Team Tuley's Thoroughbred Takes for races on Saturday (3/19)

By Dave Tuley  (VSiN.com senior reporter) 

March 19, 2022 07:01 AM
Gulfstream_Park

We know most bettors are concentrating on Saturday’s NCAA tournament second-round games, but Team Tuley still believes there’s money to be won on the ponies during and in between the games.

We’re joined again this Saturday by Rampart race and sports book manager Duane Colucci along with my friends Ed Sehon and John Lauro in looking for value at tracks from coast to coast, including Aqueduct, Gulfstream, Oaklawn and Santa Anita.

Good luck today (and every day).

SATURDAY

Oaklawn Race No. 7 (5:04 p.m. ET/2:04 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes #3 Greeley and Ben (9-2) in the Grade 2 Whitmore Stakes. “Gelding is a perfect 3-for-3 this year and has a 50 percent win rate over the Oaklawn surface. Multiple horses that ran behind him last time have returned to win and his 1:09 3/5 is 4/5ths faster than the race favorite. Bet 3 to Win and key 3 over 2,8 and 9 in Exactas, Trifectas and reverse.”

 

John Lauro likes #2 Bob’s Edge (5-2 morning line) in the Grade 2 Whitmore Stakes. “This is my best bet on Saturday. Strong Win bet on 2 and add a straight Exacta on 2 over #6 Royal Daaher (10-1).”

 

Gulfstream Race No. 10 (5:10 p.m. ET/2:10 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon’s Best Bet of Day is #3 Arrest Me Red (5-2 morning line). “Talented son of Pioneerof the Nile kicks off 4-year-old campaign for Wesley Ward in Silks Run sprint over turf course. Speedball won three consecutive stakes at three different NY ovals to conclude 3-year-old season. Top rider Irad Ortiz returns to saddle. Red rested and ready. Wager: Win and Daily Doubles with 2 and 4 in Race 11.”

 

Aqueduct Race No. 9 (5:32 p.m. ET/2:32 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes #3 Exxaltress (9-2) in the $100,000 Cicada Stakes. “Chad Brown filly obviously hated the off track first asking. She returned to crush maiden foes. Three solid workouts and jockey Manuel Franco hits at 38 percent when riding for Brown at Aqueduct. Bet 3 to Win and key 3 over 1,4 and 5 in Exactas, Trifectas and reverse.”

 

Gulfstream Race No. 11 (5:42 p.m. ET/2:42 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes Exacta box of #2 American Sanctuary (9-2 morning line) and #4 Nitrous Channel (7-5). “These are standouts in the $100,000 Hutchison Stakes, a six-furlong sprint for 3-year-olds, after the scratch of #7 Cattin. Especially, keep an eye on Nitrous Channel, who might be prepping for Preakness bid after blazing debut here in February. Wager: Exacta box of 2 and 4.”

 

Oaklawn Race No. 9 (6:10 p.m. ET/3:10 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes #8 Hanalei’s Houdini (10-1) in the Grade 3 Essex Handicap. “Michael Maker runner has finished 2nd in his last three starts vs. runners who have all returned to win. Jockey Ramon Vazquez and Maker are hitting at 20 percent this year with a $6.29 ROI. Looking for a nice price vs. this hometown field. Bet 8 to Win and key 8 over 2,3 and 4 in Exactas, Trifectas and reverse.”

 

Gulfstream Race No. 12 (6:12 p.m. ET/3:12 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #7 Food Bank Helper (6-1 morning line). “Sharp circuit trainer Gilberto Zerpa takes blinkers off gelding after so-so mile turf effort last month. Significant rider change to Jose Ortiz, more distance and second-time Lasix add to appeal. Helper is hungry. Wager: Win and Place.”

 

Santa Anita Race No. 7 (7:12 p.m. ET/4:12 p.m. PT)

Dave Tuley likes #8 Cover Me Up (10-1 morning line). “This should be the speed of the speed in this optional claimer and jockey Diego Herrera hits at 15 percent with speed types and is also hitting 27 percent when riding for trainer Richard Baltas, who himself hits at 21 percent when placing horses after their maiden win. The 5-pound bug allowance for apprentice Herrera should also help this 3-year-old colt to wire the field. Wager: Win and Place..”

 

Note: also check out our A.I. Pick of the Week at vsin.com/horses later this morning as we’ve gone 24-for-47 (just over 50 percent) since taking over the feature. There are also more plays from 1ST/BET handicappers on that page at vsin.com/horses.

 
back to news

Subscriber Only News  Vsin Exclusive

View All

Screen_Shot_2022-08-22_at_12.19.15_AM

A Numbers Game: Maximize free bets from sportsbooks. Use on ML underdogs.

Follow The Money: NEVER cross the moneyline (0) in teasers. 15 ties since 1990 (8,240 games). That's .18% of games

View tips for Pro subscribers

Screen_Shot_2022-08-22_at_12.19.15_AM

Wes Reynolds: Colts +6 vs. Chiefs

Matt Youmans: Wisconsin +18 vs Ohio State

 
Screen_Shot_2022-08-22_at_12.19.15_AM

Screen_Shot_2022-09-22_at_6.24.17_PM

Betting Splits: Percentage of handle & tickets from DraftKings, updated every 10 minutes. GO HERE.

NFL Power Ratings: 3 sets of numbers from Steve Makinen. GO HERE.

CFB Power Ratings: 3 sets of numbers from Steve Makinen. GO HERE.

View more CFB tools for Pro subscribers

View more NFL tools for Pro subscribers

Close