Live On Air

Streaming Now: Prime Time Action

play Watch Live radio Listen Live

Team Tuley's Thoroughbred Takes for races on Saturday 4/23

By Dave Tuley  (VSiN.com senior reporter) 

Letruska

We continue to march toward the Kentucky Derby, but there’s still value to be found at tracks before then.

This Saturday, we’re joined by our usual crew with Rampart race and sports book manager Duane Colucci and John Lauro, along with Ed Sehon (aka Mr. Ed), who provides his plays his at other tracks in addition to his Keeneland plays that you can find at “Mr. Ed’s Keeneland on (about) $100 a Day” at VSiN.com and VSiN.com/horses.

Good luck today (and every day).

SATURDAY

Aqueduct Race No. 2 (1:52 p.m. ET/10:52 a.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes #6 Suspended Campaign (5-1 morning line). “This 4-year-old filly ran a nice number on March 11 and followed it up with a wide trip against tougher competition. Trainer David Dugan and jockey Kendrick Caramouche are hitting at 27 percent this meet with a $4.82 ROI. Two of her three wins are over this course. Bet 6 to Win and key 6 over 1,5 and 7 in Exactas, Trifectas and reverse.”

 

Aqueduct Race No. 4 (2:54 p.m. ET/11:54 a.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #4 Impazible Donna (7-2 morning line). “Gal has been on my DRF Watch List awaiting right opportunity. This is it. Hot young jock Jose Gomez adds spice to recipe for success. Donna, Donna the primadonna! Wager: Win and Place.”

 

Oaklawn Race No. 5 (3:18 p.m. ET/12:18 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes #3 Clairiere (5-2 morning line) in the Grade 2 Apple Blossom Handicap. “Monster field here and this filly had a great prep. Joel Rosario is the new pilot and knows what to do. She should pounce on Letruska and Ce Ce late in the game. Bet 3 to Win and key 3 over 2 and 5 in Exactas and Trifectas.”

 

Ed Sehon likes #1 Maracuja (6-1 morning line). “I’ll go for upset in tight field of five hard-charging females. What she lacks in experience, filly more than makes up for in ability. Look for cagey rider Ricardo Santana Jr. to get perfect setup from innermost post for excellent conditioner Rob Atras. She’s ready to repeat prep win over surface. Wager: Win and Place.”

 

John Lauro likes #2 Letruska (7-5 morning line) in a parlay with #5 Rated R Superstar (5-1) in Race 11, the Oaklawn Handicap. If you don’t have a parlay option, just simply bet Letruska and then roll over any winnings onto a bet later on Rated R Superstar.  

 

Oaklawn Race No. 8 (4:54 p.m. ET/1:54 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #6 The Skipper Too (4-1 morning line) in the $150,000 Oaklawn Stakes. “It’s hard not to like sophomore son of Brethren. His speed figures keep improving as he climbs the class ladder for trainer John Ortiz. Key is addition of top rider Ricardo Santana Jr. in the saddle. Stretch out suits his closing style. Wager: Win and Place.”

 

Oaklawn Races Nos. 8-12 (4:54 p.m. ET/1:54 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes the following $.50 Pick 4 (cost $72)

Race 8: 2,4,7

Race 9: 3,6,7

Race 10: 1,3,5,9

Race 11: 2,8

Race 12: 9,10

 

Aqueduct Race No. 8 (5:04 p.m. ET/2:04 p.m. PT)

Dave Tuley likes #6 Mister Larry (20-1 morning line) in the $200,000 New York Stallion Stakes. “Usually in a 6 1/2-furlong race at Aqueduct, I would be looking for a speed horse, but there’s so much speed in this race that I have to look for a closer to pick up the piece. This lightly raced colt is stepping up in class but adds blinkers and hopefully doesn’t get too far behind before passing tired horses in the stretch. His bullet work on April 16 – best of 46 – shows he can keep up with these. Wager: Win and Place.”

 

Keeneland Race No. 9 (5:16 p.m. ET/2:16 p.m. PT)

Dave Tuley likes #6 Tiberius Mercurius (12-1 morning line) in the Grade 2 Elkhorn Stakes. “This 6-year-old is stepping up in class, but we trust trainer Michael Maker to be placing him right as he hits 20 percent with horses that won their last race (and 16 percent in a ton of turf races). He also switches to hot jockey Tyler Gaffalione (they teamed up to win 3 of 6 races the past two weeks), who should have Tiberius Mercurius sitting off the pace and in position for a late run. Wager: Win and Place.”

 

Aqueduct Race No. 9 (5:36 p.m. ET/2:36 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes #1 Heaven Street (9-2 morning line) in the Woodhaven Stakes. “Christophe Clement trainee scored easily in his first race of the year for his new barn. Also has solid workouts, especially April 4. Follows and every other race pattern (win one, lose one), but I feel a double-up effort here. Clement and jockey Trevor McCarthy have a $2.41 ROI this year. Looking to go wire to wire. Bet 1 to Win and key 1 over 3,5 and 6 in Exactas, Trifectas and reverse.”

 

Oaklawn Race No. 11 (6:41 p.m. ET/3:41 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes #2 Thomas Shelby (8-1 morning line) in the Grade 2 Oaklawn Handicap. “This speedster needs to break much better than he did in the Essex. He should control the pace. Trainer Robertino Diordoro hitting at 21 percent this meet and quite often teams with jockey David Cohen. Bet 2 to Win and key 2 over 5,6 and 8 in Exactas, Trifectas and reverse.”

 

Ed Sehon likes a trio — #5 Rated R Superstar (5-1 morning line), #6 Plainsman (5-2) and #8 Fearless (9-5). Three are top earners for their respective barn. Based on recent drills, each is capable of winning on any given stakes day. Wager: Exacta Box of 5,6 and 8.”

 

Note: also check out our A.I. Pick of the Week at vsin.com/horses early this afternoon as we’ve gone 26-for-52 (50 percent) since taking over the feature at this time last year. There are also more plays from 1ST/BET handicappers on that page at vsin.com/horses.

 
back to news

Related News


spacer_5

Ask VSiN Your Sports Betting Questions

Spell Check

Headlines

View All

Google Play
App Store
Close