “This Chad Brown trainee is a little under the radar and I hope it stays that way and we get around 8-1 as that’s a fair price. This 6-year-old should be sitting off the pace just like he did in his win in the Grade 2 Bowling Green over this course. That was at a furlong shorter, but he’s been fine at this 1 1/2-mile distance (won the Grade 1 Sword Dancer at Belmont last fall) and should be charging down the stretch. Wager: Win and Place.”

Saratoga Race No. 11 (5:44 p.m. ET/2:44 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes #7 Early Voting (8-1 morning line) in the Grade 1 Runhappy Travers Stakes. “This colt was a little short in his first race after the Preakness and should be able to set a controlled pace. Jockey Jose Ortiz and trainer Chad Brown combine for 25 percent at Saratoga with a $2.01 ROI. He will have to hold off Epicenter and Zandon, maybe even Rich Strike, but he will get it done. Bet 7 to Win and key 7 over 2,6,8 in Exactas, Trifectas and reverse.”

Dave Tuley likes #2 Rich Strike (10-1 morning line. “I also like Early Voting, but my main Win bet will be on the Kentucky Derby winner. Most people have dismissed Rich Strike’s 80-1 upset as a fluke, but my feeling is if he beat his class’s best on the First Saturday in May, he can do it again. If he was among the favorites, I would pass, but at 10-1 he’s worth a shot. Wager: Win and Place (and use in exotics along with Early Voting – the exacta could pay huge!).”

Saratoga Race No. 12 (6:20 p.m. ET/3:20 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes #2 Kressa (5-1 morning line). “Firster from David Donk barn is well-bred to love Saratoga and has some steady workouts, including Aug. 4. Johnny Velazquez takes the mount in this weak field. Bet 1 to win and key 1 over 2,4,7 in Exactas, Trifectas and reverse.”

back to news

Related News

Subscriber Only News  Vsin Exclusive

View All

Screen_Shot_2022-08-22_at_12.19.15_AM

A Numbers Game: Always compare odds with games behind, remaining schedule, and strength of schedule. i.e. Braves at +300 offer value just 1 game behind the Mets.

The Lombardi Line: It may be a good time to buy low on NFL teams that have the talent, but haven't executed in the first three weeks.

View tips for Pro subscribers

Screen_Shot_2022-08-22_at_12.19.15_AM

Amal Shah: Oklahoma / TCU OVER 69

Danny Burke: Texans / Chargers UNDER 45

View new sortable Picks at a Glance page for Pro subscribers

Screen_Shot_2022-08-22_at_12.19.15_AM

Screen_Shot_2022-09-26_at_9.44.58_PM

Betting Splits: Percentage of handle & tickets from DraftKings, updated every 10 minutes. GO HERE.

NFL Power Ratings: 3 sets of numbers from Steve Makinen. GO HERE.

CFB Power Ratings: 3 sets of numbers from Steve Makinen. GO HERE.

View more CFB tools for Pro subscribers

View more NFL tools for Pro subscribers

Close