Team Tuley's Thoroughbred Takes for races on Saturday 8/20

By Dave Tuley  (VSiN.com senior reporter) 

Secret_Oath

We know you have your Saturdays full with MLB and NFL preseason games, but Team Tuley continues to look for value at horse racing tracks from coast to coast.

And today’s edition has a Canadian flavor as my friend Ed Sehon (whose Saratoga bankroll plays can be found in his “Mr. Ed” column at VSiN.com/horses) tackles the Woodbine card, plus I’m wheeling back on Robin Sparkles, my 21-1 winner from 3 weeks ago at Saratoga (for those who don’t get the Canada tie-in, Robin Sparkles was from Canada in the TV show “How I Met Your Mother.”

We’re also joined by my friends Duane Colucci, the race and sports book manager at the Rampart in Las Vegas, and John Lauro with plays from Saratoga in New York and Del Mar in California.

Good luck today (and every day!).

SATURDAY

Saratoga Race No. 4 (2:11 p.m. ET/11:11 a.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes #1 Road to Remember (5-1 morning line). “This filly had a terrible trip here in early July going very wide and checking several times. Blinkers are added and jockey Jose Gomez saves another 5 pounds. Her Aug. 13 workout is solid. Bet 1 to Win and key 1 over 2,3,4 in Exactas, Trifectas and reverse.”

Woodbine Race No. 4 (2:29 p.m. ET/11:29 a.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #6 Blazing Sky (4-1 morning line). “Four-year-old daughter of Sky Mesa drops off claim for top conditioner Don MacRae, who hires veteran rider Declan Carroll to jump on Blazing’s saddle. The Sky’s the limit. Wager: Win, Place and Exacta Box of 3,6,9.”

Woodbine Race No. 5 (3:05 p.m. ET/12:05 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #3 Souper Sunday (7-2 morning line). “In an effort to break pick’s maiden, Steve Owens moves speedy young filly to turf, adds Lasix and gets Luis Contreras to ride. Sounds like a recipe for success. Wager: Win and Contreras Daily Double with #11 Wickenheiser in Race No. 6.”

Woodbine Race No. 6 (3:37 p.m. ET/12:37 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes the aforementioned #11 Wickenheiser. “Young trainer Kevin Attard retains Contreras as they seek repeat of debut victory in July. Daughter of Lemon Drop Kid can handle step up in class. Wager: Win and Place.”

Woodbine Races Nos. 7-10 (4:09 p.m. ET/1:09 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes the following $0.50 Pick 4 (cost $45)

Race 7: 2,3,4

Race 8: 1,3,5,7,10

Race 9: 4,7

Race 10: 4,6,10

Saratoga Race No. 8 (4:26 p.m. ET/1:26 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes #4 Consumer Spending (7-2 morning line) in the Grade 2 Lake Placid Stakes. “One of four Chad Brown runners has had a solid season thus far, winning 2-of-3, plus jockey Manny Franco is ultra-hot with a $3.18 ROI at Saratoga over the last year. Will be coming late like last start. Also has a win over the Saratoga inner course. Bet 4 to Win and key 4 over 1,3,8.”

Saratoga Races No. 8-11 (4:26 p.m. ET/1:26 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes this $.50 Late Pick 4 (cost $54)

Race 8: 1,3,4

Race 9: 1,5,6,7

Race 10: 3,4,7

Race 11: 5,7,12

Saratoga Race No. 9 (5:04 p.m. ET/2:04 p.m. PT)

Dave Tuley likes #3 Robin Sparkles (6-1 morning line). “Regular TTTT readers will remember 3 weeks ago when we gave out Robin Sparkles at 21-1 in the Grade 3 Caress Stakes (for “How I Met Your Mother” fans, it was legen … wait for it … dary!” Well, she’s back today in a $150,000 stakes at Saratoga, meaning she’s dropping in class and should be the speed of the speed again. #9 Caravel might challenge her, but she wasn’t able to keep up with Robin Sparkles in the Caress and I think Robin Sparkles will take control early and go wire-to-wire again. Wager: Win and Place.”

Del Mar Races No. 7-10 (5:04 p.m. ET/2:04 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes this $.50 Late Pick 4 (cost $80)

Race 7: 2,9,10,11

Race 8: 2,5,9,11,13

Race 9: 3,4,5,6

Race 10: 6,7

Saratoga Race No. 10 (5:35 p.m. ET/2:35 p.m. PT)

John Lauro likes #4 Nest (1-2 morning line) in the Grade 1 Alabama. “This filly locks up 3-year-old filly championship with another blowout win here.”

Dave Tuley likes #7 Secret Oath (4-1 morning line). “With all due respect to my friend John (and Nest), I’m taking Secret Oath to pull what I think is a mild upset. While Nest finished an impressive second in the Belmont, Secret Oath took on the boys in the Preakness and had been considered for the Derby. Granted, Nest blew her away in their last meeting, but Secret Oath had a troubled trip and never got into the race. I think she has a great chance to turn the tables here. Wager: Win.”

Saratoga Race No. 11 (6:07 p.m. ET/3:07 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes #5 El Mayor (20-1 morning line). “Although both of this ridgling’s wins have come on dirt, 2 out of his 3 turf starts have resulted in 3rd-place finishes. Broke slowly back in May and has been training here for two months. Needs some pace and will be closing late. Julien Leparoux takes the mount and is a surprising 5-for-30 with 5 seconds at this current meet. Bet 5 across the board and key5 over 4,7,12 in Exactas, Trifectas and reverse.”

Del Mar Race No. 8 (8:34 p.m. ET/5:34 p.m. PT)

John Lauro likes #11 Spendarella (8-5 morning line). “Spendarella gets jockey Tyler Gaffalione in to ride as she comes in off a gutsy 2nd at Royal Ascot. Exacta box with #2 Bellabel.”

back to news

Related News

Subscriber Only News  Vsin Exclusive

View All

 

Screen_Shot_2022-08-22_at_12.19.15_AM

A Numbers Game: It sounds obvious but stay on top of injury reports and whether or not the information is credible. You don’t want to overreact to news but you can get ahead of line movement if you’re on top of information as it's breaking.

VSiN PrimeTime: Know the weather reports! Early information about CFB Saturday in the southeast, early in the week it appeared the Carolinas would be affected, but now the storm will be further north, totals won't be affected.

View tips for Pro subscribers

Screen_Shot_2022-08-22_at_12.19.15_AM

Kenny White: Kansas +3 vs Iowa State

Chuck Edel: Tulane-Houston Over 55

View new sortable Picks at a Glance page for Pro subscribers

Screen_Shot_2022-08-22_at_12.19.15_AM

Screen_Shot_2022-09-30_at_6.23.35_PM

Betting Splits: Percentage of handle & tickets from DraftKings, updated every 10 minutes. GO HERE.

NFL Power Ratings: 3 sets of numbers from Steve Makinen. GO HERE.

CFB Power Ratings: 3 sets of numbers from Steve Makinen. GO HERE.

View more CFB tools for Pro subscribers

View more NFL tools for Pro subscribers

 

Close