Team Tuley's Thoroughbred Takes for races on Saturday 7/9

By Dave Tuley  (VSiN.com senior reporter) 

Belmont_Park

I’m still in Hawai’i, but Team Tuley is still hard at work looking for value at tracks from coast to coast. Besides, I’m still following the horse racing scene and playing in some online tournaments, so it makes sense that we would continue this weekly feature as I’m joined by our regular contributors: Rampart race and sports book manager Duane Colucci and my friends Ed Sehon (aka “Mr. Ed” from his VSiN’s columns on the Saratoga and Keeneland meets) and John Lauro.

This Saturday, we have plays at Belmont Park in New York, Delaware Park in (where else?) Delaware and Horseshoe Indianapolis in Indiana.

Good luck today (and every day!).

SATURDAY

Belmont Park Race Nos. 1-2 (1 p.m. ET/10 a.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes the early Daily Double:

Race 1: 2,7

Race 2: 1,8,9

Horseshoe Indianapolis Race No. 3 (1:21 p.m. ET/10:21 a.m. PT)

John Lauro likes #3 Starlet Express (2-1 morning line). “Indiana has a big day on Saturday. This filly in the 3rd race lays over the field. They add blinkers and she should win by 10 lengths. Best Bet of the day.”

Delaware Park Race No. 6 (3 p.m. ET/noon PT)

Dave Tuley likes #1 Key Biscayne (10-1 morning line) in the Grade 3 Robert G. Dick Memorial Stakes. “This 5-year-old mare is just 1-for-17 on the turf, but she has a chance to be the lone speed and steal this at a price. Trainer Juan Alvarado hits at 16 percent with winning horses in their next race, plus he switches to jockey Daniel Centeno, who wins 26 percent with early-speed types. Wager: Win and Place.”

Belmont Park Race No. 5 (3:03 p.m. ET/12:03 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #5 Big Everest (9-2 morning line). “Improving gelding will tackle two turns for first time after impressive front-running sprint effort over yielding turf early last month. Regular rider Joel Rosario retains mount for sharp Christophe Clement barn. Another mountain to climb. Wager: Win and $1 Pick 3: 5/7/1,3,5.”

Delaware Park Race No. 7 (3:30 p.m. ET/12:30 PT)

Dave Tuley likes #1 Let’s Cruise (8-1 morning line) in the Grade 2 Delaware Handicap. “It’s about time this 4-year-old filly tries stakes competition as she’s won 3 of her last 5 races and hasn’t been worse than second in her last 6 races. She has a great chance to wire this field or hold on for second. Wager: Win and Place.”

Belmont Park Race No. 6 (3:34 p.m. ET/12:34 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #7 Ruvies in Time (4-1 morning line). “Hard-charging daughter of The Factor, stretching out an extra half-furlong, fits well. Her Beyer Speed figures are headed in the right direction. Irad Ortiz Jr. retains ride. Trainer Richie Rodriquez keeps her sharp with bullet workout. She may never look back. Wager: Win & Place.”

Belmont Park Race No. 7 (4:06 p.m. ET/1:06 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes a trainer Chad Brown Trifecta in the Grade 1 Belmont Oaks Invitational Stakes. “You’ll be able to throw a big blanket over these three at the finish line: #1 McKulick (6-1 morning line) with Irad. Ortiz Jr.; #3 Haughty (5-1), ridden by Flavien Prat; and #5 Consumer Sending (5-1) with Manny Franco on board. It’s Chad’s world; We only play in it. Wager: Exacta and Trifecta boxes of 1,3,5.”

Belmont Race Nos. 7-11 (4:06 p.m. ET/1:06 pm. PT)

Duane Colucci likes the following $.50 Pick 5 (cost $60)

Race 7: 1,2,5,9,10

Race 8: 6

Race 9: 3,9,11,13

Race 10: 4,5,7

Race 11: 3,6

Belmont Park Race No. 8 (4:06 p.m. ET/1:06 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes #6 Hot Peppers (4-1 morning line) in the Grade 3 Victory Ride Stakes. “Rudy Rodriguez took this filly over and she cruised to an easy victory in the Jersey Girl. She’s had solid workouts since and Rodriguez and jockey Luis Saez are hitting at 29 percent this year. Bet 6 to Win and key 6 over 2,5,7 in Exactas and Trifectas and reverse.”

Horseshoe Indianapolis Nos. 8-12 (4:14 p.m. ET/1:14 pm. PT)

Duane Colucci likes the following $.50 Pick 5 (cost $60)

Race 8: 1,3,5,6,7

Race 9: 3,10

Race 10: 1,6,12

Race 11: 3,5

Race 12: 8,9

Belmont Race Nos. 8-11 (4:38 p.m. ET/1:38 pm. PT)

Ed Sehon likes the following $.50 Pick 4 (cost $48)

Race 8: 2,4,5,6

Race 9: 3,9,11,13

Race 10: 6,7

Race 11: 1,5,6

Horseshoe Indianapolis Race No. 12 (6:40 p.m. ET/3:40 PT)

Dave Tuley likes #1 Trademark (15-1 morning line) in the Grade 3 Indiana Derby. “Sometimes you have to ask why a horse doesn’t have much-higher odds, such as this 3-year-old gelding who hasn’t won since an optional claiming race last November. He lost his last race by 17 lengths, but he gets Lasix for the first time and his bullet workout on July 2 hints that he could return to form with early speed. Wager: Win and Place.”

 

back to news

Related News

Headlines

View All

Google Play
App Store
Close