Team Tuley's Thoroughbred Takes for races on Saturday 5/28

By Dave Tuley  (VSiN senior reporter) 

USATSI_14398877

The Kentucky Derby and Preakness are behind us, but Team Tuley continues to look for value at tracks from coast to coast as we have a big holiday weekend of racing.

On Saturday, I’m joined as usual by Rampart race and sports book manager Duane Colucci and my friends Ed Sehon (aka Mr. Ed from his Saratoga and Keeneland columns here at VSiN.com/horses) and John Lauro as we have plays at Belmont in New York, Gulfstream in Florida, Churchill Downs in Kentucky and Santa Anita in California.

There were more early scratches than usual this morning (especially for spring as it felt more like a January column as I was compiling all our plays, including having my plays reduced to just one for the day), so check for more as well as track conditions.

Good luck today (and every day).

SATURDAY

Belmont Race No. 3 (2:03 p.m. ET/11:03 a.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #4 The Sleepychipmunk (7-2 morning line). “Chad Summer’s small barn stretches out late-running son of Lookin At Lucky, while dropping him in for a tag. Improving jock Jackie Davis returns for state-bred maiden claimer. Wake-up call for gelding. Wager: Win.”

 

Belmont Race No. 5 (3:03 p.m. ET/12:03 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #4 Mozay (9-2 morning line). “Underperforming, expensive daughter of Uncle Mo turns back to a mile after failing to get job done five times for top trainer Bill Mott. Her previous Beyer figures are good enough to defeat this inexperienced crew. Hottest rider at oval, Manny Franco, climbs aboard. Wager: Win.”

 

Churchill Race No. 7 (3:50 p.m. ET/12:50 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #3 Eleven Central (6-1 morning line). “Indianapolis shipper appears to be the real deal after wiring field by 8 1/2 lengths last out. Recent works indicate gelding is ready to step up on turf for trainer Paulo Lobo and steady rider Adam Beschizza. Race 7 come Eleven. Wager: Win and Place.”

 

Belmont Races Nos. 7-10 (4:06 p.m. ET/1:06 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes the following $1 Pick 4 (cost $60)

Race 7: 2,5,9

Race 8: 2 (Best Bet)

Race 9: 3,9,10,12

Race 10: 4,6,8,10,12

 

Duane Colucci likes the following $.50 Pick 4 (cost $15)

Race 7: 1,2,4,6,9

Race 8: 2,5,9

Race 9: 6,12

Race 10: 10

 

Belmont Race No. 9 (5:12 p.m. ET/2:12 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci #6 Snow Loves a Fight (20-1 morning line) in the Grade 3 Soaring Softly Stakes. Filly has two nice turf runs, including a nice win at this distance. Trainer Orlando Noda is hitting at 35 percent this meet and has a $4.34 ROI when teaming up with jockey Trevor McCarthy. Bet 6 to Win and key 6 over 8,9,10,12 in Exactas, Trifectas and reverse.”

 

Churchill Race No. 10 (5:26 p.m. ET/2:26 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes three: #2 Disappearing Act (4-1 morning line), #7 Temple City Terror (3-1) and #8 Lucky Money (7-2). Wager: Box 2,7 and 8 in Exactas and Trifectas.”

 

Belmont Race No. 10 (5:44 p.m. ET/2:44 p.m. PT)

John Lauro likes #6 Two Down (9-2 morning line). “Two Down is my Best Bet for Saturday. He galloped out full of run in his last race. He gets a great post, so all systems are go on what should be a perfect day at Belmont Park. Late Pick 5 single.”

 

Gulfstream Race No. 11 (6:21 p.m. ET/3:21 p.m. PT)

Dave Tuley likes #2 Legal Deal (8-1 morning line) in the ungraded Big Drama Stakes. “This 5-year-old gelding should be the speed of the speed from the No. 2 post. Legal Deal knows how to find the winner’s circle (7-of-21 lifetime). He lost his last race as the chalk, but trainer David Carlos is 27 percent with beaten favorites and also 18 percent in non-graded stakes so he knows how to place these. Jockey Edwin Gonzalez is also hot with 8 wins the past week. Wager: Win (and Place if he maintains that 8-1 morning line).”

 

Santa Anita Races Nos. 6-9 (6:43 p.m. ET/3:43 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes the following $.50 Pick 4 (cost $72)

Race 6: 3,4,9,10

Race 7: 5,6,7

Race 8: ALL (1-6)

Race 9: 6,7

 
back to news

Related News

Screen_Shot_2022-08-22_at_12.19.15_AM

Betting Splits: Percentage of handle & tickets from DraftKings for every game on the board, updated every 10 minutes. GO HERE.

NFL Power Ratings3 sets of numbers from Steve MakinenGO HERE.

CFB Power Ratings3 sets of numbers from Steve MakinenGO HERE.

View more CFB tools for Pro subscribers

View more NFL tools for Pro subscribers

Screen_Shot_2022-08-22_at_12.19.15_AM

Follow The Money: Consider schedules before betting on a team. What happened before and what is coming up can impact if a team is worth backing. Like SEA hosting CAR (off their bye) with SF in Week 15.  View more tips.

The Greg Peterson Experience: Have a value in mind for a dropoff to a backup quarterback from the starter, as many QBs are injured at this time of the season. View more tips.

Screen_Shot_2022-08-22_at_12.19.15_AM

Dave Tuley: Saints +3.5. ​​​View more picks.

Greg Peterson: Troy +16 vs San Diego St. ​​​View more picks

Subscriber Only News  Vsin Exclusive

View All

Screen_Shot_2022-08-22_at_12.19.15_AM

Betting Splits: Percentage of handle & tickets from DraftKings for every game on the board, updated every 10 minutes. GO HERE.

NFL Power Ratings3 sets of numbers from Steve MakinenGO HERE.

CFB Power Ratings3 sets of numbers from Steve MakinenGO HERE.

View more CFB tools for Pro subscribers

View more NFL tools for Pro subscribers

Screen_Shot_2022-08-22_at_12.19.15_AM

VSiN PrimeTime: Be aware of injuries on the offensive line, skill positions get the most publicity, but if an elite tackle is out it could have a huge impact on the game. View more tips.

A Numbers Game: If you’re just getting into soccer betting, make sure you know exactly what you’re betting. i.e. Double chance, to win, to advance, etc. View more tips.
 
Screen_Shot_2022-08-22_at_12.19.15_AM

Chuck Edel: Kansas State +2.5 vs TCU. View more picks.

Kenny White: Fresno State +3 vs Boise St. View more picks.
Close