Team Tuley's Thoroughbred Takes for races on Saturday 5/14

By Dave Tuley  (VSiN senior reporter) 

USATSI_16213377

The Kentucky Derby is behind us, but Team Tuley keeps looking for value at tracks from coast to coast. Rich Strike might be skipping the Preakness, but we’re already working on our coverage of next weekend’s big cards at Pimlico. 

This Saturday, I’m joined by Ed Sehon – aka Mr. Ed, who also just completed his “Mr. Ed’s Keeneland on (about) $100 a Day” gig – and John Lauro as we tackle the cards at Belmont, Monmouth and Santa Anita.

Good luck today (and every day).

SATURDAY

Belmont Race No. 4 (2:34 p.m. ET/11:34 a.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #8 Miss Delicious (3-1 morning line). “Filly turns back to turf sprint following tough beat in dirt route. Robert Klesaris takes over training duties for his Florida-based brother Steve. Top rider Irad Ortiz Jr. accepts mount. A tasty pick. Wager: Win and Daily Double with #4 Answer In.”

 

Belmont Race No. 5 (3:06 p.m. ET/12:06 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #4 Answer In (6-1 morning line) in the Grade 3 Runhappy Stakes. “Sharp gelding shortens up a bit for trainer R.N. Falcone Jr. and Beast Mode Racing. Guy sports several 90-plus speed ratings and will be ridden by slick Flavien Prat for first time. Who will win? The answer is in. Wager: Win, as he completes Daily Double, and if not, Place.”

 

Monmouth Race No. 9 (4:03 p.m. ET/1:03 p.m. PT)

Dave Tuley likes #5 D’tiger Lily (12-1 morning line) in the Spruce Fir Handicap. “The 4-year-old filly should be the speed of the speed and has right to improve in seasonal debut. Has been working well up to her return and trainer/jockey combo hitting at 29 percent. Wager: Win and Place.”

 

Belmont Race No. 8 (4:46 p.m. ET/1:46 p.m. PT)

John Lauro likes #3 Yibir (1-1 morning line) in the Grade 1 Man o’ War Stakes. “Two Breeders’ Cup horses are running today, Yibir at Belmont and Queen Goddess at Santa Anita. Both should win easy.”

 

Belmont Races Nos. 8-11 (4:46 p.m. ET/1:46 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes the following $.50 Pick 4 (cost $60)

Race 8: 2,3

Race 9: 1,2,4,5,7

Race 10: 1,2,4

Race 11: 2,6,9,10

 

Belmont Race No. 9 (5:19 p.m. ET/2:19 p.m. PT)

Dave Tuley likes #6 Western River (6-1 morning line) in the Grade 3 Peter Pan Stakes. “This 3-year-old has just a maiden win to his credit, but has the look of a colt that has finally figured out this game and should be flying late. Wager: Win .”

 

Belmont Race No. 10 (5:50 p.m. ET/2:50 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #4 Plum Ali (6-1 morning line) in the Grade 3 Beaugay Stakes. “Classy filly has come back strong following winter break with two consecutive stakes victories at Big A. Red-hot Manny Franco climbs aboard for Clement barn as duo seeks three-peat in Beaugay. Wager: Win, Place and Exacta Box with 1 and 2.”

 

Santa Anita Race No. 5 (6:16 p.m. ET/3:16 p.m. PT)

John Lauro likes #1 Queen Goddess (6-5 morning line) in the Grade 3 Santa Barbara Stakes. See Belmont Race 8 above. It's also our A.I. Pick of the Week.

 

Note: check out our A.I. Pick of the Week at vsin.com/horses as we’ve gone 26-for-54 (just below 50 percent) since taking over the feature around this time last year. There are also more plays from 1ST/BET handicappers on that page at vsin.com/horses.

 
back to news

Related News

Subscriber Only News  Vsin Exclusive

View All

Screen_Shot_2022-08-22_at_12.19.15_AM

College Lines Revealed: Don't be afraid to keep betting on undervalued teams until the market adjusts. Ex: Kansas, UNLV

The Lombardi Line: In the 48 NFL games played so far this season, 18 have been decided by 3 points or fewer. Key numbers are crucial when betting pro football.

View tips for Pro subscribers

Screen_Shot_2022-08-22_at_12.19.15_AM

Amal Shah: Iowa (+10) vs. Michigan

Mitch Moss: Washington (-1) at UCLA

View new sortable Picks at a Glance page for Pro subscribers

Screen_Shot_2022-08-22_at_12.19.15_AM

Screen_Shot_2022-09-26_at_9.44.58_PM

Betting Splits: Percentage of handle & tickets from DraftKings, updated every 10 minutes. GO HERE.

NFL Power Ratings: 3 sets of numbers from Steve Makinen. GO HERE.

CFB Power Ratings: 3 sets of numbers from Steve Makinen. GO HERE.

View more CFB tools for Pro subscribers

View more NFL tools for Pro subscribers

Close