Team Tuley's Thoroughbred Takes for races on Saturday 7/30

By Dave Tuley  (VSiN.com senior reporter) 

TTT_photo-smaller

TTTT regular contributor Ed Sehon continues on assignment with his “Mr. Ed’s Saratoga bankroll plays” at VSiN.com/horses, but he’s still here with his non-Saratoga plays each Saturday along with Rampart race and sports book manager Duane Colucci and yours truly as we continue to look for value plays at tracks from coast to coast.

Last Saturday, I had Robin Sparkles ($44) on top at 21-1 in the Caress Stakes at Saratoga. That came two weeks after having Key Biscayne ($74.40) at 36-1 at Delaware. Note: the Saturday in between, I had a horse scratch and my lone runner paid $9.40 to Place, so we’ve been on quite the run here with my last five long shots.

This Saturday, our team has plays at Saratoga, Ellis Park, Del Mar and even Woodbine in Canada.

Good luck today (and every day!).

SATURDAY

Ellis Park Race No. 4 (3:14 p.m. ET/12:14 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #6 Let My People Go (7-2 morning line). “Savvy Vicki Oliver sends gelded son of Pioneerof the Nile out for second race vs. winners. He has outrun his odds in last two — and I fully expect him to continue recent success. Tip-top Geraldo Corrales retains mount. He’s ready to let this guy fly. Wager: Win and Place.”

Ellis Park Race No. 5 (3:42 p.m. ET/12:42 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #3 Absam (5-1 morning line). “This is strictly a rider play. I’ve been following the up-and-coming career of young Adam Beschizza for several years and sincerely believe he’s headed for future stardom, like Tyler Gaffalione. I like Adam on Absam. Wager: Win, Place and Show.”

Ellis Park Race Nos. 6-9 (4:10 p.m. ET/1:10 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes a $.50 Pick 4 (cost $54)

Race 6: 3,11,12

Race 7: 5,7,10

Race 8: 1,2,5,9

Race 9: 3,4,6

Saratoga Races Nos. 7-11 (4:17 p.m. ET/1:17 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes the $.50 Pick 5 ($80)

Race 7: 1,2,4,5,8

Race 8: 3,4

Race 9: 4,5

Race 10: 1,3,5,12

Race 11: 5,9

Woodbine Race No. 8 (4:40 p.m. ET/1:40 p.m. PT)

Dave Tuley likes #5 Keyflower (10-1 morning line) in the $100,000 Niagara Stakes. “This closer should get a clean trip and be running fastest of all in the stretch. She finished fourth in her last race, but if you look closer you see she got to second place in the stretch and ended up losing by just 1.5 lengths, so I consider that as “having run a winning race.” Yet, we’re getting 10-1 (and maybe higher?)? I’ll take it, Wager: Win and Place.”

Saratoga Race No. 8 (4:50 p.m. ET/1:50 p.m. PT)

Dave Tuley likes #2 Willy Boi (8-1 morning line) in the Grade 1 Alfred G. Vanderbilt Handicap. “The favorite, Jackie’s Warrior, is obviously a monster, but every couple of races he gives up the lead late. Willy Boi, a winner of three straight races, should sit right off the pace and be there if this is one of those races. Wager: Win and Place.”

Ellis Park Race No. 8 (5:10 p.m. ET/2:10 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #9 Queens Up (6-1 morning line). “Trainer James James DiVito retains Chris Landeros to ride daughter of Classic Empire, following improved effort to grab Place in sloppy allowance sprint earlier in month. Closing kick indicates she’s got more in tank. Looks like the winning hand. Wager: Win and Place, and play Exacta Box with 1,2,5.”

Del Mar Race No. 8 (8:37 p.m. ET/5:37 p.m. PT)

Dave Tuley likes #6 Howbeit (20-1 morning line) in the Grade 1 Bing Crosby Stakes. “I doubt you’ll see anyone else picking this long shot. This 5-year-old is stepping up in class and his only previous graded stakes race was a sixth-place finish in the Pat O’Brien last August at Del Mar. So what do I like about him?  In his 2022 debut at Pleasanton, he went off as the odds-on favorite so a lot of people felt highly about him. However, he stumbled at the start and lost his jockey, so we have no idea how good he is. Abel Cedillo is a solid but under-the-radar jockey, so he should hold his price. He’s also 20 percent when riding for trainer Mark Glatt. If he breaks well, he should get a stalking trip and I’ll take my chances heading into the stretch”

back to news


spacer_5

Headlines

View All

Google Play
App Store
Close