Team Tuley's Thoroughbred Takes for races on Saturday 6/4

By Dave Tuley  (VSiN senior reporter) 

USATSI_14458587

There’s no Triple Crown bid this year and it’s not a holiday weekend like last week, but Team Tuley keeps looking for value at tracks from coast to coast.

Last Saturday, my friend Ed Sehon (aka Mr. Ed from his VSiN gigs at Saratoga last summer and Keeneland this past spring) had a $1 Pick 4 last week at Belmont that returned $309.50 while John Lauro had a $7.40 winner with maiden Two Down in Belmont’s 10th race.

We’re also joined by Rampart race and sports book manager Duane Colucci this Saturday as we look at plays at Belmont Park in New York, Churchill Downs in Kentucky and Santa Anita in California – and even Woodbine in Canada.

Good luck today (and every day).

SATURDAY

Churchill Race No. 3 (1:43 p.m. ET/10:43 a.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #6 Colorful Mischief (4-1 morning line). “Expensive daughter of Into Mischief making her second start for Todd Pletcher after troubled trip over off track in debut. Hot Tyler Gaffalione takes over mount for Irad Ortiz Jr., who stays home in New York. Breeding indicates she’ll handle extra furlong. Wager: Win.”

 

Belmont Race No. 4 (2:34 p.m. ET/11:34 a.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes #1 Valmont (7-2 morning line). “Trainer Michael Maker makes the switch to Irad Ortiz Jr. off a steady effort making his first start of the year. Sharp work on May 20. Should be sitting a lot closer to the pace today. Bet 1 to Win and key 1 over 2,5,7 in Exactas, Trifectas and reverse.”

 

Churchill Races Nos. 5-8 (2:45 p.m. ET/11:45 a.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes the following $.50 Pick 4 (cost $80)

Race 5: 1,2,3,4

Race 6: 1,3,6,8,10

Race 7: 4,5

Race 8: 1,2,4,5

 

Belmont Races Nos. 7-10 (4:06 p.m. ET/1:06 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes the following $.50 Pick 4 (cost $48)

Race 7: 1,4,5,9

Race 8: 1,3,6

Race 9: 6,7

Race 10: 1,3,9,10

 

Belmont Race No. 7 (4:06 p.m. ET/1:06 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #9 Mona Stella (5-1 morning line). “Speedy filly spit bit without Lasix in last in stakes route. Cutting back to 7 furlongs and attracting saddle services of Jose Ortiz point to front-running victory for Patrick Biancone trainee. Wager: Win.”

 

Woodbine Race 8 (4:59 p.m. ET/1:59 p.m. PT)

Dave Tuley likes #8 Souper Sensational (8-1) in the Grade 2 Royal North Stakes. “Boardroom (2-1) and Amalfi Coast (5-2) will vie for favoritism in this 6 1/2-furlong turf sprint, but I see it as a very wide-open race. Souper Sensational has some hidden early fractions and just needs to transfer that from dirt to the turf in her 4-year-old debut (certainly has the right to improve). Wager: Win and Place, plus I’ll probably box in Exactas and Trifectas with the favorites as well as #1 Lady War Machine (12-1) to try to blow up the tote board.”

 

Belmont Race No. 9 (5:12 p.m. ET/2:12 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes BEST BET #5 Elizar (6-1 morning line). “It would be easy to go with Napoleonic War for highly successful duo of conditioner Chad Brown and jockey Flavien Prat here – but reliable backstretch sources, as well as respected DRF spotter, convinced me Christophe Clement’s French import is a budding superstar poised to thrive on Belmont’s spongy turf. Making only his second start, Elizar is my potentially pricy pick to capture the Grade 2 Pennine Ridge Stakes under Joel Rosario. The fact that my lovely bride and I are headed to France on Tuesday to celebrate our 51st wedding anniversary seals this karma deal. Wager: Bet to Win and Place, then couple with #9 Herington Rocket (5-1) in nightcap for winning 5-9 Daily Double.”

 

Churchill Race No. 10 (5:26 p.m. ET/2:26 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #1 Proxy (9-2 morning line). “Son of Tapit makes Louisville debut in $200,000 The Blame. Seasoned, stakes-placed colt picks up services of Luis Saez for accomplished trainer Michael Stidham. Inside post puts him in mix early, resulting in maximum effort late. He gets my vote. Wager: Win.”

 

Santa Anita Race No. 5 (6:12 p.m. ET/3:12 p.m. PT)

Dave Tuley likes #8 Dear Beau (15-1 morning line). “This 3-year-old filly hasn’t shown much in two career starts but switches to hot barn with George Papaprodromou, who has been using veteran jockey Joe Bravo with great success (3 wins in 10 starts in last two weeks). Trainer has been finding right spots for his turf runners, so I’m trusting that he’s keeping her at this level. Wager: Win and Place.”

 
back to news

Related News

Subscriber Only News  Vsin Exclusive

View All

Screen_Shot_2022-08-22_at_12.19.15_AM

Betting Splits: Percentage of handle & tickets from DraftKings for every game on the board, updated every 10 minutes. GO HERE.

NFL Power Ratings3 sets of numbers from Steve MakinenGO HERE.

CFB Power Ratings3 sets of numbers from Steve MakinenGO HERE.

View more CFB tools for Pro subscribers

View more NFL tools for Pro subscribers

Screen_Shot_2022-08-22_at_12.19.15_AM

A Numbers Game: Remember in the NFL, teams are never as good or as bad as they looked a week before. View more tips

VSiN Big Bets: Compare second-half NFL lines with the live line. You'll often find slight half-point differences, or even more, that will tell you which bet you should make. View more tips

Screen_Shot_2022-08-22_at_12.19.15_AM

Chuck Edel: Michigan State-Penn State Over 52.5.  View more picks

Chris Fallica: Ohio State -8.5 vs. Michigan.  View more picks

Close