Team Tuley's Thoroughbred Takes for races on Saturday 7/16

By Dave Tuley  (VSiN.com senior reporter) 

I’m back from my Hawai’i vacation and Team Tuley Thoroughbred Takes continues here each Saturday as me and my handicapping friends look for value at tracks from coast to coast.

TTTT regular contributor Ed Sehon is on assignment with his “Mr. Ed’s Saratoga bankroll plays” at VSiN.com/horses, but he’s still here with his non-Saratoga plays. We’re also joined this Saturday by Rampart race and sports book manager Duane Colucci.

Last Saturday, we all had a winner on top as I scored with long shot Key Biscayne ($74.20) in Delaware’s 6th race (I didn’t expect her to go off at 36-1 as she was 10-1 on the morning line and she didn’t go to the lead as I expected, but I’ll take it!) while Sehon had Big Everest ($10.40) in Belmont’s 5th race and Colucci had Hot Peppers ($10.60) in Belmont’s 8th race.

Here’s hoping for more winning days like that, starting today as we have plays from Ellis Park, Laurel Park and Saratoga.

Good luck today (and every day!).

SATURDAY

Ellis Park Race No. 2 (2:18 p.m. ET/11:18 a.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #6 Stayed in for Half (4-1 morning line). “Trainer Steve Asmussen moves experienced colt to turf following recent dull dirt efforts. If he breaks on top under new rider Brian Hernandez, others won’t be able to keep up. He finishes this game. Wager: Win and Place.”

Ellis Park Race No. 4 (3:14 p.m. ET/12:14 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes three: #1 Coaches Meeting (7-2 morning line); #2 Spanish Doubloon (3-1) and #8 St. Neots (9-2). Box 1,2,8 in Exacts and Trifectas.

Ellis Park Race No. 5 (3:42 p.m. ET/12:42 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #4 Bourbon Spirit (5-2 morning line). “Trained by Brad Cox, ridden by Geraldo Corrales and tightened by several sharp works, what’s not to like? As a life-long bourbon sipper, I’ll toast this winner with a smooth shot of Buffalo Trace. Wager: Win.”

Laurel Park Race No. 7 (4:03 p.m. ET/1:03 p.m. PT)

Dave Tuley likes #6 Somekindofmagician (15-1 morning line). “There’s not a ton of speed to set up this consistent closer’s late kick, but I expect 9-5 favorite Beacon Hill to set an honest pace. Regardless, trainer Gary Contessa hits at 21 percent with horses making their second start off a layoff, so he should have this 8-year-old gelding ready to pull off some magic. Wager: Win and Place.”

Ellis Park Race Nos. 6-9 (4:10 p.m. ET/1:10 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes a $0.50 Pick 4 (cost $36)

Race 6: 2,3,7

Race 7: 2,3

Race 8: 2,3,6,8

Race 9: 1,3,10

Saratoga Races Nos. 7-10 (4:29 p.m. ET/1:29 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes the following $.50 Pick 5 (cost $72)

Race 7: 1,5,9

Race 8: 1,3

Race 9: 4,6,9,10

Race 10: 4,5,9

Race 11: 6,9

Ellis Park Race No. 7 (4:40 p.m. ET/1:40 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #3 What’s Up Doc (2-1 morning line). “Highly touted son of popular California Chrome is the colt to beat. Trainer Brad Cox adds blinkers following sluggish  debut. Look for hot jock Geraldo Corrales to get into him early. Wager: Win.”

Saratoga Race No. 8 (5:03 p.m. ET/2:03 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes #1 Technical Analysis (3-1 morning line) in the Grade 1 Diana Stakes. “One of four Chad Brown fillies that won two races at Saratoga last year and easily crushed at Pimlico. She has steady workouts and Brown hits at 28 percent off 30- to 60-day layoffs. Bet 1 to Win and key 1 over 2,3,4 in Exactas and Trifectas.”

Laurel Park Race No. 9 (5:11 p.m. ET/2:11 p.m. PT)

Dave Tuley likes #2 Deciding Vote (8-1 morning line) in the ungraded Big Dreyfus Stakes. “Trainer Edward Graham hits at 25 percent in non-graded stakes, so he knows which horses fit here. Deciding Vote has won three of her last five starts and two of her last three, but nearly has three straight as she lost her last outing by just 1.5 lengths. We’re getting a decent price due to that loss, but she fits. Wager: Win and Place.”

Saratoga Race No. 10 (6:13 p.m. ET/3:13 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes #5 Curly Jack (6-1 morning line) in the Grade 3 Sanford Stakes. “He had a sharp win after breaking somewhat slow, getting 5 furlongs in :57 4/5ths, out in 1:04 1/5. Amos and Gaffalione have a $2.04 ROI and Amos has a $2.30 ROI with 2-year-olds. Bet 5 to Win and key 5 over 4,9,10,12 in Exactas, Trifectas and reverse.”

 

back to news


spacer_5

Headlines

View All

Google Play
App Store
Close