Live On Air

Streaming Now: The Lookahead

play Watch Live radio Listen Live

Team Tuley's Thoroughbred Takes for races on Saturday (3/26)

By Dave Tuley  (VSiN senior reporter) 

March 26, 2022 11:12 AM
USATSI_17099691

We know most bettors are concentrating on Saturday’s NCAA tournament Elite Eight games, but that’s not until 6 p.m. ET, so Team Tuley has a bunch of horse racing action before that.

We always try to find value at tracks from coast to coast. This Saturday we’re joined by Rampart race and sports book manager Duane Colucci, Ed Sehon and John Lauro as we have plays at Aqueduct, a bunch on the Louisiana Derby card at Fair Grounds and Santa Anita.

Good luck today (and every day).

SATURDAY

Fair Grounds Race No. 6 (3:33 p.m. ET/12:33 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #7 Bertie’s Galaxy (7-2 morning line). “If you are looking for speed in turf sprint, look no further. In addition to ultra-consistent record (winner 5 of last 7), 6-year-old mare comes from solid Ron Faucheux barn, gets young talented local rider Jareth Loveberry and sports a sizzling recent drill. A budding superstar. Wager: Win and Daily Doubles with 1,9,10.”

 

Fair Grounds Race No. 7 (4:05 p.m. ET/1:05 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes an Exacta Box of #1 Marsalis (9-5 morning line) with #9 Vinco (12-1) and #10 Lagoon (10-1). “All three are capable of graduating, but Marsalis appears a cut above others in maiden sprint. Wager: Bet 1 to win and box him in Exactas with 9 and 10.”

 

Fair Grounds Race No. 8 (4:37 p.m. ET/1:37 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #5 Clara Peeters (10-1 morning line) as his Longshot Play of the Day. “Red-hot trainer Chris Hartman sends mare out off recent claim. She’s proven at extra distance. Jockey Mitch Murrill picks up mount. Return to Winner’s Circle could ignite pricy Pick 5. Wager: Win and Place.”

 

Fair Grounds Races Nos. 8-12 (4:37 p.m. ET/1:37 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes the following $.50 Pick 5 (cost $45)

Race 8: 1,4,5,6,9

Race 9: 1,2

Race 10: 2,3,9

Race 11: 1

Race 12: 2,6,7

 

Aqueduct Race No. 8 (5:01 p.m. ET/2:01 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes #8 Blewitt (5-2 morning line) in the Stud Muffin Stakes. “Toscano horse coasted at 1 1/8 miles several times and has 6 wins over the course. Should easily stretch out. Jockey Dylan Davis retains the mount and should go wire to wire. Bet 8 to Win and key 8 over 1,3 and 4 in Exactas, Trifectas and reverse.”

 

Fair Grounds Races Nos. 9-12 (5:08 p.m. ET/2:08 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes the following $.50 Pick 4 (cost $60)

Race 9: 1,2,3,5

Race 10: 2,3,4,6,9

Race 11: 1,2

Race 12: 2,3,6

 

Fair Grounds Races Nos. 11-12 (6:12 p.m. ET/3:12 p.m. PT)

John Lauro likes #1 Echo Zulu (3-5 morning line) in the Grade 2 Fair Grounds Oaks Stakes (Race 11) and #6 Epicenter in the Grade 2 Louisiana Derby (Race 12). “This is my best bet of the week, Echo Zulu to Epicenter in the Oaks-Derby Double at the Fair Grounds (or bet a Parlay if that’s available at a better price).”

 

Fair Grounds Race No. 12 (6:44 p.m. ET/3:44 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes #3 Call Me Midnight (6-1 morning line) in the Grade 2 Louisiana Derby. “This colt has a super workout on March 19. Trainer Keith Desormeaux hits at a $3.80 ROI with 60-120 day layoffs. Keith and jockey James Graham are hitting at a $3.57 ROI this meet. Bet 3 to Win and key 3 over 2,5 and 6 in Exactas, Trifectas and reverse.”

 

Santa Anita Race No. 7 (7:12 p.m. ET/4:12 p.m. PT)

Dave Tuley likes #3 Quiet Secretary (20-1 morning line) in the Grade 3 Santa Ana Stakes. “This should be the speed of the speed in this race starting on the hillside course, where she has 2 wins (albeit in 12 starts). Jockey Tyler Baze knows how to get the most out of speed horses as he returns to this mount (who took a quick trip to Turf Paradise last month). Bet 3 to Win and Place. #8 Going to Vegas is the horse-for-the-course (12 starts, 5 Wins, 4 Places), so I’m adding a 3-8 Exacta Box and maybe a trifecta wheel with All.”

 

Note: also check out our A.I. Pick of the Week at vsin.com/horses later this morning as we’ve gone 24-for-48 (50 percent) since taking over the feature. There are also more plays from 1ST/BET handicappers on that page at vsin.com/horses.

 
back to news

Related News


spacer_5

Ask VSiN Your Sports Betting Questions

Spell Check

Headlines

View All

Google Play
App Store
Close