Team Tuley's Thoroughbred Takes for races on Saturday (3/12)

By Dave Tuley  (VSiN.com senior reporter) 

March 12, 2022 10:41 AM
Gulfstream_Park

Football season is behind us, so the saying around VSiN is we’re looking forward to March Madness . . . and March is here! However, here at Team Tuley, we’re looking just as much toward the Kentucky Derby while also trying to find value at tracks from coast to coast each weekend.

Last Saturday, Rampart race and sports book manager Duane Colucci had Simplification ($7 winner) in the Grade 2 Fountain of Youth at Gulfstream Park while Ed Sehon (aka Mr. Ed from his daily Saratoga column last summer at VSiN.com) gave out the $60.20 exacta in Gulfstream’s Race 9 (the Grade 3 Honey Fox Stakes) as he’s had at least one winner from his picks the past four weeks.

This Saturday, Sehon is in Florida on vacation looking for the real Fountain of Youth (aren’t we all, at least figuratively?), but he has three picks to lead us off along with another friend of mine, John Lauro, and yours truly as we have plays at Gulfstream, Tampa Bay Downs, Oaklawn and Santa Anita. Colucci is taking a pass this week with Aqueduct snowed out and the inclement weather in Florida.

Good luck today (and every day).

SATURDAY

Tampa Bay Race No. 7 (3:14 p.m. ET/12:14 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #3 Lady Speightspeare (5-2 morning line) in the Grade 2 Hillsborough Stakes. “Standout Canadian trainer Roger Attfield brings favorite rider Emma-Jayne Wilson over from Gulfstream Park to retain mount on classy 4-year-old filly. Our gal stretches out after solid stakes Placing here last month. Soggy conditions expected, so scratch possible. This Lady is a champ. Wager: Win.”

 

Tampa Bay Race No. 8 (3:49 p.m. ET/12:49 p.m. PT)

Dave Tuley likes #5 War Stopper (8-1 morning line) in the Michelob Ultra Challenger Stakes. “This 5-year-old has had some dull efforts the past year, but he has some hidden speed in his PPs. Hall of Fame trainer Todd Pletcher dropped him into 7-furlong optional claimer last time out to see if that worked (it didn’t, but he was well thought of by enough people to go off as the favorite), but now stretches back out. Pletcher knows what he’s doing and I have to believe he’s found a spot where War Stopper can steal a race. Plus, I don’t like the other speed horses in the race. Wager: Win and Place.”

 

Tampa Bay Race No. 10 (4:51 p.m. ET/1:51 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #3 Kitten Mischief (4-1 morning line) in the ungraded Columbia Stakes. “Regally bred son of Into Mischief drops following disappointing off-the-board effort in graded Sam Davis stakes last month. Sharp trainer Jonathan Thomas moves him to turf while retaining New Yorker Manny Franco to ride. Faster break puts him in mix late as he cuts back to a mile. Works indicate he’s ready. Cat can purr. Wager: Win.”

 

Gulfstream Race No. 10 (5:10 p.m. ET/2:10 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #2 La Libertee (8-1 morning line) in the ungraded Captiva Island Stakes. “Filly makes 4-year-old debut for sharp trainer Mark Casse, who ships her down from Woodbine base. Dropping out of graded stakes, she can get job done late vs. these. With plenty of speed entered, look for her to fire in lane under Manuel Vasquez, who rides her for first time. Wager: Win and Place.”

 

Oaklawn Race No. 9 (6:10 p.m. ET/3:10 p.m. PT)

John Lauro likes #7 Shedaresthedevil (5-2 morning line) in the Grade 2 Azeri Stakes. “Shedaresthedevil is my best bet of the day. Strong Win bet on 7 and play trifectas with 7 over 5 and 6.”

 

Santa Anita Race No. 9 (7:41 p.m. ET/4:41 p.m. PT)

Dave Tuley likes #3 Airman (20-1 morning line) in the Grade 3 San Luis Rey Stakes. “This is a bit of a flier (his name is Airman, get it?) at 20-1, but this John Shirreffs trainee is making his 4-year-old debut in a 1 1/2-mile race where anything can happen. Most of these haven’t tried to distance before and I feel this long shot has as good a shot as anyone else. He should certainly be ignored at the betting windows, so 20-1 is the least we should expect to see, but he should be in the mix turning for home and we’ll take our chances from there. Wager: Win and Place.”

 

Note: There are also more plays from 1ST/BET handicappers at VSiN.com/horses.

 

 
back to news

Subscriber Only News  Vsin Exclusive

View All

 

Screen_Shot_2022-08-22_at_12.19.15_AM

Follow The Money: We have reached the point in the season where you must factor byes into your handicapping. Even the week before the bye is a factor (more from Steve Makinen on this topic).

VSiN Big Bets: With such small totals, be careful laying a run line in these MLB playoff games.

View tips for Pro subscribers

Screen_Shot_2022-08-22_at_12.19.15_AM

Matt Brown: Dolphins -3 vs Jets

Pauly Howard: Eagles 1H (-3) vs Cardinals

View new sortable Picks at a Glance page for Pro subscribers

Screen_Shot_2022-08-22_at_12.19.15_AM

Screen_Shot_2022-10-07_at_1.03.45_PM

Betting SplitsPercentage of handle & tickets from DraftKings, updated every 10 minutes. GO HERE.

NFL Power Ratings3 sets of numbers from Steve MakinenGO HERE.

CFB Power Ratings3 sets of numbers from Steve MakinenGO HERE.

View more CFB tools for Pro subscribers

View more NFL tools for Pro subscribers

 

 

Close