Team Tuley's Thoroughbred Takes for races on Saturday 8/13

By Dave Tuley  (VSiN.com senior reporter) 

Churchill_Downs_spires

We know you have your Saturdays full with MLB and NFL preseason games, but Team Tuley continues to look for value at horse racing tracks from coast to coast.

TTTT regular contributor Ed Sehon continues on assignment with his “Mr. Ed’s Saratoga bankroll plays” at VSiN.com/horses, so check that out, but he’s also still here with his non-Saratoga plays along with Rampart race and sports book manager Duane Colucci as we have plays for Saturday at Saratoga in New York, Churchill Downs (with the transplanted Arlington Million card), Del Mar in California, and even Woodbine in Canada.

Good luck today (and every day!).

SATURDAY

Churchill Downs Race No. 5 (3:01 p.m. ET/12:01 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #4 Rougir (2-1 morning line) in the Grade 1, $500,000 Beverly D. Stakes. “Trained by Chad Brown, 4-year-old filly import faces tough group of five evenly matched gals in once-ultra-prestigious 1 1/8-mile stakes on renovated Churchill turf. Race was formerly contested at the now-defunct Arlington Park, often attracting big fields and international attention. Manny Franco flies over from Saratoga to ride grass specialist. Wager: Win.”

Woodbine Race No. 7 (4:20 p.m. ET/1:20 p.m. PT)

Dave Tuley likes #8 Inthewinnerscircle in the Grade 3, $150,000 Trillium Stakes. “This 4-year-old filly needs to return to the form of her 3-year-old campaign but has the closing kick to upset this wide-open affair. Trainer Mark Casse hits at 20 percent when moving his horses from turf to tha all-weather track and is also 23 percent when using jockey Declan Carroll the last two months. Definitely worth a flier to get in the winner’s circle. Wager: Win and Place.”

Churchill Downs Race No. 8 (4:43 p.m. ET/1:43 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #2 Call Me Fast (12-1 morning line). “This one’s strictly a personal history hunch play. When I was a single, wet-behind-the-ears copy boy at The Miami Herald all those years ago, the mostly married staff of reporters and editors nicknamed me Fast Eddie. And, during the first few years of matrimony, my wife affectionately called me Florida Fast. Now, after 51 years of wedded bliss, she calls me on her cell phone. Wager: Show, but only with money you can afford to lose — fast. My top selection is #9 Pro Oxidant (6-1). Based on proven pedigree, fast works and local connections, he has look of a real pro. Wager: Win.

Saratoga Races No. 8-11 (5:03 p.m. ET/2:03 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes this $.50 Late Pick 4 (cost $48)

Race 8: 1,7,10,11

Race 9: 1,2,4,8

Race 10: 1,3,5

Race 11: 7,10

Churchill Downs Race No. 11 (6:25 p.m. ET/3:25 p.m. PT)

Dave Tuley likes #8 Cavalry Charge (20-1 morning line) in the Grade 1 Arlington Million. “Dave Tuley hates that this race is being run anywhere but at Arlington as I cut my gambling teeth there. However, I try to never let political stuff or anything corporate America does impact how I spend my gambling dollars, so I’m betting the race anyway. Nothing I ever learned betting the Arlington Million all these years has relevance today at Churchill Downs, but I give Cavalry Charge a chance to make a, well, cavalry charge down the stretch in what could be a blanket finish at the wire. And I’m encouraged by Sehon using him in his Exacta box. Wager: Win and Place.”

Ed Sehon likes long shot Exacta Box of #1 Set Piece (4-1 morning line), #7 Admission Office (10-1) and #8 Cavalry Charge (20-1).

Del Mar Race No. 4 (6:34 p.m. ET/3:34 p.m. PT)

Dave Tuley likes #6 Seattle Bold (12-1 morning line). “This 4-year-old colt is dropping in class and should be the controlling speed of the speed with a great chance to steal the race under jockey Mike Smith, who hits at 29 percent with early-speed types. Seattle Bold led most of the way in his last race over the track at a mile and an eighth at 42-1, so the class drop and shortening to a mile should put him right there. Wager: Win and Place.”

Del Mar Races No. 7-10 (8:04 p.m. ET/5:04 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes this $.50 Late Pick 4 (cost $36)

Race 7: 2,6,7

Race 8: 4,7,8,9

Race 9: 1,2

Race 10: 5,8,11

back to news

Related News

Subscriber Only News  Vsin Exclusive

View All

 

Screen_Shot_2022-08-22_at_12.19.15_AM

College Lines Revealed: Don't be afraid to keep betting on undervalued teams until the market adjusts. Ex: Kansas, UNLV

View tips for Pro subscribers

Screen_Shot_2022-08-22_at_12.19.15_AM

Michael Lombardi: Cowboys +1 at Giants

Amal Shah: Iowa +10 vs. Michigan
 

View new sortable Picks at a Glance page for Pro subscribers

Screen_Shot_2022-08-22_at_12.19.15_AM

Screen_Shot_2022-09-25_at_11.55.56_PM

Betting Splits: Percentage of handle & tickets from DraftKings, updated every 10 minutes. GO HERE.

NFL Power Ratings: 3 sets of numbers from Steve Makinen. GO HERE.

CFB Power Ratings: 3 sets of numbers from Steve Makinen. GO HERE.

View more CFB tools for Pro subscribers

View more NFL tools for Pro subscribers

 

Close